1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] [ROM][NDC][STOCK][4.4.2][KITKAT][ROOTED][ODEXED/DEODEXED]- Virgin Mobile/Boost Mobile

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jdsingle76, Jun 7, 2014.

  1. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    [ROM][NDC][STOCK][4.4.2][KITKAT][ROOTED][ODEXED/DEODEXED]- Virgin Mobile/Boost Mobile Alright folks, here we go again. Just as the title says, this is the NDC 4.4.2 Kit Kat update for Boost/VM in flashable zip.
    Stock, rooted, busybox, zipaligned, odex or deodex. That
     

    Advertisement

  2. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Nice!! Thanks!

    Oh and.. FIRST! ;)
     
    jdsingle76 likes this.
  3. Darien153

    Darien153 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    360
    31
    43
    Male
     
  4. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Should be fine. I tell folks to flash the tar first in order to get the KK bootloader and modem, but since you already have ND8 modem, then you also have the bootloader, so you should be fine flashing this on top of that. However, there is also an odex/deodex build for ND8 as well, if that's more your flavor
     
  5. Darien153

    Darien153 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    360
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012

    Aug 1, 2012
    360
    31
    43
    Male
    Thanks! Happy they got this working... I didn't like flashing through tar because it wiped absolutely everything in my internal SD .. Lol although I know I need to clean it. I wasn't expecting it would be then
     
  6. mudflap2020

    mudflap2020 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013

    Jul 20, 2013
    295
    12
    38
    Male
    can I flash the ndc tar, if I have the nd8 firmware(bootloader, modem,?) just really want the stock vm kk ndc bootloader!
     
  7. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Flashing the NDC tar doesn't wipe your internal card. Just fyi
     
  8. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Yes, I put that out a couple days ago. Just flash right over it.
     
  9. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    To give an FYI on what I did or how I had stuff:

    I never Knox'd via MK5. I was running MOAR v9 (MK3) without knox. I never updated via OTA or any other way to MK5 (I was MG2)

    I flashed via odin the tar. It kept all my settings from MOAR. I basically upgraded MOAR to stock'ish VM. I had to later reflash PHILZ and redo root.

    Just want to tell folks it worked for me and under what conditions


    I highly suggest you VERIFY the MD5 of the .tar BEFORE flashing. I had a bad download the first time and was lucky I checked the md5 and re-downloaded it.
     
    upconvert and jdsingle76 like this.
  10. moonknightus

    moonknightus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    647
    551
    163
    Internet Claims Service Representative
    Buffalo, NY
    Yes. :)

    Odin verifies the MD5 against what's stored in the tar.md5 file before flashing. If it's a bad file, it should (normally) spit out an error and refuse to flash. But it's still a good idea to check the MD5 of any file you flash to your phone, particularly ZIP files that you are flashing via recovery.
     
    MopedRyder and jdsingle76 like this.
  11. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    119
    7
    56
    can i do this without odin? the charger port is broken on my phone :(
     
  12. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    You can TRY to flash the stock tar through mobile Odin, but I wouldn't recommend it. And you have to be on KK boot loader to flash these zips and get them to work. Sorry
     
    kellysa111 likes this.
  13. upconvert

    upconvert Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013

    Sep 11, 2013
    231
    89
    73
    Are you sure it's the port and not the cord or USB port you're plugging into?
     
  14. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    119
    7
    56
    Very sure. I have tried my charging cable, my brother's, and the one for my galaxy tab. My pc is brand new, so the ports work. I have to jiggle the cord for it to recognize that there's aomething plugged in. I have a spare battery so I'm switching back and forth when I need to.
     
  15. mudflap2020

    mudflap2020 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    295
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013

    Jul 20, 2013
    295
    12
    38
    Male
    ive been looking all over for the tar version, cant find it for the life of me
     
  16. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Hmmm...If you click on the link in the OP, it takes you to the ROM op, it's the very first link under downloads.....
     

    Attached Files:

    mudflap2020 likes this.
  17. AwakenedWithin

    Rank:
     #377
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    73
    14
    28
    Male
    Alright, I'm going to cave in and go with this update. Before I do that, I'm on 4.1.2 with MK5 modem. What I want to know is when I update with that .tar you have on your xda thread, do I have to flash the modem after flashing the tar with Odin? I know it's for your ROMs and for now, I just want to test the device before trying Deodexed.

    Edit: Oops, I forgot to mention I'm on stock with philz recovery.
     
  18. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Flashing the tar will also flash the modem, do no, no need to flash it when you flash the tar. The odex/deodex MAY kill your modem when you flash that, which is why the modem is on that OP
     
    AwakenedWithin likes this.
  19. AwakenedWithin

    Rank:
     #377
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    73
    14
    28
    Male
    I gave in and installed Deodexed, will report if there's any issue. Thanks!
     
  20. thompsonjdt

    thompsonjdt Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013

    Aug 14, 2013
    33
    5
    16
    Only issue I have encountered is no notification sounds from hangouts or samsung messaging app. I can get the samsung msg app to vibrate, but nothing more. Not even notifications in the dropdown/pulldown menu. I'm using the odexed version.

    Also, the home button doesn't work...at all. :(
     
  21. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Wow....I experienced none of that. Too weird. Glad you got odex working for you. Thanks for the feedback
     
  22. AwakenedWithin

    Rank:
     #377
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011

    Oct 31, 2011
    73
    14
    28
    Male
    Deodexed with Xposed Installer and Wanam Xposed installed, I'm good. No issues encountered, thank you once again for the hard work!
     
    jdsingle76 likes this.
  23. XAL2

    XAL2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    454
    29
    43
    Male
    Stagehand
    Niles, Illinois
    Please help. I've flashed the tar and then the deodexed rom and then the modem but I have absolutely no service. I've already tried flashing the modem again. Need help!!
     
  24. codmerc

    codmerc Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012

    Jun 12, 2012
    87
    21
    18
    I had the same problem. I wiped everything and flashed the singularity rom and everything started working.
     
  25. jdsingle76

    jdsingle76 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    158
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012

    Dec 19, 2012
    483
    544
    158
    Male
    USMC
    TN
    Did you get it figured out? What recovery are you using? Try downloading the modem again and flashing it again. May need to flash everything again. Let me know
     

Share This Page

Loading...