1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile/Sprint] [Dev] Calling all devs!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HaTrEd360, Jan 26, 2014.

  1. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Okay, I can't stand this. Our only Dev has no phone now... We need to find some other devs help us out on this phone. We had recovery on the v5 firmware and v6 broke it.


    The factory reset issue is tied to a file called morningcall in /system/bin/

    We need to find out why zv6 broke our recovery. Because I did notice the install-recovery.sh file in /system/ect/ was updated with zv6 and I remember that file being a major problem on my old Optimus Elite with recovery so you had to remove it or rename it.

    What errors or problems do you face when trying to install CWM on zv6? I would try myself but I'm afraid to reflash my phone anymore then I already have... Lol.

    If someone out there would please help us out on getting recovery on zv6, then I'm gonna attempt to port a rom from a similar phone somehow.

    Has anyone tried to install the recovery with the dd command?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ZipLipZ

    ZipLipZ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    58
    14
    18
    I'm surprised how little love this phone has had from the dev community. Seems to be a good phone at a reasonable price.
     
    iWindoze likes this.
  3. totalrecarl

    totalrecarl Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    183
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012

    Feb 29, 2012
    183
    39
    43
    I agree. I bought this phone while it was on sale for $70 at Radioshack but haven't even opened it yet. I keep waiting to see if anything is done for it Dev-wise before giving up my Elite.
     
  4. redheadturkey

    redheadturkey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    43
    5
    16
    Female
    Locked bootloader makes development exceptionally difficult, but I have noticed that we now have our first modified stock rom. I've heard rumors there is a Cyanogen mod coming in around 3 months or so. There is development happening, it's just slow, few, and far between. I love it even stock, though.
     
    bkttk2 likes this.
  5. loonycgb2

    loonycgb2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    381
    289
    108
    Male
    CNC Machinist
    Houston, TX
    Broken recovery is due to v6 having made kernel patches.

    Every recovery has its own kernel. The kernel used by the recovery is a exact copy of the OS kernel.

    To fix the issue you have to recompile the recovery with the v6 version of the F3 kernel.

    Just download the sprint v6 source code of the kernel.. Compile it then include it in the recovery compile process and you got a working cwm.

    edit: also when you get the v6 update just extract the updater-script from it and edit it with notepad++ or similar and remove the section that replaces the recovery. Remove ALL instaces of recovery in the file and then flash the new update as normal...

    P.S. removing all patch checks in the beginning of the updater script will fix any cwm zip install errors ;)
     
  6. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I'm going to try to attempt something. I'm not sure if i'll get a rom to compile or work but i'll try. I'm cloning the cm 10.1 repo now
     
  7. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I may need someone to hold my hand. I haven't got a clue what I'm doing. ;-)
     
  8. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Do I need to setup 2nd-init on my phone before I extract device proprietary files?
     
  9. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Go for CM10. Not 10.1 as CM10 will be the same Android version as we have and it will be easier that way.
     
  10. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Okay, thanks for the info. I'm having issues but i'll figure it out
     
  11. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Would anyone know where I can get a boot.img file for this phone?
     
  12. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
  13. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I'm having issues with a step. I'm not able to pull blobs from the phone. Has anyone compiled CM from source?
     
  14. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    What are you trying to pull? The best way to pull images, is to use the dd command using adb shell or terminal on your phone.
     
  15. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I'm trying to build CyanogenMod from source. Or at least attempt to. I've never done this before and it's a learning curve.

    Website i'm working with:
    How To Port CyanogenMod Android To Your Own Device - CyanogenMod

    The Section I'm working with:
    The file i'm working with which uses adb to pull from the phone:
    The issue is that I don't have a correct working copy of extract.files.sh The versions I find on the internet work for other phones. It tries to pull non existent files off of the phone.

    I think there is a step i'm missing. I just need to find it.

    I may never get this to compile from source code. At this point i'm trying to see if I can do it. It would be cool if I could.
     
  16. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    It says to make the file to pull the files. The ones you find online are only examples. So you need to study the other ones of phones similar to ours and then modify and make one for our phone.
     
  17. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Go to the Optimus Elite root forum, and message the creator of the Cyanogenmod roms for that phone. His name is phenomx4 I think it is. Or very close to that... Lol. He can probably help with building CM. Or at least point you on how to extract the files and get your rom to install past 25%.
     
  18. loonycgb2

    loonycgb2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    381
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    381
    289
    108
    Male
    CNC Machinist
    Houston, TX
    The vendor blobs are what exist in the vendor folder from the phone which i think was the firmware folder and such.

    If you can remind me what was in the vendor folder i can tell you which file was important since it only needed one to load the OS.

    You have to create your own file for example
    [HIGH]https://github.com/mvines/android-device-unagi/blob/master/extract-files.sh[/HIGH]

    You need to somewhat understand the coding language to be able to read what it is doing.

    blob list = important OS files made by LG from stock rom on phone used to boot android

    Anyway all that file does is detects the phone... Connects by adb.. Then pulls all the files from the "blob list".

    You don't need to include this if you have the files in a folder then just copy them over to the zip created by the cm source compilation.

    Just makes things way easier and faster.

    Also before compiling please do not include the stock kernel with the cm build process because it will cause more headaches then fixing since the kernel is LGtastic..

    Remove all LG crap security/exploit edits.. Allow overclock.. Remove/add needed/unneeded drivers and features. Then compile the kernel and include it into the cm build process.

    Also if you havent gotten that far into building the source you will either need a kernel source included with cm or a precompiled kernel or else cm build will fail.

    P.S. During kernel compile add as much debugging/log levels as possible to research why cm wont boot. If you dont do so you will just get a non-booting non-log outputting rom which will make this impossible to complete.

    (Ram Console = Important if you want faster logging support google it)
     
  19. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Thanks for the replys. I figured i would have to create the script myself. I was hoping to avoid it if possible.

    I do have a little python and php background. I should be able to create the script. Ill get a list of the files in that dir later after i get home from work.

    I planed to add the 2ndinit after compiling. I just havent been able to compile yet. I had used our kernel from source i pulled from the LG website.

    The rom had someone test was an attempt at porting the L9 cyanogenmod rom. I figured 99% it wouldnt work. The screen rez is diffrent and it was missing the init folder in the system/etc folder. I just wanted to try and see what result i would get.

    Im pritty sure i have the source ready to compile minus that step for a first attempt.
     
  20. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I didnt realize i needed to compile the kernel before including into the source code. Thanks for the tip :)
     
  21. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Ok, for the list:
    I'm just naming folders. The amount of files in each folder is very large.

    /system/app/
    /system/bin/
    /system/lib/
    /system/vendor/

    My head is swimming.
     
  22. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Compiling :eek:

    Hopefully I won't have anymore memory issues. Don't get your hopes up yet. Doesn't mean it will work.

    ****Update:
    Got it to compile but couldn't get it to install via cwm. I'll keep trying
     

    Attached Files:

  23. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I now have a install able cyanogenmod rom. It just doesn't boot.

    After I install I see the initial splash screen and then the default lg boot animation that looks like the splash screen for around 3 seconds then screen goes blank and stays that way.

    I let it sit for awhile but nothing happens. From this point on I am not sure what to do. I can restart the phone and boot into cwm.

    Any suggestions?
     
  24. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
  25. fluffyelid

    fluffyelid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    37
    1
    16
    Wisconsin, USA
    I'm going to try just to make sure, you can still get into dl mode right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...