1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[Virgin Mobile] Galaxy SIII (SPH-L710) Virgin Mobile HELP!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Pankakejoe, Oct 1, 2014.

1. Pankakejoe

Pankakejoe Lurker

I am brand new to the Android scene. I have been using Apple devices for a long time. I am really familiar with jailbreaking and I thought I could just jump right in and root my new S3.

Unfortunately you have to be a rocket scientist to understand how to do all of this stuff (well, atleast with absolutely no prior experience). So, of course I ****** up and, apparently, soft bricked my phone (I think?).

I searched all night and found out how use Odin (a bit) and stumbled upon a sprint firmware to try to restore my phone to working condition, or so i thought.

The firmware I flashed onto my s3 (virgin mobile mind you) was:
    L710VPUCMK3_L710SPRCMK3_L710VPUCMK3_HOME.tar.md5

which as most of you can see is a Sprint firmware. So, unfortunately my Virgin Mobile phone believes it is a sprint phone. This wouldnt be a problem but I just transferred my number from a StraightTalk phone to Virgin Mobile tonight. So my "Sprint" phone wont use the virgin mobile signal or some shit (this is where my understanding of the situation falls apart).

Here is my problem. I need to lose the Sprint firmware on my phone and get it back to Virgin Mobile ASAP! I currently can't use the phone (when i try to make a call i get an automated message saying "your account cannot be validated, please contact customer services") Even though when I do get in contact with the Virgin Mobile customer service automated bot it confirms I should have service and I need to reprogram the phone.