1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Official LiquidSmooth Nightlies!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by struckn, Mar 11, 2014.

  1. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    All right people, looks like we need a thread for the awesome LiquidSmooth ROM (KitKat version)! I have been running this ROM quite heavily the last week and a half, due in part to the issues that Carbon was having getting proper builds up and running. Let me tell you, LiquidSmooth is absolutely amazing! One of my favorite things about this ROM is that they have merged quite a few features from various Xposed modules. My current thinking is that my phone runs better when I have to rely on native ROM settings to tweak and customize, and involve third-party solutions as infrequently as possible. Nothing against Xposed, I think it is pretty brilliant, but having these features built into the ROM is a definite plus. This has enabled me to switch to ART as the default runtime, and I do believe that it has helped my battery life even more than the usual tweaks I apply (dkp kernel for the win, although the latest nightly of Liquid uses LeanKernel by default, which is cool); plus, apps do seem to respond that much more quickly. Check it out for yourself, you won't be disappointed. As an added bonus for those of us on VM, I believe that Liquid was the first ROM to embrace the changes brought about by CyanogenMod that incorporated our device (d2vmu) into the current assert lines for the d2lte builds.

    Relevant links:

    Download nightlies here: LiquidSmooth Download Page

    GitHub Commits for LS (in lieu of an actual changelog): LiquidSmooth GitHub

    Google+ Page: LiquidSmooth G+ Community

    XDA Thread: LiquidSmooth XDA Thread

    PS: When installing this (or any other d2lte ROM) for the first time, or if doing a clean install coming from a previous nightly, SKIP THE INITIAL DATA ACTIVATION. It doesn't apply to users on VM/Boost, and just causes issues and confusion if you let it run its course. We achieve data via an APN fix, since we are still somewhat bastard children due to not being on one of the big carriers. However, ironically enough, a lot of users on those carriers have experienced a taste of what we have been dealing with since day one, due to the unified builds messing with their APN's and data. It is some consolation that we were able to run builds that baffled those users, due to having always had an APN solution available!
     

    Advertisement

    bob-st, froyo2557, notebooko and 11 others like this.
  2. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
  3. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Two of the features that are nice about LS, besides the inclusion of many tweaks which previously needed Xposed Framework, are the AOSB Recents Switcher and OmniSwitch. These are both similar in function, yet different enough that I use both of them. The Slim Recents is also nice, but the latest version of the AOSB Recents is just that much better (you can switch between the two in the Settings menu). And, since OmniSwitch is an apk that can be extracted from the ROM zip file, you can use it in other ROM's that haven't incorporated it (I use it on Carbon as well, just drag and drop the file into the /system/app or /system/priv-app folder in the ROM zip, either file location is fine). Screenshots of each:

    AOSB Recents

    [​IMG]

    OmniSwitch

    [​IMG]

    OmniSwitch activates from a predetermined trigger spot on either the left or right edge of the screen, and you can pin favorite apps to it to increase the functionality. AOSB Recents (or Slim Recents if you choose that option) activates the way the normal Recent Apps option does in other ROM's. These are just two of the many customization options available; the animation tweaks alone are worth the price of admission!
     
    joey92 and wyelkins like this.
  4. pOsSuM72

    pOsSuM72 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    551
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012

    Jun 29, 2012
    551
    142
    113
    Male
    Shop Foreman
    USA Indiana
    Very nice just flashed and all apps restored.Thank you for sharing.
     
  5. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    With the new "lte" builds Im finding the build.prop doesnt have any carrier settings. It cant because its one ROM for all. On d2spr builds, and what my fix changes, the settings should be:

    Thing is - since there are no settings to edit, my fix probably will not adapt the build.prop correctly. We may have to rectify this. Id like to see some input from folks who flash the "lte" builds and how they are doing. LTE and MMS still work and such.
     
  6. kwknott

    kwknott Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,519
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012

    Mar 19, 2012
    1,519
    729
    253
    I flashed the LS 3/10 build with your apn fix and everything seems to work... LTE and MMS included
     
  7. RoWilJr

    RoWilJr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    123
    39
    63
    Male
    Here nor There
    @struckn...great thread bro! Not on VM (d2cri/Cricket) being that it's a d2lte "unified",build I'd subscribe✌
     
    struckn likes this.
  8. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Thanks for sharing 3/10 bro. I tried to get it earlier but the DL was painfully slow so I opted out after about 20 minutes.
     
    struckn and wyelkins like this.
  9. myalias

    myalias Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013

    Jan 21, 2013
    96
    13
    18
    SoCal
    BTW y'all when I tried to switch to ART I kept getting force closes in my settings apparently what fixed it was a dalv cache wipe
     
  10. Warrior94

    Warrior94 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013

    Apr 6, 2013
    58
    10
    18
    Male
    college student atm
    Big Rapids, Michigan
    I'm still on 03/03 LS d2lte, and everything is working mms, text calling etc.

    My question is, the built in LS updater keeps reminding me to update, can i trust that or no?
     
  11. myalias

    myalias Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013

    Jan 21, 2013
    96
    13
    18
    SoCal
    I'm on the 3/10 and my 3g is not working Yuckz!!! :c
     
  12. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Clean flash or dirty, and did you use an APN fix? I did a clean install of 3/7 on that date and have been dirty flashing the nightlies since with no problems whatsoever.
     
  13. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    Just flashed the ROM and my calling doesn't seem to be working. I flashed MopedRyders APN fix over your modified build. I also keep getting the error 'Unfortunately com.android.phone has stopped' I'm not sure if those are the exact words but it was something along those lines.
     
  14. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Try downloading the build from 3/7 and doing a clean install to see if things are working. Also, what is your recovery? If the answer isn't "Philz Touch," that is a problem as well. If you are running Philz, and 3/7 flashes and runs OK, then a dirty flash is fine for 3/10. Also, LeanKernel is the default on 3/10, and it doesn't always play nice; dkp has worked great for me on every build so far.
     
  15. myalias

    myalias Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013

    Jan 21, 2013
    96
    13
    18
    SoCal
    I did a clean flash with no APN I'll do that right now
     
  16. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    The unified builds have worked great for me when using APN fix #3, without it I get no data connection. The only time the unified builds have been an issue is when they are just effed in general, like the recent Carbon builds, which has nothing to do with the APN fix. From what I have noticed on XDA, your APN fix has allowed Virgin Mobile users to successfully run builds that have caused issues for the Sprint users, because their APNs had gone wonky thanks to changes implemented by CyanogenMod team.
     
  17. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I can almost guarantee that your problem is related to not flashing an APN fix. Fix #3 is working great for me.
     
  18. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Updater wasn't functioning 100% on that build, so it may try to "update" to an older version. It is working correctly on any build from 3/6 or later is my understanding. I used it to get 3/10 while the main server was having issues, just took a while to download.
     
  19. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    Hmm.. still can't get voice working after changing recovery to Philz Touch. I looked at my phone status and it said PRL version is '0'. Never saw that before.. Weird thing is LTE is working fine..
     
  20. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Your modified version of the 3/10 build is running great for me bro. Of course you know that I don't have 4G in my area but 3G work perfectly. I was on my home wifi network up until the post I read in here where a member didn't have 3G either. I went ahead and turned wifi off at that time to verify my 3G was working. It is.. Seems a little slow but it is indeed working.

    So far I haven't found anything wrong with this build except the option to choose custom icons on the lockscreen isn't working. This is not a new issue and definitely nothing major.

    Thanks again for sharing your build with both VM and the Boost community bro.
     
    struckn likes this.
  21. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    I've had the PRL of zero before too, but it never seemed to affect anything as far as I can tell. I would suggest flashing a TW ROM, performing a PRL/Profile update, and then flashing back to LS. Also, try a different modem. MK5 (VM and Boost) or MK3 (Sprint) are the latest and tend to work the best.
     
    notebooko likes this.
  22. myalias

    myalias Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013

    Jan 21, 2013
    96
    13
    18
    SoCal
    I couldn't find the hold back button to kill app in the developer options any idea?
     
  23. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Settings/Navigation/Hardware Buttons, then assign that action to whichever key you desire.
     
  24. XAL2

    XAL2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    454
    29
    43
    Male
    Stagehand
    Niles, Illinois
    So the updater can be used to update to a newer version without any problems? We can just download and flash? Does this also have screenrecording?
     
  25. Micaallin

    Micaallin Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    8
    11
    8
    Screen recorder works with Power + Volume up. There's currently no available Quick Settings tile for it. I was only able to get video working (no audio), but I haven't tinkered around with it much.
    Screen recording basic settings are available under Settings-->Display-->Screen recorder.

    I've downloaded LS updates directly via the LS OTA, but I haven't let the OTA do the install (I'm vaguely wary of its wipe options/capabilities), so I can't speak to the full process of letting the OTA-Updater do everything.
    Instead, I've navigated to the OTA-Updater folder via my Recovery and flashed from there.
    Or, I've transferred the new file to my self-created SD card active ROM file folder (via ES File Explorer) and flashed from there via Recovery, after wiping Cache & Dalvik, then flashing the ROM, then Kernel (optional step, but I like flashing DKP), then APN Fix*.
    After all's said and done, I wiipe cache and Dalvik again, then reboot. Then soar to new heights of nightlies.

    *APN Fix #3 still appears to work for me (or, more pointedly, leave things (MMS, SMS) working for me), but there seems to be an open question about whether the APN fixes are still needed and/or still effective for VM folks, given some of the unified ROM build changes.
     
    XAL2 and struckn like this.

Share This Page

Loading...