1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] [MK5][4.3][WIP] Working Custom Kernels (Sprint, TW, etc)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TheBritton, Dec 6, 2013.

  1. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Has anyone tried the DKP kernel on stock MK5 with the Knox bootloader?
     

    Advertisement

  2. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    From everything I've read so far it *should* be fine, a custom kernel is just another way to set Knox to 0x1 if it hasn't been tripped yet. Technically, any custom ROM contains a custom kernel, as far as Knox is concerned, because it is looking for the Samsung approved kernel found only on stock. Therefore, since plenty of people have successfully rooted and installed custom ROM's after receiving the Knox "upgrade," intentionally or otherwise, my conclusion would be that this is safe. Possibly decimalman (dkp), Gideon (BMS), or Ktoonsez (KT747) over at XDA would have a better answer if you PM'd them, since they all develop kernels.

    Edit: the other assumption I am drawing from what I have read is that the only thing that truly scares Knox is trying to replace it with a previous boot loader, hence all the warnings about permanent hard brick when trying to use Odin to push a .tar file containing an older stock version.
     
    TheBritton likes this.
  3. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
  4. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    What app do you use for cpu scaling? No Frills, CPU Master, etc.. ?
     
  5. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    jdsingle, can you make a flashable zip of the stock kernel to fall back on? I would greatly appreciate it :)
     
  6. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    you can do a reflash of your current rom (just wipe cache and dalvik) should put you back on the stock kernel or restore from a backup.
     
    struckn and TheBritton like this.
  7. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Since a kernel flash is a significant change in my book, I always make a backup of my ROM right before flashing.
     
  8. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    No Frills is my app of choice when the options aren't built into the ROM itself. Trickster MOD also works really well, but can be overwhelming for someone who doesn't know what all the options are, myself included.
     
  9. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    4.3 with KNOX Bootlooder installed via OTA. Rooted via rom by jdsingle76 w/guide by TheBritton . Flashed DKP TW 4.3 with Philz Recovery.
    [​IMG]
    Currently working well, I'll post back later to update status on how it is.
     
    TheBritton likes this.
  10. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Ha theBritton do you flash just the kernel ?
    An did you do wipe cash a Dalvik an fix permissions thing ?
    let me know thanks !!!
     
  11. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    You wipe cache and dalvik cache before flashing any kernel.
     
  12. floydster12

    floydster12 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    7
    3
    6
    Yea mine does not say 0x0 or 0x1. It says "Warranty Bit: 1" which may be the same as 0x1 but I'm not sure. And I am running the sock mk5 rooted.

    Sorry wrong forum. My apologies
     
  13. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Just the kernel.. dkp
     
  14. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    How has the kernel been working for you?
     
  15. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    That's OK on the wrong forum thing, and it may be a bit off-topic for this thread, but I just recently found out the exact wording of the additional lines in download mode (Knox-free for me, so no way to confirm directly) which refer to Knox, so anyplace that users see this info is good. Warranty Bit 1 is indeed the indication of a tripped Knox flag, most information available on the internet right now refers to the Knox flag reading 0x0 for not tripped or 0x1 for tripped, which is obviously true but misleading, as most people, myself included, assume that this is the actual wording you would see on the download screen. Once again, the actual wording seems kind of like a lie by omission on the part of Samsung, hopefully very few people, ideally none, have screwed their phone up beyond repair because they weren't truly aware that Knox was about to step in and inflict a world of pain on their device which cost them several hundred dollars (ouch)!
     
  16. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Today I flashed the latest dkp kernel working great so far flashed using Philz recovery !!
    an yes I'm pretty shore I have the knox bootloader !!
    an I'm on mk5 odex .
     
  17. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Has anyone tried overclocking an is it working well??
     
  18. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Since I've flashed its been much "snappier" than before and battery seems to be doing better. I'll be testing battery throughout the day today. I'll update you tonight or when I need to charge, which ever comes first ;)
     
    TheBritton likes this.
  19. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    I haven't tried it but this specific processor is officially rated at 1.7GHz maximum. It may go higher but I wouldn't. It wouldn't benefit much.
     
  20. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Overclocking is actually not that good of an idea on this phone unless you are doing it just to try to get a high quadrant score (as in temporary just for the score). Dual core running 1512 will benefit more from some undervolting and experimenting with the various governors and schedulers, you are risking bootloops otherwise. Whatever you decide on settings, regardless, make sure they are stable for more than a day or two straight before checking "restore on boot."
     
    TheBritton likes this.
  21. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Hey Dizzy, as others can attest, I 100% do not mind sharing my work, helping folks out, and spreading around the love. But could you do me a favor and update your post link so that anything you use that I've done sends the user to the original post, and not the download site? Thanks :)

    On another note, let's put this one to bed. If you flashed the MK5 4.3 build from either OTA(by clicking the update now button, or whatever it says), or from Kies, then you 100% flashed the Knox Bootloader. So be careful :)
    J
     
    TheBritton and struckn like this.
  22. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    struckn and TheBritton like this.
  23. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    Understandable, just edited. :)
     
    struckn and TheBritton like this.
  24. Warrior94

    Warrior94 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013

    Apr 6, 2013
    58
    10
    18
    Male
    college student atm
    Big Rapids, Michigan
    I have my phone oc'd to 1.78 ghz iirc and that seems stable from what i have found, anymore and instant reboot lol BUT i didnt know the processor was only rated for 1.7 ghz (whoops lol) I have about 3 days on the kernel and rom and everything seems great! good job guys!
     
    struckn likes this.
  25. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    How about battery life and what is your governor/scheduler combo? Any undervolting to go with this as well, and finally did you change the minimum value when you overclocked?
     

Share This Page

Loading...