1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] For people who updated firmware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mudflap2020, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. mudflap2020

    mudflap2020 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013

    Jul 20, 2013
    295
    12
    38
    Male
    If you were a batch of people who want to update firmware, then here you can post your questions, now from my understanding if you update firmware with twrp installed or any custom recovery, you will probably end up in errors and not be able to update and stay with the annoying update thingy you have victorious which isn't updated for the new firmware as of right now then you probablyt an error or cannot update. now my current state, I am on stock rooted software with twrp installed, my question is if I want to update my firmware right now what steps would I need to take to not hard brick my phone like I said, I just recovered from g60madmans stock rooted recovery, and have twrp installed, if I want to update without brick or complications, what do I do right as of right now?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mudflap2020

    mudflap2020 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013

    Jul 20, 2013
    295
    12
    38
    Male
    right now I personally recommend that you DO NOT UPDATE the firmware if you have/want to keep root and not stock your phone. also do not install victorious if you updated your phone because it is not compatible right now, LOL if jerryscript replies with all the answers then yall be all right

    in all seriousness, im not going to update, because i heard it stocks up your phone and twrp will no longer work rendering all the mother !%@&(&% backups i did for my phone useless, i have like 20+ gigs of backup on my laptop and now i goota delete it wow superfail,, b ut i don't know how to unroot, how to revert my twrp to stock Samsung recovery or how to safely make my phone super stock and update and have sd to internal swap flashed as a zip, with the new vaevictus kernel, i really need jerry to go on irc chat with me to get me to do this or im FUC*#$ really i don't want to make my phone unrooted
     
  3. AndroidHaCks

    AndroidHaCks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012

    Nov 29, 2012
    341
    77
    53
    Male
    I installed the latest VaeVictus kernel which has the latest kernel firmware without having latest firmware in my ROM with no problems.
     
  4. insanelycool

    insanelycool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013

    May 30, 2013
    219
    91
    53
    Male
    Computer Certification Instructor / Network Admin
    I was on "Victorious version 0.2.2-R1", I flashed the new kernel "VaeVictus-MG5-OC".
    Before I flashed the update to the (update2.zip) MG5 firmware update released by rbheromax, I copied the file "install-recovery.sh" from "system/ect" . I placed this file on my sd card. I then reboooted to recovery and installed the update2.zip from this thread http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...67-update-mc1-mg5-update-zip.html#post6047931 After that I wped dalvik cache and cache, confirmed to TWRP that I wanted to restore root and then booted. After the apps rebuilt, I copied the "install-recovery.sh" from my sd card back to "system/ect" and rebooted.

    Everything seems okay for now. My guess is that we will be getting a full updated Victorious that will have the new firmware built in. So you can wait if you aren't addicted to playing with your phone like I am.

    Edit: my antutu score went up by about 30 points. Close enough in the margin of error to be minimal if at all, but I will say it is hotter today than it has been, and I didn't cool my phone.
     
  5. buzzcon

    buzzcon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    541
    90
    98
    Male
    Polish Ambassador
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Same here, but as stated in another thread, I cannot receive MMS. I get text's just fine, but cannot download pictures sent to me.
     
  6. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    991
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    You cant be completely stock and have the "official" firmware update and have the sd swap and vaevictus kernal. You need root for the swap and vaevictus. And you cant do official firmware update with root. Relax on the firmware update, its not that big a deal.
     
    mudflap2020 likes this.
  7. insanelycool

    insanelycool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013

    May 30, 2013
    219
    91
    53
    Male
    Computer Certification Instructor / Network Admin
    Can you send them (mms)?
     
  8. buzzcon

    buzzcon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    541
    90
    98
    Male
    Polish Ambassador
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yes. they send just fine.
     
  9. mudflap2020

    mudflap2020 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013

    Jul 20, 2013
    295
    12
    38
    Male
    I think it is, now I gotta unroot update the firmwaren, find a way to root AGAIN then flash vae victus, and wait for new updated victoroius cuz if u dont ununroot you can bootloop and Brick your phone
     
  10. insanelycool

    insanelycool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013

    May 30, 2013
    219
    91
    53
    Male
    Computer Certification Instructor / Network Admin
    I also confirmed the receiving mms is broken if you update the firmware right now through the modified update file. I reccomend waiting will we sort this out if you use mms.
     
  11. Kealper

    Kealper Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012

    Oct 20, 2012
    7
    1
    6
    The new update really isn't anything to bother with instantly; About the only thing it does is some shady things and add some required things to support a new cell carrier, Zact.

    EDIT:
    Also, it seems that only update2.zip has the broken mms, the update that zip is based off of is fine.
     
  12. buzzcon

    buzzcon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    541
    90
    98
    Male
    Polish Ambassador
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I found this in a different thread.

    So, out of curiosity, I checked the Baseband Version on my phone and it still says MC1 and I did "flash" the update2.zip a few days ago. My question is did I install it incorrectly? I flashed it using TWRP.

    P.S. There are so many threads discussing this update, I apologize if posted in the wrong thread :rolleyes:
     
  13. insanelycool

    insanelycool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013

    May 30, 2013
    219
    91
    53
    Male
    Computer Certification Instructor / Network Admin
    the modified update we are installing doesn't seem to be changing our baseband like the real update is supposed to. Keep in mind that a lot was taken out of that update when it was modified. I also tried the bl2.zip that was added as well for baseband, but it doesnt seem to accomplish anything that I could see, as my baseband version didnt change with that either.
     
  14. buzzcon

    buzzcon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    541
    90
    98
    Male
    Polish Ambassador
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I also flashed the latest update for Victorious and the Baseband didn't change.
     
  15. Chiral

    Chiral Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    262
    56
    53
    Mudflap, dafuq are you getting this from? Can you point to even one example of someone bricking their phone with this update?

    You are (...again) trying to pretend you're an expert on stuff you dont understand.

    Please, ask questions, be active, toss out ideas; but when people say "I recommend" it generally confers the confidence of one who knows what they're talking about. You don't.

    Sorry if that was harsh, but I held back for a day hoping someone would say it nicer.
     
  16. kwknott

    kwknott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,519
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    1,519
    729
    253
    I've done some testing and I flashed both of rhbromax's updates as well as the entire update and my phone is working fine.

    No bricks, my root works, and Victorious still works
     
    Madbat likes this.
  17. mudflap2020

    mudflap2020 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013

    Jul 20, 2013
    295
    12
    38
    Male
    Even jerryscript said to hold.on the update, give him room to make it.possible for everybody to update without issues and I didnnt go through the hassle of unrooting un installing twrp and all to update, im no expert but as far as annoyance of having, do you want.to.update on your.phone pop up and nhaving to press later becuase your.custom recovery and root can be taken away and some other flashable zips to now.work, also I stand corrected about the bricking your.phone, it was a typo, I havent had much sleep but I ment to have twrpuninstalled and other errors and just misshaps.Iin general what my message is. Is to wait.out and wait.till the.solution to updati.g.firmware comes.along with all kinks.and.glitches and messes sorted and sifted through that is all
     
  18. kwknott

    kwknott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,519
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    1,519
    729
    253
    OK guys let's keep things social around here. We're all here to help each other out, and to improve the phone. We can't accomplish either if everyone is bickering and arguing.

    Thanks guys.
     
    D-U-R-X, Unforgiven, jhawkkw and 2 others like this.
  19. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Thank you, kwknott--great message! :thumbup:

    Just a little additional reminder to please be sure that you abide by our Site Rules/Guidelines and discuss the issues in a non-confrontational manner (i.e., attack the issues and not each other).

    I did a little cleanup above and am hoping we won't need anymore, please.

    Thanks for your cooperation!

    :)
     
    D-U-R-X, kwknott, Unforgiven and 2 others like this.
  20. mudflap2020

    mudflap2020 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013

    Jul 20, 2013
    295
    12
    38
    Male
    Yes it can brick your phone becuase of bad downloads mis steps on installation and the update changes very important things do It can definitively possible brick your phone smarty pants and also installing victorious isn't supposed to soft brick your phone even when I correctly did the steps twice my phone darn softbricked first boot and.I reverted to g60madmans stock recovety to unsoftbrick my phone ok so their you have my response
     
  21. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    No, it cannot brick your phone! It can soft-brick your phone, but that is easily fixed by restoring the backup you should have made in the first place. If you didn't follow instructions and make a backup, then you can use g60madman's backup. ;)
     
    mudflap2020 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...