1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] CM10.1 port

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rbheromax, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    This is a port from another phone of the same specs. I want to see how it will fare with this device. Right now I am expecting a reboot loop (turns on turns off over and over). That's actually a good sign, that we can logcat errors out.
    PM me for details.
     

    Advertisement

    sp33chy and Naemien like this.
  2. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Are you using g60madman's device files?
     
  3. Chiral

    Chiral Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    262
    56
    53
    *raises hand*

    Spacemonkey reporting for duty.

    Running twrm 2.5, that wont be a problem I hope.
     
  4. Chiral

    Chiral Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    262
    56
    53
    Keep in mind that an msm8960 lite has half the l2 cache, so if youre using something from an 8960 galaxy, you may want to account for that.
     
  5. AndroidHaCks

    AndroidHaCks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012

    Nov 29, 2012
    341
    77
    53
    Male
    Yeah I'll definitely test, but don't have a computer. Can you pull logcats without a computer?
     
  6. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Open terminal emulator, type in the following:

    PHP:
    1. su
    2. logcat > /sdcard/logcat.txt
    If you don't know your keyboard's combo for cntrl+c to stop the logcat (some keyboards have an option in settings), you will have to press your home button, then long press your home button and swipe away the terminal from the task manager.

    Post the logcat to pastebin.com

    Same steps for dmesg, which may be more helpful when porting. ;)
     
  7. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Its from a lite, Galaxy Stellar. This actually bootloops on that but im the only one making progress on it. I wanna see how it does on this device since builds aren't phone specific their board specific. I know the cause of the bootloops (cache issue). Just that the Stellar has a locked BL and each flash you gotta go through a lot just to bypass it. So it'll be easier to debug here and share the ROM between devices.




    It shouldn't go past boot animation so you'll need a computer. I gotta modify the zip for your mount points. But I'll need it tested with the cm kernel that loops it , and the Vae kernel which should fix it.


    Edit: JerryScript if I PM u a link to the zip, can u open it, fix the mounts in the updater-script, and rezip? I am nowhere near a computer atm.
     
  8. alexacuna

    alexacuna Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013

    Jun 26, 2013
    78
    13
    38
    Male
    Oregon
    Pretty excited for this.
     
  9. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Aren't we all, its been sitting in my webhost for a while...just nothing to put it too as flashing it on its normal device is a very tedious task
     
  10. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Sorry, at work atm, can help later if you still need.
     
  11. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Yeah I'm nowhere near home and not going back for days...that's why I haven't worked on anything with the kernel
     
  12. kenmoini

    kenmoini Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013

    Jan 2, 2013
    12
    2
    16
    Male
    Jack of many trades
    The not quite dirty south
    Just got my Victory and was wanting to port CM myself as well. Since you've already gotten the jump on it, I think I'll end up collaborating with you hopefully :)
    PM me some details on where you're at and what I need to do to get to testing this ROM.
     
  13. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Idk as I havent tried, but is it possible to have a large google hangout? We shiuld have those to discuss this in real time.
     
  14. kenmoini

    kenmoini Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013

    Jan 2, 2013
    12
    2
    16
    Male
    Jack of many trades
    The not quite dirty south
    I wouldn't see why not, there are many people that do multi-person Hangouts. In fact, Adafruit's Show and Tell has about half a dozen people in their hangout most times.

    For the most part, I'm available all Monday in order to do some chatting, work all day tomorrow.
    Other than that, I've got a 64-bit Ubuntu workstation with a spare 250gb partition I set aside for Android builds, and a Windows laptop for the various other tools that might be needed.
    As a web developer and sysadmin, I've also got ample bandwidth and storage online for hosting needs.

    EDIT: Rather, seems like my Ubuntu install won't pull it for building being 12.04. Looks like I might need to provision a VPS to run the builds.
     
  15. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    You guys are welcome to use my cm10 branch jellybean and my cm10.1 branch cm-10.1 device files.

    https://github.com/vmobi-goghvmu

    Branch jellybean works but still needs lots of work to get the radios to work (bt, wifi, cell) but its a good place to start. The big issue with moving to cm10.1 is your going to need to upgrade the kernel to 3.4 from 3.0.31. I started work on it but it wouldn't build do to lots of issues and it was also my first attempt at upgrading a kernel minor version.

    https://github.com/vmobi-goghvmu/android_kernel_samsung_gogh/commits/cm-10.1

    Good luck!
     
    xstefen, NolenUmar and FoxyDrew like this.
  16. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Thanks G60, thanks for the PM back also. I successfully compiled AOSP source, aosp_arm_eng, basic build, with ubuntu 12.04 last night with only warnings. Fell asleep so i dont know how long it took. Now to get to work and I havent the slightest idea what Im doing
     
  17. g60madman

    g60madman Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Anytime if you guys need anything just pm :D
     
    xstefen likes this.
  18. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Now that you have completed a build, be sure to enable and use CCACHE. It speeds up builds incredibly after a first compile. Also, checkout the documentation on only building parts of the system, there is often no need to do a complete build (ex: just changing one app or lib file <often mmm will suffice>, or only updated the kernel or ramdisk <make zimage>, etc). Personally, I would seperate the kernel build from the main build, it will save you time on compiling either one.
     
  19. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Do not build CM10.1
    It will not work as it requires a working 3.4 kernel and our kernel version is 3.0.x
    It would have to be ported over to us and have some devas working on it. What we can do is CM10 at 4.1.2 and the build will mostly work (people have 4.1.2 running in a 2.6 kernel).
     
  20. FoxyDrew

    FoxyDrew Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012

    Mar 29, 2012
    395
    58
    73
    Male
    Right here, Right now!
    But isn't it very easy to build 10.1 off of cm10, or will it not because of the kernel?
     
  21. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Cm10.1 is 4.2.2 and cm10 is 4.1.2
    Starting with 4.2.1 the required kernel version to even boot is .set at 3.4
    The closest we have to 3.4 kernel has messed up video and radio (wifi bt 3g)
     
  22. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Its not a proprietary driver issue like with the evo is it?
     
  23. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    No its more like its totally open but our top devs are scratching their heads wondering how to do this.
     
  24. AndroidHaCks

    AndroidHaCks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012

    Nov 29, 2012
    341
    77
    53
    Male
    I can't wait to test :D
     
  25. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    What I have isnt working whatsoever...so were gonna have to build it ourselves.
     

Share This Page

Loading...