1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Problems fix so u can flash on twrp

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mobclan, Jan 1, 2014.

  1. mobclan

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013

    Oct 15, 2013
    356
    49
    63
    Male
    assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "thunderc" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "thunderc"

    You do this with 7-Zip/WinRAR

    Note: DO NOT EXTRACT ROM!
    In the ROM go to:

    /META-INF/com/google/android/updater-script

    1)Open updater-script with a script editor such as notepad/notepad++ (makes things 10x easier), or gedit if you use linux

    2)Delete the first line of code (all the way up to the first semicolon you see) and delete the first semi-colon as well

    Do not go past the first semiclon when deleteing and DO NOT forget to delete the first semicolon.

    Cheers!
     

    Advertisement

  2. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    Thanks, but there IS a sticky for this. :)
     
  3. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Sorry for not understanding, but why on Earth would you want to purposely remove the safety check of the device assert check?

    It is expressly placed there to keep one from flashing something on the wrong device.

    :thinking: :thinking: :thinking:
     
    D-U-R-X likes this.
  4. tavisc

    tavisc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    97
    19
    18

    Our devices are the same exact ones as Sprints SG3's. Any Sprint rom will work on our phones, provided assert lines are removed.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Would it not be better to change the "thunderc" reference in the

    to your specific device's name (i.e., whatever is reported by your getprop ro.product.device)?

    That way, you keep the safety of the assert (it should certainly work if you change it to check the proper/expected value).
     
  6. tavisc

    tavisc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    97
    19
    18
    You certainly could do that, but either way, you're removing the safety check that the assert line provides. Functionally there's no difference between removing the asserts entirely, or adding in your own devices name.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Well, I'm guessing that the assert line that the OP mentioned that the ro.product.device (of "thunderc") is not what you guys have?

    Changing it to be your specific, proper device would be harmless and in fact, the assert command would evaluate to "true" and the updater-script would continue on as desired.

    I'm just not a fan of a casual user finding a flashable .zip file and removing the assert without really understanding that it's there to protect them from flashing something potentially harmful (i.e., files on/for the wrong device).

    Thanks!
     
  8. xstefen

    xstefen Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    981
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012

    Dec 10, 2012
    981
    207
    93
    Male
    EUC Specialist @ Fidelity Investments
    Under your bed
    i wouldnt recommend thunderc anyways, d2spr can be changed to d2vmu, and the L710VPUBMK5 firmware can be added to the list, but thunderc? My rom in the works will have assert checks to allow sprint and virgin mobile d2 tho it will only have VM APNs for the time being
     
    scary alien likes this.
  9. tavisc

    tavisc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012

    Aug 29, 2012
    97
    19
    18
    What's the difference between adding your device to an assert, or removing the assert completely? Either way you risk flashing something that's not made for your device.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  10. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #10
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,319
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,319
    23,814
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    I suppose the only risk / downside would be sharing that modded .zip with someone else that does not do the due-diligence of checking that it's a proper flashable for their device.

    I get what you're saying, just wanted to express care and caution regarding this.

    :)
     
  11. mobclan

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    356
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013

    Oct 15, 2013
    356
    49
    63
    Male
    I got a problem I try to flash the liquid smooth can someone fix it
     

Share This Page

Loading...