1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] [KERNEL] VaeVictus Kernel - Overclocked to 1.8Ghz [Updated 8-8-13]

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JerryScript, Jul 25, 2013.

  1. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Introducing VaeVictus
    Overclocked Kernel for
    Virgin Mobile Galaxy Victory



    This kernel is built from the official Samsung source for the Virgin Mobile Galaxy Victory, release MG5. It has been built with the Linaro toolchain for maximum efficiency. Thanks to rbheromax, it has the ability to overclock to 1.8ghz, automatically overclocks the GPU to 400mhz as needed, and has extra governors added to allow you to find the best settings for your personal needs!

    Standard Warning: Placing unofficial software on your phone could damage it, and even brick it leaving it unusable for anything. I take no responsibility for what you do to your phone! This kernel is released as is, with the source available for those who want it, but with NO WARRANTY AT ALL!

    Note- see second post for older versions

    Update 8-8-13 : Merged with Samsung Open Source SPH-L300_VMU_MG5 release
    Includes a new virtualization machine, and is designed to work with the latest
    firmware release for the Virgin Mobile Galaxy Victory

    1. Download VaeVictus-MG5-OC.zip
    2. Place on your sdcard
    3. Boot into recovery
    4. Flash VaeVictus
    5. Reboot

    To change the default overclock and governor settings, download an app from the Play Store such as No-frills CPU Control, Kernel Tuner, or Trickster Mod. There are many apps to choose from, but be warned that some may not work properly with our phones, so MAKE SURE YOU BACKUP FIRST!

    [​IMG]
    Results shown above are from VaeVictus-0.2.1

    Notes- The stock Samsung Victory Virgin Mobile kernel can be downloaded in the second post. Please post all questions about overclocking and governors in the testing thread. All other questions about VaeVictus will be answered here. ;)

    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...governor-overclock-vaevictus.html#post6009124

    GPL Notice- the source and all changes to it can be found at github:
    https://github.com/JerryScript/VaeVictus
    https://github.com/newkid313/VaeVictus
    Original Samsung open source (search for SPH-L300):
    Samsung Open Source Release Center

    Huge thanks to rbheromax
    for all his help getting overclock frequencies
    and governors performing properly!



    Why did I misspell VaeVictus (VaeVictis)?
    Call it the second error made in building this kernel.
    The first error was of course me thinking I could build it in one night!
    ;)
     

    Advertisement

  2. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    First!
     
    zacharynasty likes this.
  3. JonathanWhitey

    JonathanWhitey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    290
    27
    43
    I can still under clock this right?
     
  4. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Yep!

    With most governors, it will stay underclocked as low as 384 till the phone needs more power, then the governor determines how fast to go, with the max speed you set holding it in check.

    Just tested to confirm with CPU-Z and No-frills CPU Control. I set it to max 918mhz, and used powersave governor, and it never went above 918. And, the phone still runs smooth! ;)
     
    JonathanWhitey likes this.
  5. JonathanWhitey

    JonathanWhitey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    290
    27
    43
    Great work! I don't know how you do it! :thumbup:
     
    JerryScript likes this.
  6. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Credit for the overclocking working so smooth goes to rbheromax! Without his help, I would have been stuck in those damn frequency tables for a month! ;)
     
  7. buzzcon

    buzzcon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    541
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    541
    90
    98
    Male
    Polish Ambassador
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I was a little worried when G60 left because he is a great Dev, and I wasn't sure if anyone would take over. I just want to thank you personally (JerryScript) for making what I think is a pretty good phone out of the box, into a GREAT phone!!
     
    JerryScript likes this.
  8. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    JerryScript, you need to get rid of /etc/thermald.conf
    I heard you will run into throttling...
     
  9. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Have you tested without? What I've read in the documentation indicates that's the way it works, and that you can mod thermald.conf if it throttles too much. I'm a bit nervous about frying processors, I've done it on PCs by OC/OV too high (but man, going from 2.7 to almost 4 was sick, if only I had some cryo!), so I'll look to your experience with other phone's kernels on this one.
     
  10. Chiral

    Chiral Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    262
    56
    53
    Fwiw running benchmarks @ 1.8ghz didnt break 100F battery temp. If throttling is active at that low of a temp I would be surprised. CPU-Z and no-frills showed 1.8ghz, so if it is being throttled it's invisible (edit) or throttling load and not frequency.

    If I were to set 1.8 @ performance and run benchmarks while I had the phone sitting on icepacks, would I not get better scores if thermal throttling below 100F was an issue? (Cuz I got ice packs)
     
    JerryScript likes this.
  11. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Good then.
    Someone needs to just update their thermald and add the new freqs. How is battery life?
     
  12. Chiral

    Chiral Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    262
    56
    53
    Same, running conservative @ 384-1.8ghz. ~7% loss/hour nonstop (reddit) browsing over wifi.

    Identical to redspot and Jerry's 1.5 kernel.

    With powersave I got lag, with performance cores are locked @ 1.8 and I get battery temps in the 90s (F).



    Edit: tonight im gonna take notes on the cpu behavior for each governor, because clocking on this phone is *goofy*.

    Whether governor is set at boot, and whether battery saver mode is enabled at the time seem to make huge differences. Wtf.
     
    JerryScript likes this.
  13. AndroidHaCks

    AndroidHaCks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012

    Nov 29, 2012
    341
    77
    53
    Male
    My maximum clock speed isn't sticking. I wanted to lower it to 1.2, but it just stays at 1.8 using no frills CPU. No frills also displays the max frequency as 1.xxx GHz even though I changed it to 3xx MHz, but cpu stats show it as 3xx the minimum.. Strange. Thanks for the kernel though!
     
  14. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    I had to press apply twice to get it to work with No-Frills, but it does restrict it to 918 as I set it. ;)
     
  15. AndroidHaCks

    AndroidHaCks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012

    Nov 29, 2012
    341
    77
    53
    Male
    I pressed it like 5 times :p if it's not too much trouble, could you add 192 MHz frequency?
     
  16. Chiral

    Chiral Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    262
    56
    53
    No-frills doesnt display properly, but if you watch in realtime with cpu-z youll see that it behaves within the guidelines you set, after the first attempt.
     
  17. AndroidHaCks

    AndroidHaCks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012

    Nov 29, 2012
    341
    77
    53
    Male
    I wonder what's causing it not to display properly, cause on redspot stained frequencies displayed correctly
     
  18. Chiral

    Chiral Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    262
    56
    53
    Its not that it is inaccurate, but sometimes it doesnt want to update the stats in real-time. It looks like the changes didnt take, but they did.
     
  19. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Have u tested with OC at highest while charging? Basically does it throttle you there? Because if I'm right it'll drop below 1.5 and not go back up after that.
     
  20. Chiral

    Chiral Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    262
    56
    53
    At 1.8 while benchmarking I hit mid 90s (f). No throttling (12721 AnTuTu score)

    I'll try it plugged in when im near a charger. By the end of my 8 hour shift I'll be around 40%, which should be perfect.
     
  21. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    That's really good for battery. I know @ 1.8 the voltage value is 1300000 and that's on par with the msm8960 board, so idk if it can be lower??? Is there any app to adjust just voltages? Cause it'd be nice to know the absolute minimum without taking a hit in performance and having random reboots.
     
  22. insanelycool

    insanelycool Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    May 30, 2013

    May 30, 2013
    219
    91
    53
    Male
    Computer Certification Instructor / Network Admin
    I was wondering the same thing... I really want to play with voltages.
     
  23. Chiral

    Chiral Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013

    Jun 10, 2013
    262
    56
    53

    It is an msm8960 board. Only thing "lite" about it is lower l2 cache.
     
  24. rbheromax

    rbheromax Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,927
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012

    Sep 22, 2012
    1,927
    443
    163
    Male
    High School Student
    Columbia, South Carolina
    I have a theory of taking away hotplug and make 1.35 max. So basically 1.35 dual core all the time. This should be pretty good battery with good performance. But this would have me rewriting the whole cpufreq driver. (I'm doing this now anyways for simplicity of code for future developers for this phone).
     

Share This Page

Loading...