1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] How screwed am I?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MizKoko, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    The person who was rooting my gS3 screwed up since I couldn't do it myself... (laptop's usb isn't working in any case) I'm not sure exactly what he did to it but I am sure I am screwed.

    -failed root
    -no "virgin mobile" on the lock screen
    -no MMS
    -camera fails

    I was on 4.1.2

    please, any help? How can this be fixed? At the very least how do I return to stock and not have it read "modified"? Would flashing the stock and modem fix everything? Not even sure where the correct files are to flash the stock are, since everyone's on 4.3 now. Yes, I am a complete idiot and should have never let my phone be messed with.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
    Did you try to do a factory reset. Also if you want to flash custom Roms don't do the ota update to mk5 also if all fails there's a thread here for rooting the mg2 also if you look up lordimage tread he has a mg2 tar you can use you will need Odin to flash custom recovery and the mg2 .there is a the thread rooting guide for noobs
     
  3. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
  4. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    I read the rooting guide but I can't figure any of it out, no I didn't do the factory reset because I'm not sure what it'll do with the custom recovery my rooter put on there (he said it was not recognized?) Not sure which he installed.
     
  5. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
    Factory reset will put the phone back to the the way when it came out of the box as long he didn't mess up your recovery
     
  6. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
  7. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
    If this one helps give struckn a thank
     
  8. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
    P.S don't use Samsung kies to update it will put the Knox mk5 on ur phone
     
  9. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    No I didn't read it since I never intended to modify any roms. The only reason I wanted root was to kick the knox bootloader and stop media scanning. It's all over my head, (and my USB ports aren't going to be fixed anytime soon anyways) and I keep getting the different versions of things confused, so I can at least get the person who tried to root me the files so he can sort it out. He's never done a virgin mobile galaxy before. Also, is this it? http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...t/753321-i-have-found-stock-firmware-md7.html
     
  10. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
    Are u running 4.3 official with knox ?
     
  11. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    Nope. No knox. Far as I know. It's 4.1.2 though it is very aggressively nagging me to update.
     
  12. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
    Read the 2nd thread link I posted
     
  13. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
    A factory reset shouldn't affect the recovery. Were u able to flash the recovery on your phone
     
  14. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    my USB ports are dead. I can't flash anything right now. What I wanted was the files so the person who botched the job can fix it. He'd never done a virgin mobile phone before.

    My points
    -I am on 4.1.2 no knox
    -need the stock rom in case I need to go back to stock unmodified just in case
    -I cannot do this myself right now, even if I wasn't a moron my usb ports are broken
    -I am extremely stressed out and being asked the same questions and asked to read things I don't understand is not helping

    I appreciate you're trying to help but I'm extremely stupid with this kind of thing and at least wanted the right files for him.
     
  15. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
    The 2nd link I posted has all the files you need
     
  16. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
  17. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    I just saw how to modify roms (4.3 roms) on the second one. Eh, I'll have to look over this later, I can't even think straight, I'm literally panicking because I have a phone that only makes calls and can't get MMS or take pictures. I just bought it and I screwed it up and I'm quite heartbroken. Sorry if i was rude or anything. Thanks for trying to help.
     
  18. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
    As long as your phone boots up your not screwed
     
  19. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    We're here to help! ;) no need to panic!

    If you want a MG2 (4.1.2) or a MD7(4.1.2) Stock ROM instead of MK5 (4.3) then you'll find that here: LINK

    It says outdated only because MK5 (4.3) is out.

    If you have any questions I'll be more than glad to help. :thumbup:
     
  20. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    Thanks, It's so ironic I had a guy who roots for cash (probably hundreds of droids) do it and he still couldn't crack virgin mobile, and ended up breaking my camera and MMS. I did warn him not to flash any sprint roms because that caused issues. I did trouble to read up on it before so I could warn him, at least. I used to have a BlackBerry up until November so this is my first experience with droid.
     
  21. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Read this to learn about "Knox and You". Don't be scared to upgrade to MK5 with Knox if you have to. I updated via OTA so I have Knox. Its still possible to root but I HIGHLY recommend you do it yourself.
     
  22. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    Yeah but then I'll lose my warranty.
     
  23. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Rooting your phone also makes you lose your warranty. Since you said you have a custom recovery (correct me if I'm wrong) you have already voided your warranty. (This can be temporarily fixed with Triangle Away from the Google Play Store (need root access))
     
  24. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    If I go back to unrooted stock is that still voided warranty? I'm not sure how that works. Biggest issue is that in the 4 hours of trying root was not achieved. Now if I could have had root and had my camera and MMs working I wouldn't be complaining but I seem to have a damned if you do damned if you don't situation here.
     
  25. MizKoko

    MizKoko Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013

    Dec 11, 2013
    36
    1
    16
    So yeah I'm really stuck here :/
     

Share This Page

Loading...