1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Official Carbon KitKat Nightlies Are Here!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by struckn, Jan 30, 2014.

  1. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    All right people, the title says it all! Apparently Carbon was waiting for their one year anniversary to coincide with their first KitKat nightly. Downloading now, can't wait to get this bad boy on my phone! Special thanks to @nathan75 for giving me the heads up with a PM this morning. Head on over to the Carbon website, make sure to read the announcement and follow their instructions; they are recommending a GApps flash in the same session as the ROM flash, just FYI, I know normally a lot of us flash GApps in a second recovery session after the ROM has settled in. Enjoy!

    News | Carbon Rom
     

    Advertisement

    ssethv, upconvert and ajnycguy like this.
  2. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    OK, for those who would like it here is the first nightly! I am posting two versions, both have the asserts removed. Otherwise, one copy has just that modification, the other one is tailored to my personal tastes in terms of debloating. Standard disclaimer applies, I am not responsible for anything that goes sideways. And most importantly, this is not my original work, this is the work of the Carbon development team, they are beyond awesome! Make sure to check out their website, linked in the OP, before flashing. I also recommend (of course) my stickied tutorial, which now includes an accompanying video, so that you can do this yourself, but I don't mind putting these up here as a favor to all my friends in the rooted VM SGS3 community!

    Carbon KitKat Asserts Removed and Debloated

    Carbon KitKat Asserts Removed

    It should also go without saying at this point, since so many of us use and recommend it, and have posted countless times about it, but USE PHILZ TOUCH!! No complaining allowed if you are using TWRP or regular CWM.
     
  3. mablake184

    mablake184 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013

    Jun 19, 2013
    25
    5
    16
    Do you think we will be able to take advantage of the updater app they have released or will the Asserts problem prevent that?
     
  4. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    The assert lines will be an issue in any future update, which is what the updater app will point to. I think it will still be a useful tool to notify of updates, and if you know what you are doing, it is actually possible to modify the asserts on your phone using the proper file explorer. However, I like to download to my computer first, modify, save to the proper location, and then transfer to phone.
     
  5. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    thats nice lol, i built 1/29 last night, and now the officials are finally here :D

    but heres the official 1/30 Downloads | Carbon Rom at the bottom
     
    killaphatboy, upconvert and struckn like this.
  6. papa b

    papa b Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    71
    46
    23
    USA
    Flashed over mopeds latest "ready" build and it's running beautifully. Removed asserts then flashed these four, in this order, all at once:

    Wipe dalvik + cache partition
    1) flashed ROM
    2) flashed dkp kernel
    3) flashed optimized dalvik
    4) flashed 3rd APN fix
    Re-wiped dalvik + cache partition
    Reboot

    Again, I flashed all four in One recovery session.

    Painless, including no dot-phone FC's so far.
    pHilz settings remained intact.
    All system settings appear unchanged.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. infotiger

    infotiger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013

    May 9, 2013
    42
    1
    16
    What's the difference Carbon vs CM ?
     
  8. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    General style is more subdued. Some cool extra features like pocket mode, and text previews of notifications around the unlock button on the lock screen. Right now, Bluetooth is way better on carbon. There other good stuff, too.

    I think general speed, smoothness, and stability are similar. I know native WiFi hotspot works on carbon, I'm not sure about cm. I was jumping between nightlies of the two for a while, but since carbon fixed BT, I haven't felt the need to try the latest cm nightlies.
     
    struckn likes this.
  9. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    CM is CM based
    Carbon is AOSP based

    Kinda like Ford and Chevy. The are the same but different features. Many of the apps and stuff are interchangeable, but not all.
     
    struckn likes this.
  10. papa b

    papa b Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    71
    46
    23
    USA
    I know it's heavily modified, but isn't CM also AOSP... at least when they start?
     
  11. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    Struckn,

    Im not sure if you do this already but -

    To get "Virgin Mobile" to show as the network replace the eri.xml file in framework-res.apk.

    Open (dont extract) the framework-res.apk
    navigate to \framework-res.apk\res\xml
    replace the eri.xml with the one I attached.

    I also attached a readable version. The eri.xml is the compiled one - this is the one to replace with.

    Download eri.xml HERE
    md5: DFBB92E276C8B17D5F3FC1C022A5B7C9

    For a readable version check it out HERE
     
    xstefen and struckn like this.
  12. cmichael258

    cmichael258 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    205
    39
    53
    Male
    Social Services
    St. Pete Florida
    I installed the Carbon with Asserts Removed and all went well except I lost root privileges. I had backed up all apps via Titanium Pro; however, I wasn't able to reinstall Titanium without root or Superu.

    Where did I go wrong? Probably a simple answer but then I'm a pretty simple guy. :thinking: Thanks!
     
  13. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    You can flash the supersu .zip from recovery. It is in theBritton's sticky. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1538053
     
    struckn and cmichael258 like this.
  14. papa b

    papa b Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    71
    46
    23
    USA
    Also, if you look through all of the settings in philz recovery there are settings to/for check/re-root SuperSU.

    There is also a new version of philz_d2spr as of today, 1-30-2014, with a newer version of SU included.
     
    struckn likes this.
  15. cmichael258

    cmichael258 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012

    Apr 28, 2012
    205
    39
    53
    Male
    Social Services
    St. Pete Florida
    Sure enough...found it under Philz Settings.

    I see that the newer Philz is a .tar file. Can that be run using Mobile ODIN? I've never used Mobile before.

    Correction...the .tar file I found is not for our phone.
     
  16. ajnycguy

    ajnycguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013

    Nov 29, 2013
    168
    97
    53
    Male
    Texas
    Could you post a link for the clueless like myself... :) Thanks bro!
     
  17. papa b

    papa b Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    71
    46
    23
    USA
    Sure. Give me a few minutes...

    This is a link to the Sprint/OUR DEVICE, (d2spr):
    http://goo.im/devs/philz_touch/CWM_Advanced_Edition/d2spr

    This is the link to the XDA thread for d2spr (the OP is cnexus) :
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2446393

    This is a link to the main XDA thread for philz recovery (the OP is philz himself) :
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=39433912#post39433912
     
    upconvert, ajnycguy and struckn like this.
  18. papa b

    papa b Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    71
    46
    23
    USA
    Bump... Links above. I'll be editing this post with some tips in a few...

    This is a big jump for our build. I highly recommend reading philz main thread, at least the first 5 posts. The 5th post has the changelogs for all of version 6.

    I purchased Mobile Odin Pro a while back to support Chainfire. I also purchased SuperSU Pro for the same reason. He's probably the most deserving developer out there of my small investment.

    We stear clear of Odin, when possible, as it's capable of replacing our bootloader and/or adding the knox bootloader. If you're familiar with knox however Mobile Odin is a huge time saver and potentially a lifesaver, along with being convenient.

    I simply downloaded the tar.md5 and flashed the new recovery with Mobile Odin. Hit flash partition and the phone simply rebooted into the new recovery... So fast and easy I had to go to philz "about" to be sure anything happened. A lot of the advanced features of philz, i.e., working with partitions individually replace the need for mobile Odin but it remains a good learning tool and it can still do some things that a recovery can't... I think...
     
    struckn likes this.
  19. Warrior94

    Warrior94 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013

    Apr 6, 2013
    58
    10
    18
    Male
    college student atm
    Big Rapids, Michigan
    Ok so i installed this new nightlies Carbon and it seems to be working much better than the previous carbon i tried out. Although i still have the issue with the phone locking up and turning green when trying to watch any type of video (this is a common issue I've had with both iterations of carbon and many cm 11 revisions)

    I guess i'll have to update philz recovery here soon too
     
  20. evo5droid

    evo5droid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013

    Oct 31, 2013
    23
    6
    16
    Couple of problems after install of the debloated rom.

    No data conection.
    Cammera crashed.
    Settings option from button push fails, guess that's why it's an app icon.

    GS3 D7(?pre G2)
    NoKnox
    Phylz 6.0.4.5

    Running JD's MK5 stock ROM no problem. Xposed wanam mods, flashlight doesn't work otherwise it's all good. Was hoping for better battery life.
     
  21. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    If you have the MD7 bootloader, the MG2 one should work better. You should be able to safely Odin the MG2 stock tar file, but will then need to reinstall Philz Touch and then re-root with the SuperSU zip file. Make sure to not accept any update that pops up once you boot into the stock ROM if you choose this route, as the "update" will be for the Knox MK5 bootloader. Then, make a Nandroid backup, clean wipe to install (2x), flash ROM, flash APN fix of choice, flash correct GApps, and boot back into system. Should work fine in general, I don't upload modified ROM's unless I have flashed them first. Been running that specific one since it first came out yesterday morning and it has been phenomenal for me personally.
     
  22. evo5droid

    evo5droid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013

    Oct 31, 2013
    23
    6
    16
    I missed that APN flash. That has something to do with data I'm guessing.

    Thnx Strukn you are big help on these forums.
     
  23. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    No problem, and thank you for the compliment! APN fix is a must on any ROM we use if the ROM was designed for Sprint. Credit on that goes to @MopedRyder, here is the thread if you haven't seen it already:

    http://androidforums.com/virgin-mobile-galaxy-s3-all-things-root/771802-mod-sprint-virgin-mobile-lte-mms-fix-wip-cm-aosp-tw-update-2014-1-18-a.html

    On the plus side, at least for me on KitKat builds, the APN fix now sticks through subsequent dirty flashes, on 4.3.x I had to reflash every time. Still needs to be flashed when changing to a new ROM, but essentially one and done until you decide to change again.
     
    evo5droid likes this.
  24. evo5droid

    evo5droid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013

    Oct 31, 2013
    23
    6
    16
    Trying to download the APN#3 right now, media-fire is hanging. Then I'll be off line while flashing. Sticking with D7 boot loader for now.

    Thnx struckn.

    Ps got the file. I'll be bak later. 15 or 20 min.
     
  25. evo5droid

    evo5droid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013

    Oct 31, 2013
    23
    6
    16
    It WORKS.

    Man, restoring AOSP? is a lot faster than the stok bloatware rom. (Damn d&c keys)

    I have data, so that's good. Mostly I just usb "Easy Tethering" to a Ubuntu desktop.

    Thanks guys!
     

Share This Page

Loading...