1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] d2spr to d2vmu conversion??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Deucalion29710, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina
    I have a Virgin Mobile Galaxy S3 SPH-L710. I am finding many custom ROMs for d2spr but few for d2vmu. I have tried to flash several of the more recent CM11 d2spr builds but the flash fails with these. Why is that being that it's the same model? Is there a way to unzip, modify, and repackage a d2spr ROM to appear as a d2vmu to my device? I was able to find a CM11 nightly build that was for d2vmu, however when I try to use the CM OTA update function to update it downloads a d2spr.
     

    Advertisement

  2. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    Read struckn's all in one guide in the stickies. You should probably read all the stickies.
     
    Tokens210 and struckn like this.
  3. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina
    Thanks for pointing that out. I shall give it a look.
     
  4. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    Yes struckns guide is what ya need, you on that game upconvert lol everytime i see a post you beat me to it, once you read it it'll be simple, basically the sprint Roms are for our phones, they just need a few things edited to match VM before trying to flash

    Also added note, also look into, I believe its not a sticky anymore but brittons guide to mk5 root and custom ROM, just another route if you decide you want a more stock feel

    Struckns guide will tell ya about the editing to make sprint Roms work on our devices, brittons guide is how to install a stock based ROM with root

    Also if you have any other questions, issues whatever come post here first before trying to flash, since this is your thread it won't matter if u side track it as long as its relevant and whatnot
     
    Deucalion29710 and struckn like this.
  5. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina
    So this method should work with custom and stock ROMs? I have been able to successfully flash Sprint ROMs to other VM devices so I know that the mechanics of the ROMs are almost identical.
     
  6. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Yep. There's some cm11 roms already edited for d2vmu also
     
  7. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    If the method your speaking on is struckns guide then yes it should, I believe

    As for the root method in brittons guide any custom ROM especially cm based will or should be rooted from the gate, I believe a few ppl had some issues where it unroofed but I believe flashing the supersu fixes that

    The root is basically just for stock Roms but brittons guide has links to a stock ROM already ready for our phones the root file needed and any WiFi/ modem fixes needed
     
  8. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina

    OK so I was wanting to try out CyanFox. I followed both methods to the letter and it simply aborts the flash. I'm using Philz modified CWM. Would it be best to go back to TWRP? The only thing that I did differently is that I used Leafpad to modify the script because I use Linux. Note to all: "PC" does not mean "Windows". Could I just use the updater script from my current CM11 Nightly ROM?
     
  9. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    Philz I believe should work for all your needs, its basically clockworkmod modified to our phones but from what ice seen more options

    Also when editing the rons zip don't unpack it, you didn't say if you did or not so I just threw it in lol

    As for pulling the updater script from cm and using it, I believe struckn has told someone you can do that as long as its the cm already modified for our device but not just any old one, and also keep it saved on our PC as basically a master for you for any Roms but I'm not familiar with cyanfox and I'm not to familiar with aborts so I'd say u may wanna wait till someone
    more knowledgeable jumps in

    But just to help anyone trying to help out let get some extra info to be as detailed as possible

    So you got philz in there I see that so good

    So is cyanfox the first one u tried, just wanna make sure the script edit wasent borked, but I believe you said you've done it before so you should he good there

    When it failed did you get any errors?

    As for our PC statement yes lol PC doesn't refer to the Os, basically means anything not a Mac, altho there are alot of apps now to let macs run PC shit

    Also as I said I'm unfamiliar with cyanfox but it sound like it's a cm based modified ROM so u may not need to add root, I'd just go for rom booting first then look for root

    And also just as an added tip this device from what I've seen really loves you to allow things to "settle" basically let it sit for like 20 minutes once you get whatever ROM your trying to boot before loading it up with all our apps and such
     
  10. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina
    Yeah CyanFox is the first I tried. No errors it just aborts. I'm about to try a AOCP rom just to see what happens. The tutorial is really good material. I just gotta make it work. :D
     
  11. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I am currently running the latest version of CyanFox, no problems booting up and the ROM is really snappy/responsive, I really like it. Tokens210 is correct about the updater-script, once you have one that works sitting on your desktop, you can just drag-and-drop that one in to any AOSP based ROM in order to replace the original updater-script. Can't really help on the Linux end however, I only know the Windows side of things. If need be I can always upload the modified version I am using. Definitely don't go back to TWRP, I am confident in stating that any flashing issues are not related to Philz Touch, it is just about perfect.
     
  12. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina

    Would you please upload the updater script? The only issue I have with Philz touch and all other CWM variants is that the selection fields could be bigger. Almost need a stylus to use it.;) Just tried AOCP rom...same results. I wonder if something weird is happening when I compress it all back into a zip?
     
  13. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    You can change the size of the fields in the Philz custom settings. There is so much customization in there it is unbelievable. I have my fields enlarged to accommodate my fat fingers and it works nicely. So do you want the entire ROM (CyanFox) and you can then also have the modified updater-script that comes with it or just the updater-script uploaded?
     
  14. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina
    Awesome I did not know that I could do that in Philz. We can try just the updater script first and see what happens. Morbid curiosity...is it CyanFox 2.0.2?
     
  15. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    It is 2.0.2, the latest version as far as I know.
     
  16. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina
    I just tried again using updater script from my nightly cm11. Same thing. Can you give me some details on your specific method of compressing your ROM folder back into a zip? You see, on Linux that option is built right into the shell. right click/compress, then choose format.
     
  17. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    All I do on Windows is open the .zip with WinRAR, drag the updater-script to the desktop, modify with Notepad++, then drag it back in. I also delete all the system .apk files that I don't need, then just closing the file in WinRAR zips everything back up, that is a step I don't have to expressly perform.
     
  18. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Since the file for the latest CyanFox was already on my DevHost, as I had uploaded it for someone else last week, I will just post the entire thing here so that anybody who wants it can have the entire ROM, or just remove the updater-script for their use, whatever works. Standard disclaimers, this is not my original work, I just modified it for use on our variant of the SGS3, as well as removed all the system .apk files that I never use. I am also not responsible if anything goes sideways, everything in the world of root is done at the risk of the user!

    CyanFox 2.0.2
     
    Deucalion29710 likes this.
  19. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina
    One more thing...if you have changed your assert and it fails still is it best just to remove all asserts? I just got a bunch of assert failed messages and status code 7. Could be a bad download or something. I'm downloading yours now.
     
  20. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I always just go the route of deleting the entire set of asserts, instead of changing just one to match my bootloader, I find it much easier and have never had a flashing problem. First line should then be "mount["ext4..." unless there is some ui_print stuff first so that the ROM developer can display a message on the screen while the ROM is flashing.
     
    Deucalion29710 likes this.
  21. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina
    awesome. I have determined that the problem was from unzipping and compressing again. Just like WinRar I can do as you said but using Linux archive manager. Thanks for your help and for taking the time to write that fabulous tutorial. It really does give VM S3 owners more options.
     
  22. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    You're welcome! Look forward to interacting with you some more here on the forums; sounds like you are fairly computer-savvy and will have some things to contribute!

    PS If you want to shoot me some tips on how things are done in the world outside of Windows, or some of the programs that are used, I can get that added to my tutorial in the relevant sections.
     
  23. Deucalion29710

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    May 19, 2013

    May 19, 2013
    51
    2
    16
    South Carolina
    Absolutely. I really don't know why more developers dont use Linux...I mean they are developing for a mobile OS that was built on a Linux kernel. Removing all asserts did the trick it looks like. Waiting on my first boot now. The only think I see with that tutorial that is potentially missing (device specific) is that if upgrading from a stock rom to a custom rom, wouldn't you need to flash the Knox app remover first?
     
  24. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Not everyone is coming from a Knoxed up situation, in terms of going from stock to custom. Custom AOSP based ROM's also have no association with the Knox apps. Additionally, most custom ROM's based on stock have removed both the Knox boot loader and the associated apps. Therefore, the Knox app remover should be irrelevant. I know JD included it as part of flashing his stock/Knox free ROM, but more as a precaution in case he missed one of the apps while compiling.
     
  25. Tokens210

    Tokens210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    849
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    849
    182
    93
    Male
    General Contractor
    Clifton Heights, PA (Just Outside Philadelphia)
    Nice good to hear your up and moving along, had a feeling it was the zip, that's what I ment earlier when I said don't unpack it lol

    But also I hope you enjoy your phone and playing around with it lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...