1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

[Virgin Mobile] I need some direction, slight hand-holding :)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Palmetto Fellow, Oct 2, 2014.

1. Palmetto Fellow

Palmetto Fellow Android Expert

I'm not that big on the rooting scene. I do what I need to when I need to, and then I drop off for months before something draws me back in.

Well, that damn KitKat notification has finally pissed me off enough to do something about it. I've been ignoring it for at least 4 months now, and it's time to move on.

I'm rooted, WITHOUT the Knox botloader, and running MOAR v9.0.1 MK3, Android version 4.3, Baseband MK5.

From what I can tell, there's no MOAR for KitKat is there? If not, what's the next best thing on KitKat?
    Also, given my current state, where do I begin with the steps to getting the new ROM? Do I just make a NAND backup, wipe everything and flash it? Do I need to update radios, baseband versions, or anything else like that first?

I don't want Knox at all, so let's avoid anything that could put that on my phone.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. cmichael258

cmichael258 Well-Known Member

You can keep your MK5 Baseband and download one of the nightlies from that
    section on the main page. Liquid Smooth (2014-09-11 version), Carbon or Nameless are a few of the good ones.
    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...oot/851777-android-4-4-4-d2lte-nightlies.html

You should do a Nand backup and wipe everything for a clean install. After flashing the ROM of choice, you will need to flash GAAPS (also linked on the nightlies page) and apply the APN fixes from Moped's page:
    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...-virgin-mobile-apn-fix-wip-cm-aosp-4-4-x.html

3. Palmetto Fellow

Palmetto Fellow Android Expert

Are there any good touchwiz kit Kat options? Every AOSP ROM I've tried in the past has sent me back to TW. I'm willing to try them though.