1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Newbie screwed up installing Victorious again and is now stuck on (a different stage of) boot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by monkeybiz7, Aug 8, 2013.

1. monkeybiz7

monkeybiz7 Newbie
    None

Aug 8, 2013
    Female
    Cambridge, MA
    Hi all,

I'm a major newbie, and I recently successfully rooted my Samsung Galaxy Victory 4G LTE (per instructions from this site). I would love to install the victorious ROM, as it seems to have a lot of nifty features.

I found a guide on the internet about how to load a custom rom:

theunlockr.com/2012/08/29/how-to-load-a-custom-rom-on-an-android-device/

But it uses ROM Manager, and I recall reading that ROM Manager sometimes has problems with Virgin Mobile phones. Anyway, seeing as how I paid nearly $200 for this phone, I'm terrified of screwing something up.

If someone could send me a step-by-step guide about how to flash the victorious ROM on my phone, or tell me where I can find such a detailed guide, I would be super grateful.

Thanks again!

Advertisement

2. insanelycool

insanelycool Well-Known Member
    None

May 30, 2013
    Male
    Computer Certification Instructor / Network Admin
    Ignore those instructions, and stay away from rom manager. It's not really designed for our phone.

Victorious is not yet a full rom, it is an update zip that you can flash on top of the regular system.

The big question is, have you updated to the NEWEST firmware? The one that just released a day ago? I'm not sure Victorious will play nice with that yet, but you could make a backup in TWRP and test it for us if you want! If you haven't downloaded it yet, I wouldn't reccomend doing so as it may break root. There's not a lot of info out yet as far as I have heard anyways.

3. insanelycool

None

May 30, 2013
    Male