1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] [OUTDATED][GUIDE][MD7][MG2] Rooting & Recovery for Galaxy S3(VM)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Austrie, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. 3nzofantasy

    3nzofantasy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    17
    3
    16
    Lol I just saw the apns but I don't think that's the problem .. I just need the original kernel :/
     

    Advertisement

  2. FatalIll

    FatalIll Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    162
    9
    36
    Male
    I haven't gotten my S3 yet, I won't get it until at least the first week of July, but I have a question anyway...

    Would it be possible to flash 4EXT recovery instead of CWM? Or to replace CWM with 4EXT after all said-and-done?
     
  3. Gdibig

    Gdibig Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    51
    5
    16
    Just to save people some time searching:

    How to enter download mode on Galaxy S3:
    Boot up by holding the power button, home button and volume down key. Now you will see download mode and you will be asked if you want to cancel or continue. Press volume up to continue or volume down to cancel and reboot.

    How to enter recovery mode:
    Boot while holding the volume up, home button and power button simultaneously.
     
  4. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Linux and Mac OSX guide up.
     
    TheBritton likes this.
  5. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Yes you would be able too, I'm not sure if 4ext is released yet for Samsung galaxy s3 but if it is make sure its the US version and not the European version. You can also get cwm touch version, if you really want a touch based recovery.
     
  6. kataklyist

    kataklyist Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    How would you undergo an unroot for the s3? I got mine before the official release at radioshack for $300.
     
  7. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Currently, to unroot you would lose 3g/4g and mms (fixable) till you flash a ROM or restore a backup from before trying to unroot.
     
  8. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Is the recovery and kernel intertwined on this phone like on the S2? Meaning if I flash a repack kernel will it also flash a new recovery? Or can a kernel and/or recovery be flashed independent of each other?
     
  9. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Their independent, though some kernels will try to reinstall stock recovery(If the code is still in the kernel).
     
    papa b and TheBritton like this.
  10. JonathanWhitey

    JonathanWhitey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    290
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013

    Jun 9, 2013
    290
    27
    43
    Just wondering if custom roms from other carriers work?
     
  11. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Probably will work with a mms and visual voicemail fix.
     
  12. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    (ONLY SPRINT)
    It would but 3g/4g don't work, and MMS also don't work; though it has a fix for MMS. The thing about 3g/4g is that VM made a lot of changes from it's original form as a sprint gs3, making the sprint ROMs not have 3g/4g unless the changes are made to the sprint ROM.
     
    papa b likes this.
  13. FatalIll

    FatalIll Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    162
    9
    36
    Male
    I thought only MMS would be affected like on the Evo V... This is kind of disheartening to me.
     
  14. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    It will be fixed soon. Remember, the evo v couldn't even flash evo 3d AOSP ROMs, only sense, till Leslie Ann found a solution/method. Plus the evo v had MMS, AND, VVM problems till they got fixed. Everything will be solved in time when development starts speeding up.
     
  15. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    I am noticing numerous people in the all things root threads trying out other ROMs for this phone and not backing up the stock firmware and now they are stuck without a way to return to stock.

    This is a public service announcement: As soon as you root, MAKE A BACKUP WITH CLOCKWORK MOD RECOVERY :D
     
    upconvert and papa b like this.
  16. 6burgh

    6burgh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012

    Apr 2, 2012
    44
    11
    18
    Male
    C-burg, PA
    I backed up but even so after trying to restore it didn't want to restore right it kept freezing when entering my gmail info. It took me 3 tries the other night to get the stock rom loaded. lol Once loaded it has been fine.

    I spent yesterday repartitioning and rebuilding my laptop to give me more room to load software to try and learn this stuff.
     
  17. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Yeah custom recoveries do not back up the modem so if you flash a Sprint modem you'll need to wait until someone makes a flashable stock rom that includes the modem or just the modem itself to restore. It's best to wait until there is an actual flashable stock rom before trying out any of the Sprint roms just to be safe :)
     
    papa b likes this.
  18. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Heck yes! Good luck man :D
     
  19. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    I'm going to try to help with development later tonight when I get the chance, get the ball rolling for this phone.
     
  20. 6burgh

    6burgh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012

    Apr 2, 2012
    44
    11
    18
    Male
    C-burg, PA
    What do you use? I got android kitchen set up Wednesday night but had no space left on my drive to do anything.:rolleyes:
     
  21. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    I used android kitchen when I was just learning to develop on the Motorola Triumph, it helped a bit with learning. But in general for stock ROMs and porting, I would use 7-zip, apktool, and notepad++ on Windows OS, then for building kernels or AOSP ROMs I would use Ubuntu(Linux OS); and adb logcat to help solve any errors.
     
  22. spacepanda

    spacepanda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013

    Jun 11, 2013
    96
    14
    18
    California
    So... Guys I haven't paid my cellphone bill (4 days ago texting/calling shut off) but I have full 4g access.... Any ideas why? Never happened on my Optimus. Just thought yall would be interested, I am rooted :)

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  23. wanfaltm

    wanfaltm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    50
    8
    16
    Rooted my brothers new GS3 on my iMac through the terminal process. Everything when fine with the phone until after it restarted, i downloaded rom manager and it couldn't detect that it was rooted. So I opened the superuser app and it said I had to install an update, when I clicked the install button I got: There was an error installing Superuser. Please send a log of the error to the developer.

    Going to do some tinkering and see if i screwed something up. But if not, then I guess Ill just have to do the 30 step process on a windows machine. -_-

    Edit: Just re-ran the terminal exploit and where the first time it said "-failure" it now said "+success" ... so maybe it has to be ran twice? I dont really know, but everything seems to be working now.
     
  24. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    I'm still skimming the knowledgebase of S3 rooting...so these questions may seem obvious to some.

    1. Is this basically the same thing as rooting a Sprint S3? I'm not referring to ROMs with carrier specific files...just the root procedure itself. The video you linked to is the one I've already watched...so I assume that you're linking to the most recent files that are pertinent.

    2. Is there such a thing as S-OFF for the Galaxy S3?
     
  25. Austrie

    Austrie Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    1,325
    898
    213
    Male
    St.Thomas, US Virgin Islands
    Yes this is normal method for root, there is no s-off on Samsung. Just root or get cwm and your good to go, easier than HTC.
     

Share This Page

Loading...