1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile/Sprint] Android Update

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mijenix, Dec 21, 2013.

  1. mijenix

    mijenix Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013

    Dec 17, 2013
    7
    0
    5
    My phone rebooted itself tonight, and while rebooting, a window opened that said

    Android Updating
    Starting Apps

    Not sure what kind of update, as I am still on 4.1.2.

    Anyone know what was updated?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Exbruce

    Exbruce Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012

    Dec 22, 2012
    78
    2
    16
    What carrier?
     
  3. mijenix

    mijenix Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013

    Dec 17, 2013
    7
    0
    5
    Virgin Mobile
     
  4. jamstewonline

    jamstewonline Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013

    Jul 28, 2013
    178
    42
    63
    Male
    Texas
    Mine did that a couple of weeks ago. I think it is so that they can start tracking the 4g lte data starting 1/31/14. It is not being tracked right now but will be end of jan. You will probably get a text soon telling you about the throttle amt.
     
  5. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Lol, that's normal it has nothing to do with any data tracking. It means whatever app was installed to system doesn't have an odex file so it has to be reloaded every reboot. In my case, I installed a Modded YouTube to the system, and removed the odex file for it to work.

    It is nothing to worry about at all. It isn't an update. It's rebuilding the application database basically.
     
    mijenix likes this.
  6. jamstewonline

    jamstewonline Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013

    Jul 28, 2013
    178
    42
    63
    Male
    Texas
    OH OK maybe not an update for him but mine was an update from virgin mobile. It was a system update. May have just been a coincidence that i received a text shortly after saying that the will now be tracking my 4g lte usage starting 1/31/14. Which kinda sucks loved having unlimited 4g but hey they need to keep their expenses down or charge us more.
     
  7. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    There hasn't been an update for the Virgin Mobile F3 yet, because Vm sucks and doesn't ever update anything. Lol
     
  8. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Like I explained when it says Android is upgrading it really isn't. That's just what it shows if you either clear the Dalvik or have a missing odex file so it is reloading the app that's missing the odex file. Hence why some phone roms take so long to boot and why the first boot for any rom takes forever. Because it has to rebuild or reload all the applications. My phone does the Android upgrading thing every time I reboot. If you had a real update it would never ever install without your permission, and it would prompt you through a notification to update. That's it. The most it'd do is download it. But never install it til you tell it too.

    I guarantee that information.
     
  9. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Did some cleanup here, so lets try to keep things friendly and helpful in here. :)
     
  10. BlingDiggity

    BlingDiggity Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013

    Dec 14, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    If you use Link2sd or another app2sd script, this is fairly normal and expected depending on what apps you move (user, system, Google, etc)
     
    HaTrEd360 likes this.
  11. BlingDiggity

    BlingDiggity Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013

    Dec 14, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Mods can remove comments, but they can't remove the comment replies that get sent to my email inbox. Was this directed at me? Because I honestly I was just trying to help, I apologize if anything I said came off as condescending, that wasn't my intent. I rarely ever post on this forum, I'm usually on XDA, so I find it hard to believe that the few posts I've made could've successfully made it that far under your skin lol...
     
  12. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    Look what I got today.....

    [​IMG]

    Did not update.
    Don't want to possible lose root. I'll wait to see what happens with others about rooting.
     
  13. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #125
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    508
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    508
    233
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    Not so lucky. I accidentally hit install and am stuck in a soft brick. Anyone have a copy of stock recovery image?
     
  14. Sinner67

    Sinner67 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    232
    40
    43
    Conway, AR
    bkttk2 likes this.
  15. wulliegunn

    wulliegunn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    17
    1
    16
    Aren't we supposed to update our phones after rooting etc?
     
  16. eurohunter

    eurohunter Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013

    Sep 18, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    Texas
    i got the same thing. I clicked Restart and Install, the phone restarted but everything looks about the same as before. nothing has changed. android 4.1.2, kernel 3.4.0. I had a rooted phone.

    EDIT: nevermind, I just noticed my software version is still LS720ZV5. apparently it did not upgrade. So, this looks like the sprint update. did sprint get JB 4.2 with this update?
     
  17. mijenix

    mijenix Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013

    Dec 17, 2013
    7
    0
    5
    Mine did the same thing, said the update for LS720ZV6 was ready to install. I clicked on restart and install, it seems like it may have done a small install of something, but my software versions are still the same. Anyone know what's going on?
     
  18. wulliegunn

    wulliegunn Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014

    Jan 4, 2014
    17
    1
    16
    Sorry but it was a serious question . Does updates do any harm after rooting etc?
    Cheers
     
  19. cg1324

    cg1324 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012

    May 9, 2012
    34
    1
    16
    I have the notication as well. Im rooted but I do not want to install unless its beneficial.
     
  20. fluffyelid

    fluffyelid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    37
    1
    16
    Wisconsin, USA
    I updated to LG720ZV6 with a root and did 2 things instantly when it finished. 1. Check if i was still rooted (and i am still rooted btw) 2. Check if the software versions changed. They didn't. I hope someone can tell us what's going on as well.
     
  21. learning2

    learning2 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Really, it depends on what you did to the phone after you got root privileges. If you modified or removed a system file included in the update, the update will fail. If the update succeeds, you run the risk of losing root in the process.
     
  22. totalrecarl

    totalrecarl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    183
    39
    43
    That update was only meant to bornk those that had rooted the phone. They did the exact same thing with the Optimus Elite. It just updates QuickMemo and is a deterrent to rooting. It does virtually nothing to "update" your software. You will still have 4.1.2
     
  23. mbstone

    mbstone Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013

    Jan 5, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Update installer ran very briefly, displayed some error icon that vanished as quickly as it appeared, and rebooted, apparently without updating. No way 132MB was downloaded. Still have LS720ZV5 and still rooted. Phone no longer asks to install update; both "Firmware update" and "LG update" under Settings insist the phone is up to date.

    This could be because I had 40% battery (but was connected to charger) when attempting to update.
     
  24. wubby

    wubby Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014

    Jan 7, 2014
    2
    0
    25
    Male
    I went ahead with this update yesterday. It killed root, which I got with motochopper and I can't get it back. It was a new phone and I hadn't gotten around to getting a Nandroid backup yet, so I'm stuck without root at the moment. Any ideas?
     
  25. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    My wife did not pay attention to the text I sent her and stated "Do Not update the phone if it asks".
    She did it anyway.... luckily for me it appears it did not work. She's still on V5 and the phone works fine and apparently not asking to update anymore.
    My phone is still asking me to update which I have not. My phone is set up a little different then hers and I'm not chancing the update yet.... My luck it would brick....
     

Share This Page

Loading...