1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] CyanogenMod 10.2 Stable Release/Official CM 11 Upcoming! (Edit: It's Here!!)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by struckn, Dec 2, 2013.

  1. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Official versus unofficial, official just released on 12/7/2013.
     

    Advertisement

  2. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Has anyone tried out the new 4.4 Hellfire rom ??
     
  3. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
    link?
    cant seem to find it
     
  4. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Took forever to download and then file appeared to be corrupted. Will try again on next weekly release, Hellfire seems to be comparable to Carbon in terms of performance and features.
     
  5. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    I use to have that problem too. Any rom that I downloaded through ES File Explorer would be corrupt. I could see files inside but when I went to flash, it wouldn't work. Maybe try another download method? How big is the file to take such a long time?
     
  6. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I always download to my computer, modify the zip, then plug in my phone and transfer via USB. The current file for Hellfire is on a file server that is either getting lots of traffic or the mirror is just slow, actual file size is typical of most Sprint ROM's.
     
  7. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Oh, OK. I have always downloaded from my device transferred to my pc then edited the files and then transferred back to my phone to flash. Would save me a few steps to download from the PC, haha. Maybe there is another mirror? If not then it's a problem with them.
     
  8. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Yeah, or the problem is the dev. Don't get me wrong, I am not knocking him or his skills, but other ROM's he maintains have presented this same problem when I have downloaded them. He told me in one of his XDA threads that he has to switch back and forth between various programming modes and sometimes things get mixed up inadvertently. For the most recent Hellfire specifically, the archive was just flat-out missing almost everything important on the very first page: no system folder or anything besides the META-INF folder. As a side note, and Britton will attest to this because he has the same OCD issues as me, I like to "hoard" files for all devices I own, even if I don't use them anymore, so I have tons of files on my computer for various ROM's, kernels, mods, etc., etc.

    Edit: OK, so it had to be something to do with the file host, after two more tries I finally got it to download a complete copy of the ROM. Now I am excited with something new to flash!
     
  9. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Just to share, and I cannot for the life of me figure out how to resize my screen shots in order to upload (I'm open to suggestions, you can even talk to me like I'm a complete noob in the instructions), but on first nightly of official CM 11, my battery just hit 24 hours on most recent charge and it is currently at 39%!! This is with standard usage for me of texting, some MMS, Tapatalk and internet usage, etc.
     
  10. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    You can do like i have done in previous post. I post them to Imgur then use their BB Code which is just "" with the link in between and without quotations marks. It makes it nice and big so that everyone can see! Hope this answers your question!

    Example of my homescreen:
    [​IMG]
     
    Darien153 and struckn like this.
  11. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Awesome, will try it out after work tonight! Great looking screenie by the way, maybe you should start a homescreen thread as well, I will gladly post mine!
     
  12. spacepanda

    spacepanda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013

    Jun 11, 2013
    96
    14
    18
    California
    Looks like mms isn't fixed for people on sprint, confirm its still bust? I was hoping since the 4.3 sources are out for sprint it would be fixed...

    Not a huge deal just makes nightlies a pain.

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk
     
  13. zoomzabba

    zoomzabba Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012

    Nov 14, 2012
    40
    4
    16
    West Slope, CO
    Using the 12/7 Nightly struckn posted and MopedRyder's 3G/MMS fix (no LTE in my area). No problems mms.

    Modifying the nightly code is an habit for many.
     
    struckn likes this.
  14. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    if anyone else is interested in the changelog for our device here you are
     
  15. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
    mms works fine for me when disabling 4g
     
    struckn likes this.
  16. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    So 12/12/2013 nightly for CM 11 is already on Android build 4.4.2; for those who haven't been following that, the release of KitKat 4.4 was followed rather quickly by 4.4.1, and the first official Cyanogen build on 12/7/2013 was based on that code source. Four days later, Google updated Android again, to 4.4.2, these rapid upgrades have been primarily aimed at keeping the users of the Nexus line happy, as they have had camera issues, among other things, that probably shouldn't be happening on such a new device as the Nexus 5. First world problems I know, God forbid your phone not be able to take pictures using all the MP's available or rated for the device! Anyway, just downloaded the latest nightly, am going to dirty flash first to see if it is compatible or if GApps decides to act up. I know there are already GApps packages being put out that are supposed to be compatible with 4.4.1 and 4.4.2, so will let you all know what the final verdict is; Paranoid Android for sure did just update their GApps package, and that is the one I have been using. A word of warning about their version however, is that they include the Google browser, and it will replace the stock AOSP browser included in the ROM, so if you have a "stock" browser preference, Banks GApps (usually available on Goo.im) is probably going to work better in terms of leaving more items intact and just installing what you need from the Google side. Normally I recommend debloating GApps packages yourself, this is what I usually do, but I am pretty sure Google has linked several .apks including the browser in order to make the whole "Google experience" function properly, so probably not a good idea to just remove the launcher from the PA GApps as it will possibly make something else misbehave.

    Anybody who needs links please let me know!
     
    upconvert and ssethv like this.
  17. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    I was about to take the plunge but i'm trying this "work" thing again, not sure I like it :p.

    Let us know how it goes
     
  18. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Yeah, getting bills paid is nice, and I do like my job, but they call it "work" for a reason!
     
  19. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    All right, all is well with a dirty flash and installation of newest PA GApps! Don't worry if initial boot hangs after a few seconds, it will restart itself and boot just fine. This has actually happened to me about half the time on CM 11 anyways when rebooting back from recovery. Standard disclaimer from OP applies about bricked phones, personal responsibility, etc., etc. Also, I in no way claim to be directly responsible for the original ROM or GApps, these are just the versions I modified for personal use after downloading. All credit goes to CyanogenMod Team and Paranoid Android. Modification of build.prop to set SELinux to permissive did not stick or else I need to modify another line I don't know about, so for now changing from enforcing to permissive requires manual intervention. Good luck, happy flashing!

    Modified CM 11 Nightly from 12/12/2013:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/lsqyunric96bqo7/Official%20CM%2011%20Nightly%2020131212%20Android%204.4.2%20Modified.zip

    Modified PA GApps (Full package) from 12/12/2013:

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/29430annphsl50p/PA%20GApps%20Full%2020131212%204.4.2%20Modified.zip

    Don't forget, appropriate APN fixes (specific to Boost or VM, depending) are still necessary.
     
    dizzzydaniel and ssethv like this.
  20. ssethv

    ssethv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    41
    11
    18
    Biomed
    Jacksonville FL
    I want to Flash both of these. where can I find more info about the appropriate APN fixes. I just came from the thunderbolt on verizon and I am catching up as fast as I can with this phone. I am already running the 12-10 nightly of CM with the appropriate GAPPS.
     
  21. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mobile-galaxy-s3-all-things-root/771802-mod-sprint-virgin-mobile-lte-mms-fix-wip-cm-aosp-tw-update-10-14-a.html

    Link and instructions are also located in OP of my tutorial in the sticky section. Any help or questions feel free to post or PM! We want you to feel as comfortable as possible here, and would rather you ask advice first than desperate help later if something goes sideways! Welcome to the forums.
     
    ssethv likes this.
  22. ssethv

    ssethv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    41
    11
    18
    Biomed
    Jacksonville FL
    Perfect! Thank you so much.
     
  23. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    You're welcome.
     
  24. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    I tore myself away from work long enough :D, I can confirm both of your modded packages work after a dirty flash. I used SELinuxModeChanger to change to permissive on the fly worked just fine here.
     
  25. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Posted on the Boost side as well, forgot to post here: my APN's stayed the same for the first time ever after a flash, dirty or clean. Therefore, I did not have to reflash the APN fix from MopedRyder. Wetbiker7 on the Boost side confirmed MMS send and receive for me via Hangouts (it replaced stock SMS app on both CM and GApps side apparently), so huge thanks to him!
     

Share This Page

Loading...