1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Need help rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by WayneMC, Jan 18, 2014.

  1. WayneMC

    WayneMC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012

    May 4, 2012
    40
    2
    16
    So I want to root my phone.

    My phone is from carrier Virgin Mobile & is Model #: SPH-L710.

    My friend recommended me this thread to root my Galaxy S3: [Tutorial] Rooting the Sprint GalaxyS3 the Easy Way - xda-developers

    But it seems old and outdated.

    Looking for any and all help and guidance as I'd prefer not to brick my phone... Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sean19661

    sean19661 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    307
    42
    53
    Male
    Chicago IL
  3. WayneMC

    WayneMC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012

    May 4, 2012
    40
    2
    16
  4. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #175
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    Navigate to Settings > About

    You should see your ROM build in there. Its end with 1 of three types:

    MD7 - This is the original with ICS bootloaders (You will need to upgrade to flash about anything)

    MG2 - First update to ROM with JB Bootloaders.

    MK5 - Current build that has the KNOX bootloader. (extra reading required)

    My phone came with MG2 out of the box. This ment I have the JB bootloaders allowing me to flash just about any 3rd party ROM all the way to 4.4 Kitkat. I didnt allow my phone to upgrade to MK5 because I dont want KNOX.

    So what build do you have?
     
  5. WayneMC

    WayneMC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012

    May 4, 2012
    40
    2
    16
    Seems to be an MK5...

    Under build number & baseband version it ends with MK5.
     
  6. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #175
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    Read Read Read

    then Read some more!

    You have the KNOX JB bootloaders. Doesn't mean anything is wrong or bad - but more precautions need to be made. The Root guide linked earlier is for your phone.
     
  7. WayneMC

    WayneMC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012

    May 4, 2012
    40
    2
    16
    This is the part I want, correct?

    d6424953fb4394f3ad51423a08275dd9.png

    This is all the steps I need?
     
  8. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #175
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    Everything looks correct yes. When flashing via odin - it may take a long time to say "pass". Its taken about 10-15min for me at times. Its scary because its a brickable setup in the process but one of the worst things you can do is unplug during the process.

    In a nutshell you cant get root without a custom recovery. So you use odin to get the Philz custom recovery written over the Samsung stock one - this is where Knox it tripped and your warranty void. No talking your way around it to Samsung support anymore. After the custom recovery is installed you boot to that recovery and flash the root file.

    While you are in that recovery the first time - do a full backup (called a nandroid)
     
  9. WayneMC

    WayneMC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012

    May 4, 2012
    40
    2
    16
    Blah this is confusing, & scary, as I really do not want to brick my phone.

    So I do ALL of those steps in that image I posted?
    Then I do a nandroid?

    What's the chance of me bricking? Anyway I could fix it?
     
  10. MikeEthio

    MikeEthio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    123
    39
    43
    Male
    SOMEWHERE
    This is the link explain for you how you can root

    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...n-mobile-galaxy-s3-all-things-root-guide.html

    Read and follow every step. MAKE SURE YOU DO BACKUP AND NVBACKUP if something goes wrong you can restore your backup. Anyway read read read.
     
  11. WayneMC

    WayneMC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012

    May 4, 2012
    40
    2
    16
  12. MikeEthio

    MikeEthio Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    123
    39
    43
    Male
    SOMEWHERE
    Well go ahead and Google it or on YouTube search how to root SPH-L710
     
  13. vsanch24

    vsanch24 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    172
    36
    53
    Male
    Mid-Michigan, USA
    What do you specifically need help with? I have the MK5 setup and I have rooted. So I am willing to assist you if needed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...