1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] MidnightRom:GS3 4.3 1.0. 12/17/2013 Supercharged stock

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xthedakmanx, Dec 17, 2013.

  1. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    After a very long leave of absence (SORRY!), I now present to you all MidnightRom GS3 4.3! es for this phone, it's finally here!

    Install instructions in the second post! PLEASE READ!!!

    If coming from any other rom, INCLUDING the 4.1.2 MidnightRom, PLEASE flash the latest modem software!
    Goo.im Downloads - Downloading SPH-L710_MK5_modem.zip


    MidnightRom: GS3 4.3 1.0.0 <---- Download here!


    Warning: Do not flash any third party kernels on this phone at this time. ALL third party kernels (ANY from xda for example) will BRICK YOUR PHONE.

    Features list:

    Todo:
    -Overclocking
    -Optimizations
    -GPS Fixes
    -Goo.im support
    -Add some apps preinstalled
    -Add adblocking by default
    -Camera changes
    -LOTS more optimizations
    -4G/3G/Wifi tweaks
     

    Advertisement

    codmerc, dcannoli, elemeneo and 8 others like this.
  2. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Easy Installation instructions:

    This is from the perspective that you already have a custom recovery.

    -Download the latest modem and flash it
    http://goo.gl/NvGyKh
    -Download the latest version of MidnightRomGS3 4.3 and install!

    Yup! Easy as that ^_^



    Note: You CAN upgrade this over existing MidnightRom 4.1.2 versions! Just wipe cache and dalvik cache, make sure you flash the modem first, then the ROM. You won't lose any existing settings or anything!
     
  3. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Changelog:

    12/17/2013 1.0.0
    -First version!

    -SuperSU rooted
    -Fully deodxed
    -Sound files optimized
    -Init.d support
    -Some file optimizations
    -Removed a lot of non needed files/apps that either use up space, take away privacy, or reduce battery life
    -Boot animation support

    There's a LOT I still need to do, but this ROM is running extremely well (a LOT better than just being fully stock). There shouldn't be any problems or issues, but if there are please post about them in the thread ^_^

    Stay tuned ^_^
     
    killaphatboy and upconvert like this.
  4. ssethv

    ssethv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    41
    11
    18
    Biomed
    Jacksonville FL
    F yeah! Thank you! Downloading now. Will report back shortly.
     
    xthedakmanx likes this.
  5. ssethv

    ssethv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    41
    11
    18
    Biomed
    Jacksonville FL
    Maybe I just didn't see it but can you post the MD5? Also. I am new to knox and Samsung. Can I use this? I rooted my phone a few weeks ago with the knox bootloader. Don't know if different firmware will effect me. Pardon if I missed something in the stickies. There was alot of information to learn :)
     
  6. SgtMacabre

    SgtMacabre Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011

    Jan 23, 2011
    57
    18
    18
    Male
    Network Engineer
    NYC
    Its going to be asked eventually....so I figure ill get it out of the way.... does this include Knox boot loader??

    On another note....I used your midnight 4.1.2 ... glad to see you back!!
     
    ssethv likes this.
  7. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    Hell yeah! I was just getting really itchy to flash something. Thanks, man!
     
  8. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    Here's a good summary of KNOX from the stickies. Everyone should read it (that's why it's a sticky).

    Good question. Knox is like phone herpes.
     
    TheBritton, struckn and xthedakmanx like this.
  9. ssethv

    ssethv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    41
    11
    18
    Biomed
    Jacksonville FL
    Good to know. As long as I don't use Odin I'm good!
     
  10. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Knox free ^_^ Forgot to put that in lol
     
  11. ssethv

    ssethv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    41
    11
    18
    Biomed
    Jacksonville FL
  12. w0rd

    w0rd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    102
    15
    38
    FL, USA
    It's on the download page, if that's what you mean.
     
  13. ssethv

    ssethv Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011

    Apr 19, 2011
    41
    11
    18
    Biomed
    Jacksonville FL
    I was only able to see the page for a split second before the download started. I can only use my phone right now. It's all good though. Already flashed.
     
    xthedakmanx likes this.
  14. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Are you referring to using third party kernels on the device in general or just with your rom?

    Just asking for clarification because the DKP kernel and others from XDA have been working great with the MK5 build.

    Great work! Glad to have you back :)
     
  15. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    I need to take that off lol >.< Whoops.

    It originally was there (taken from my other posts) because I managed to accidently brick two gs3's by accidently flashing a...verizon...variant...kernel...>_>
     
    struckn and TheBritton like this.
  16. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Oh okay! Thanks :)
    Yikes! Hard bricks? That doesn't sound good at all. I guess the partition tables are different with Verizon variants. So far so good with the Sprint kernels though.

    Excellent work! I'm glad to see development kick up again in this device forum. We have a great team here and it's growing! That's very exciting!
     
  17. jreink01

    jreink01 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    962
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    962
    32
    78
    Male
    Saginaw, MI
    I flashed your rom, love it so far, especially switching from lte to wifi and back. All the 4.3 roms I've tried all had this issue. All the features I have tried worked perfectly. Only one issue I've noticed, I lost root. When I tried to use to, it said I did not have root. I had to restore my 4.1 rom bu, which I checked and I have root again. How do I keep root on your rom, thanks.
     
  18. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Odd.
    Try installing SuperSU after the rom install and see what happens
    SuperSU Download

    If that doesn't work, a post on xda said to "go to settings/Developer options/root access tick Apps and ADB. reboot"


    Anyone else having this issue?
     
  19. Piznick64

    Piznick64 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    481
    15
    38
    so if i have the 4.3 non knox bootloader stock rom what do i do to get this rom
     
  20. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    You'll need to have a custom recovery. You just need to make a nandroid, wipe system, data, cache, and dalvik, and flash the ROM.

    I would highly recommend reading the sticky about Knox I linked above to find out exactly what you can and can't do.

    BTW, great ROM! My new daily for sure.
     
  21. jreink01

    jreink01 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    962
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011

    Jul 28, 2011
    962
    32
    78
    Male
    Saginaw, MI
    I flashed this rom last night and the only issue I had was that I lost root so I restored my 4.1 version for now. Before going back to my 4.1, I made a backup of this 4.3 rom. I tried restoring my bu of this rom to do what you suggested so I can get root back but now, after restoring, it gets caught in a bootloop (with the four circles), it won't go past this, I have even let it sit for a half hour and I come back and its still on that same screen. The only way to get out was to do a battery pull and get into recovery by vol up, power and menu. Got back into recovery and this time did a factory reset and still the same thing happened. I even tried a third time and again, the same thing happened. I have backed up and restored numerous times without issue on other roms. I am using TWRP 2.6.3.0 and I checked and I am on the latest version. I don't know what else to do??
     
  22. Piznick64

    Piznick64 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    481
    15
    38
    im using the philly recovery is that ok
     
  23. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    I used Philz. Works great. It's probably the best working recovery for our phones now.
     
  24. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    You might be out of luck restoring the backup. I'd do a clean install, and maybe switch over to Philz recovery. Make sure you have a working ROM before messing around with your recovery. You can fix a ROM from recovery, and fix a recovery from your ROM, but if both are borked, you might hav to take more drastic measures.
     
  25. richking34

    richking34 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    577
    41
    68
    If im on Carbon Rom 4.3.1 Mg2, do i need to update to Mk5?
     

Share This Page

Loading...