1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] CyanogenMod 10.2 Stable Release/Official CM 11 Upcoming! (Edit: It's Here!!)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by struckn, Dec 2, 2013.

  1. Ping0

    Ping0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013

    Jun 27, 2013
    105
    11
    38
    Male
    Texas
    Hmmm...wipe that...
     

    Advertisement

  2. ssethv

    ssethv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    41
    11
    18
    Biomed
    Jacksonville FL
    I just figured out that undervolting even just a little bit is not a good idea when you are trying to use hulu plus or Netflix. Phone froze up and I had to pull battery 3 times. Reset the default voltages and everything is good now. Settings freelunch/zen
     
    struckn likes this.
  3. EricH4753

    EricH4753 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    623
    25
    68
    Male
    Unemployed
    Wheeling, WV
    So is there mms fix yet? I'm hiding in stock right now
     
  4. Valkyrie1

    Valkyrie1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    43
    4
    16
  5. John762

    John762 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    27
    9
    16
    Male
    Manager Landscape, Gardener (high end Residential)
    Northern Illinois
    Honestly to the best of my ability to determine it was LTE, it's still working, has been all day.
    The screen shot was taken with WiFi off on both phones (i was at home at the time) sent to and received from an AT&T LTE phone.

    I used the build from the other post and fix number 2.
    Shrug maybe I've gotten lucky :D I'm not a heavy MMS user.
     
    upconvert and struckn like this.
  6. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    Fix 2 says it receives only, and doesn't send. Can you do both on LTE?
     
  7. John762

    John762 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    27
    9
    16
    Male
    Manager Landscape, Gardener (high end Residential)
    Northern Illinois
    Yes Both Send and receive
     
  8. Photonik

    Photonik Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013

    Dec 16, 2013
    25
    10
    18
    Are you positive your phone didn't revert to 3g at any point? Do you happen to know what modem you're using? Mind taking a screenshot of your APN page?

    I'm running the 12/17 nightly with the 2nd fix from moped ryder and am only able to send mms right now. Been fiddling with APN settings for a while but nothing seems to be working yet.
     
  9. Photonik

    Photonik Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013

    Dec 16, 2013
    25
    10
    18
    I just wanted to update that it appears I've gotten MMS send/receive to work over 4g after flashing the MG2 modem and the 2nd fix by mopedryder. I'm not sure if it's of any consequence but I'm using hangouts for sms. This was not working for me previously on the MK5 modem.
     
    iMaYG and struckn like this.
  10. iMaYG

    iMaYG Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013

    Aug 8, 2013
    252
    29
    43
    no wayy. can anyone else confirm that this method works?
     
  11. John762

    John762 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    27
    9
    16
    Male
    Manager Landscape, Gardener (high end Residential)
    Northern Illinois
    I don't believe that it shifted to 3g,
    I'm still quite new to this.

    I know that 'this' is a biggie I'll do what I can to help and provide information so others more skilled and experienced can proof this .

    It still appears to be working both send and receive this morning

    Screenshot_2013-12-16-20-36-20.png

    2013-12-18 11.52.38.png

    2013-12-18 11.41.53.png
     
    struckn likes this.
  12. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Yeah, this is pretty much the Holy Grail for users who want to use custom AOSP ROM's. MopedRyder worked his tail off to get those fixes for 4.3.x, and as you can see, at that point there was always a tradeoff. The sticking point was that the phone couldn't shift between LTE and 3G in order to send and receive MMS, it had to be done manually. So, if you have LTE running and aren't doing anything else, as in manually changing back to 3G, then this should be legit, something about the combo of 4.4.x/modem/APN fix is working! Not having LTE myself, I didn't have an issue, as long as I could use MMS. This is truly an awesome find if it is possible to have the whole package on 4.4.x, keep posting those results!
     
  13. Total1nsan1ty

    Total1nsan1ty Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    27
    5
    16
    I can confirm that on the mk5 modem using riders 2nd fix, I have successfully sent an MMS using 4g. I am on the dec15 from the op
     
    upconvert, Ping0 and struckn like this.
  14. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Very very nice!
     
  15. Ping0

    Ping0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013

    Jun 27, 2013
    105
    11
    38
    Male
    Texas
    Is there a copy of mk5 modem on the forums? I'm not seeing it.
     
  16. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Go to the thread by iMaYG titled "Radios" I have posted all the links for the VM/Boost modems as well as the Sprint modems in that thread. Give my man JD (jdsingle76) thanks while you're at it, he is the one responsible for creating flashable zip files of all three VM/Boost modems.

    Edit: that thread is now on page 2, here's the link:

    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mobile-galaxy-s3-all-things-root/799809-radios.html
     
    Ping0 likes this.
  17. Ping0

    Ping0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013

    Jun 27, 2013
    105
    11
    38
    Male
    Texas
    I got mk5,did fresh install for cm 11 on the 15 the nightly release, and did MopedRyders 2nd fix. No luck for me. I can send, not receive.
     
  18. Valkyrie1

    Valkyrie1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    43
    4
    16
    Try the first fix. I'm not sure if it works on LTE but I had the same issue with the 2nd fix. I didn't flash mk5 yet but I suspect it doesn't matter in this case.
     
  19. Ping0

    Ping0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013

    Jun 27, 2013
    105
    11
    38
    Male
    Texas
    I know the first fix works on 3g. I've been using it this whole time, just thought I'd give the 2nd fix a shot.
     
  20. Photonik

    Photonik Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013

    Dec 16, 2013
    25
    10
    18
    I was able to send but not receive mms over lte with the mk5 modem. Have you tested receiving?

    To you guys trying to get the second fix to work over LTE, I would suggest trying what I finally got to work. MG2 modem with second fix allowed me to send and receive, would like to hear feedback and see if it works for others as well. It's the only thing that made sense to me is if some users were on other modems and flashing the second fix just worked out of the box for them, I believe if we looked into it we'd find they were all on MG2.
     
  21. Ping0

    Ping0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013

    Jun 27, 2013
    105
    11
    38
    Male
    Texas
    I was also able to send on 4G lte, Not receive.
     
  22. Total1nsan1ty

    Total1nsan1ty Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    Oct 17, 2012
    27
    5
    16
    Yea I can't receive either, but I tried mg2 earlier and I lost radio all together.
     
  23. Photonik

    Photonik Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013

    Dec 16, 2013
    25
    10
    18
    Did you also reflash the mms fix after reverting to MG2? I would try that for good measure. It's possible MG2 isn't for everyone unfortunately.
     
  24. Ping0

    Ping0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013

    Jun 27, 2013
    105
    11
    38
    Male
    Texas
    It's not for everyone, 2nd fix in MG2 didn't work for me.
     
    Photonik likes this.
  25. Photonik

    Photonik Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013

    Dec 16, 2013
    25
    10
    18
    Dang, I was really hoping we had lucked into a workaround. Unfortunately this is beyond the scope of my skillset to do much more digging. I'd be more than willing to offer up my time to someone more knowledgeable to get details of why it's working for me and see if it can be applied elsewhere. I feel like this problem would be easily fixed if someone that knew their way around MMS transmission on the backend just took a look at it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...