1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] rooting help cant get s3 to boot into recovery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tigerstv44, Dec 7, 2013.

  1. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    Fresh newb here, so go easy on me. Coming from the HTC EVO V 4G. I have upgraded to Jellybean 4.3 before began this process of rooting.


    I followed the rooting steps with my brand new Samsung Galaxy S3, and got to Odin step and showed "Pass" on Oden program. Pulled the battery and have tried over dozen times with "Volume up, home button, and power button" combo. But wont got into recovery for that step. All buttons work properly, when phone is in normal stock mode.

    Is there way to boot into recovery, like with adb software that used with my HTC evo V to boot into 4ext. Like did with that phone of "adb reboot recovery or bootloader". Using that phone had to turn off fastboot, in order to get button combo to work. Anything similar with the SG3.

    Thanks for any help, advice or tips
     

    Advertisement

  2. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    adb is universal so adb reboot recovery should work for you if you have the sdk and drivers for the s3 installed.
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  3. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Which recovery did you push with Odin? The root guide on here is unfortunately a bit outdated, try TWRP 2.6.3.0 or Philz Touch 6.0.0.8, there are .tar files available for both.
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  4. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    It was CWM recovery that pushed with Oden 3.04. Thanks will look for those other recovery's.
     
  5. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    So two things, you will want Odin 3.07, and definitely NOT CWM recovery; nothing against Koush, he is a genius, but CWM is not a good fit for our phones. TWRP or Philz Touch are both amazing, I am a recent convert from TWRP to Philz Touch.
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  6. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    Now far as putting onto my sd card to flash, which do I choose from. The .zip failed for me, never got chance to read error message. Just really fast saw failed in red and the phone rebooted back up. xda post has link for http://d-h.st/users/philz_touch/?fld_id=25216#files. But there's a .zip and .tar files to choose from. Help!!!
     
  7. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    the zip should work from a working recovery but if it didnt try the tar from odin
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  8. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    just used adb and reboot into the phones stock recovery. So is it the same procedure in odin, the pda button, auto reboot off and choose the tar file and start??
     
  9. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    yep that should work
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  10. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    Sure this is noob learning curve issue, but cant seem to get to work either way. Maybe missing a step or not doing something right.

    It says pass on Oden 3.07, but then reboot into recovery and boots into this screen with android and red triangle sign. Gives me few options of apply updates from adb, external card, and wipe cache, data. If try to flash from external it just fails and reboots phone.
     
  11. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    hmm weird its like it is not writing the recovery. you are in odin download mode when doing this correct? (volume down - home - power)
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  12. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    Yes, was in download mode and it says pass and has succeed=1 and fail=0

    Okay, if you can or have time. Walk me thru from the oden "pass" and says to reboot into recovery is next step. But again get the stock recovery error page.
     
  13. dizzzydaniel

    dizzzydaniel Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012

    Sep 10, 2012
    33
    18
    18
    west va
    ok once odin says "pass" disconnect the usb cable from the phone and pull your battery, then put the battery back in and power up into recovery (volume up + home + power) thats always worked for me.
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  14. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    I can boot up both download and stock recovery using the adb tools software, but when try the three buttons....volume up/down, home and power. Just boots up the phone, was able to get download option one time. But never recovery holding three buttons down.

    I'll keep trying, gonna put aside till tomorrow. Starting to get mad at the phone and cost too much dough, to throw against the wall...:)
     
  15. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    The three buttons method is a timing issue, don't release them when the phone vibrates, you need to wait about a second or two after that when the tiny script appears in the upper left corner of the screen, otherwise it will just boot back to your current ROM. Try unchecking the "auto reboot" option in Odin as well when you push a .tar file for a new recovery. I suspect, however, that your main issue is actually getting the timing down on how long to hold the buttons.

    Any questions feel free to PM me, it looks like dizzzy is also giving you really good advice, can't speak for him but he would probably help you via PM as well.
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  16. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    So for learning noob purposes...am I getting the stock recovery of the rom, with the adb sdk tools software and not the custom recovery that flashed with Odin 3.07. I am confused why using adb way, doesn't get me the custom recovery that did with odin, or am I misunderstanding what's being done.
     
  17. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    update: ya got it to boot into recovery with your tip, but still fails to install recovery file from external "sd" card and reboots phone without giving me any options. Just fail in red and reboots
     
  18. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    I got twrp 2.6.3 to work from the flash, but now says I have no os installed and warns me not to reboot my phone. Help, now what
     
  19. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Did you wipe system while in recovery? That would erase your current OS. Also, you said your phone is brand new, did it ship with 4.3 installed and the Knox bootloader, or did you accept the update if that message popped up on initial boot when you first got the phone?
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  20. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    I installed the 4.3 jellybean first, before did all this rooting process. The radio shack honey did the activation and all the prl, profiles and yes 4.3 jellybean updates for me. I did no wipes and just got into twrp and wanted to reboot to look for superuser icon in my apps.

    I won't ask why, but even though said that, it rebooted up into the stock. But did the root checker thing in play store and says no deal on rooted.
     
  21. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    Do me a favor and boot into download mode (volume down, home key, and power button at same time) and tell me if there are a couple of lines at the bottom of the script which refer to Knox and its status of 0x0 or 0x1; if the lines aren't there then you are Knox-free and have a lot of options. However, I suspect that if Radio Shack got your phone loaded up before you went home, then you probably have the Knox bootloader. This is actually very important to know before you do much else with your phone. I also just posted detailed rooting instructions in the stickied root thread, link here: http://androidforums.com/virgin-mobile-galaxy-s3-all-things-root/729490-guide-rooting-recovery-galaxy-s3-vm-5.html, post #232. Philz Touch may be a better option, it is currently my recommendation. Also, download my personal, modified copy of CM 11 found here http://androidforums.com/virgin-mobile-galaxy-s3-all-things-root/802604-cyanogenmod-10-2-stable-release-official-cm-11-upcoming.html, post #9, and place it on your SD card so that you have something to flash in case your recovery thinks you have no OS in place.
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  22. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    says following: ODIN MODE
    product name= SPH-L710
    custom binary download= yes 5 counts
    current binary= custom
    system status=custom
    qualcom secure boot=enable
    warranty bit=1
    bootloader app survey=1

    Besides the Android DOWNLOADING...DO NOT TURN OFF TARGET, No other scripts or language. Don't see any reference to knox.
     
    struckn likes this.
  23. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    update: I went to your posting #232 and downloaded the philz touch and super user from the links. It installed both fine, when opened the super user it brought up warning the "Samsung Knox" was running and super user disabled it. The root checker from the app store shows me as rooted now :))))

    philz touch didn't show any missing os, as twrp did. So not sure why did that. I'm almost nervous to wipe my cache and system now.
     
    struckn likes this.
  24. struckn

    struckn Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,621
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    1,621
    975
    213
    Male
    Colorado
    So good news and semi-bad news. The last two lines on your download screen refer to having Knox installed, I now know the wording thanks to you(!) because I don't have Knox and cannot check that on my phone. Warranty bit 1 means the flag is tripped, as confirmed by the SuperSU message you received. That is the semi-bad news, and here is why. DO NOT, under any circumstances, push a .tar stock file via Odin that restores a previous bootloader (MD7 or MG2) or your phone is toast, permanently. Some clarification, a .tar via Odin is completely different than a .zip via recovery. Also, a bootloader is not a modem, even though we refer to them by the same designation (MG2, current one is MK5, etc.). The good news, then, is flash whatever ROM you want in recovery. Make a backup first of your current OS (always always always when doing something significant), and then full wipe to install new ROM is the way the option is worded in Philz, then install new ROM zip, GApps, and MopedRyder's APN fix and you will be golden! The CM 11 I uploaded would actually be a good starting point, or the Knox-free stock version from jdsingle76 (in your case, Knox bootloader is never going away, but the apps won't interfere either on this one). Check my tutorial for further assistance, and don't hesitate to post for further clarification or PM me. Good luck and happy flashing!

    Edit: You can flash any modem you want (remember, the key is flash, from recovery, and also that modem does not mean boot loader) if you so desire. I am actually using the MK5 modem myself right now with good results.

    P.S. I am super excited that it seems you have conquered your hurdles and are really close to enjoying all this awesome phone has to offer!
     
    tigerstv44 likes this.
  25. tigerstv44

    tigerstv44 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012

    Oct 5, 2012
    187
    13
    38
    Male
    Couch Potato
    WASHINGTON STATE
    First am curious, is there any way to correct this knox issue. Other words correct this flag being tripped. When the superuser started up the first time it disabled the knox for me, after clicking ok. Don't want to ruin my phone. Should I avoid using Odin from here forward, since have the Philz installed now??

    Secondly am coming from the Evo V and flashed all roms from Pac-Man and Dirty Unicorns were liked most. My favorite rom was the MIUI, just so many ways to change the look. Yes, is kind of a I-phone clone. Only thing wish could correct, was everything is in Chinese, so cant tell what kind of sound file for example without downloading. My issue was the MMS and Camcorder never would work. Tried flashing all kinds of fixes and never could get to work. One day could send pic to my daughter and next would get failed to send. Have you heard of a working MIUI for SG3??? The Cyanogen are great roms, don't get me wrong.
     

Share This Page

Loading...