1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile/Sprint] [ROM]AdvancedStock8 AS7v22 Update - Back to life!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sandix, Dec 29, 2014.

  1. sandix

    sandix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014

    Sep 9, 2014
    393
    124
    78
    Male
    This ROM is deodexed!! This is not a bad thing but if you do not want a deodexed ROM Do Not Download


    This ROM is based on the V8 update by xclusive36.

    Notes on this ROM:
    1. I do not have this phone anymore, so my debugging process is limited, but I wanted to get you guys the V8 update before I just dropped off the face of this subforum. (Which I can't just leave you guys hanging, now can't I)
    2. I will be working on this from a distance, meaning I will try to push out a couple more updates to fix this ROM, but I cannot promise anything.
    3. This ROM will not have OTA, whether it be my OpenOTA, or LG OTA. This is because I do not have time to worry about OTA. I will however update this thread every so often.
    4. Expect some bugs since I cannot flash this to a fx3 (I do not have one)


    Here is what is working:
    Everything. (as far as I know)

    Here is what is not working:

    You tell me.

    Here is what is removed from the ROM:

    • LG Bloatware (Except what is required by the ROM to work)
    • Sprint crapware (e.g. Connections optimizer, VVM - Visual Voicemail, and system app installer)
    • Virgin Mobile Application Downloader (When the phone first activates it downloads a bunch of crappy themes, and unneeded files.)
    • Dictionary
    • Useless google play stuff (Books, Play Games, etc. Google play is still installed with google services framework)
    • LGFOTA.APK removed (Possible no more OTA Notifications?)
    • LGUSMMS.APK - (LG MMS APK)
    • Q-Slide and Q-slide notification floater.
    • Any other bloat I didn't like or need
    Here is what was added to the ROM:

    • SuperSU (Added by xclusive36)
    • ES File Explorer :D
    • AdAway Added for Ad blocking power!! ;)
    • Custom Boot Animation and Sound
    • ChompSMS
    • Apex Launcher
    • Android Terminal Emulator
    • init.d emulator(sandix)
    • SDCard Swapper Fx3 (Sandix)
    • Built in SD Card Swapping!


    This ROM is a ~294MB Download, and leaves you with just under 1GB of usable space for apps and downloads BEFORE google runs updates in the background (which happens almost immediately after getting a network connection. . I know this is not the best, but I slimmed it down literally all the way without losing too much of the LG Stock feel, and including a AOSP/Google experience to it.


    Download:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?p6783r8wf4aiw (Initial Release of AS8, But it is AdvancedStock Version 22.)

    ** By downloading this ROM you agree that anything that happens to the device, be it negative or positive, is your own fault.

    ChompSMS MMS Settings:

    MMSC: http://mmsc.vmobl.com:8088/mms?
    MMS Proxy: 205.239.233.136
    MMS Port: 81

    Getting rid of the "Update Device" Error on bootup(Might not work?):

    1. After booting up, login to the play store
    2. Click this link on your phone, (Or install from Play store on Computer using googles Install OTA service)
    3. Find "Update Device" in the list
    4. Disable both check boxes.
    5. Reboot phone and the Error should be gone.
    6. Reverse these instructions to do the PRL/Profile updates if needed.

    To Install:

    1. Download to internal or External SD Card.
    2. Reboot into CWM (HAS TO BE THE TOUCH BASED ONE)
    3. Format Cache
    4. Format - Factory Data Reset
    5. Install Zip
    6. It will reboot on it's own
    7. Once it boots, let it sit for about 5-10 minutes to configure apps, etc.
    8. Reboot once more (So profile updates will work)
    9. Before doing anything, go to settings -> System Updates -> Update Profile
    10. Reboot
    11. Then go to Settings -> System Updates -> Update PRL
    12. Reboot Once more
    13. Add Google Account information
    14. Install your favorite 3rd party apps
    15. Enjoy the ROM!
    Dirty Install(If you want to keep your apps):
    **NOTE: DIRTY INSTALL ONLY IF YOU ALREADY HAVE A PREVIOUS VERSION INSTALLED!!!!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!


    1. Download to internal or External SD Card.
    2. Reboot into CWM (HAS TO BE THE TOUCH BASED ONE)
    3. Format Cache and Dalvik Cache
    4. Install Zip
    5. It will reboot on it's own
    6. Once it boots, let it sit for about 5-10 minutes to configure apps, etc.
    7. Reboot once more (So profile updates will work)
    8. Before doing anything, go to settings -> System Updates -> Update Profile
    9. Reboot
    10. Then go to Settings -> System Updates -> Update PRL
    11. Reboot Once more
    12. Add Google Account information
    13. Enjoy the ROM!

    Steps to do an activation:

    1. Make sure the ESN AND IMEI number are on your Virgin Mobile Account
    2. Turn the phone on
    3. goto settings
    4. goto activate device
    5. let it fail out and repeat step 4 two more times
    6. then update PRL and Profile
    If the above does not work, flash a completely unmodified stock rom then do the following:

    1. Make sure the ESN AND IMEI number are on your Virgin Mobile Account
    2. Turn the phone on
    3. goto settings
    4. goto activate device
    5. let it activate and then reboot
    6. verify that you can make calls, SMS, and got data.
    7. Flash AdvancedStock7, making sure to wipe data, cache, and dalvik cache
    8. Once AS7 is booted, go to settings, System Updates, and update the PRL and Profile, then reboot. You should now have SMS, calls and Data working.

    Some things to note:


    • Some options in the settings will crash, this is normal as I removed the apk file they relate to.
    • Sprint Connection manager is removed so that option will not work.
    • Lockscreen settings will not work (There are apps on google play to mess with lock screen settings)
    • I did not add the swap SD Card script from androidguy1991. This is because that script would have been complicated to add to the ROM zip, you can still add it though if you feel you need it.
    • Every time the phone boots up, you will get a force close error with LG Updates, this is normal as I removed LG Update from this ROM.
    Using the init.d emulator:

    1. On boot, Grant Uninit.d root access, this allows it to make the proper folders and files for init.d emulation.
    2. under /storage/sdcard0/init.d put all the scripts you want to run following alphabetical patterns for priority on boot. (1_FirstScript, 2_SecondScript, etc.)
    3. reboot and watch your scripts run without any effort!
    Let me know how the init.d emulator works for you if you use it!

    Screenshots:
    I do not have this phone anymore, someone can provide me with some?

    Issues with Links2SD? Read this post:
    Post number 103

    Looking to donate? Click Here!

     

    Advertisement

    #1 sandix, Dec 29, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2015
  2. Julz

    Julz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    2
    2
    16
    Female
    Does anyone know what apn settings to use for Sprint? I'm assuming the vmobl apn isn't going to work for Sprint lol and neither ChompSMS nor Hangouts will download MMS messages...
     
    sandix likes this.
  3. Julz

    Julz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014

    Dec 29, 2014
    2
    2
    16
    Female
    Also going to be dirty flashing from ver 20, will post with results/issues/bugs...going to be flashing with twrp...Also, a bit off subject and maybe better suited for androidguy1991's thread, but has anyone made any progress getting the storage issues resolved? I've tried everything with a 16GBP a sdcard, including link2sd method using Aparted to format partition, as well as androidguy's script and I can utilize all the space for storage and looking under "storage" in settings will show the sdcard under internal memory, but going then to Apps in settings shows internal memory under 200mb instead of the 13.some-odd.Gb's that are reported in storage, so basically the sdcard is still useless for installing apps, it'll store music and movies and pics, but all the apps are still installing to internal and mirroring on the sdcard, which is pretty much pointless to even waste the time to swap the sdcard with internal when the system will keep filling the internal anyway until the PlayStore refuses to install anything else sms...pretty much just goes thru a bunch of extra steps and script running to leave us essentially right where we started smh..wooohooo! Lol smh...
     
    sandix likes this.
  4. sandix

    sandix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014

    Sep 9, 2014
    393
    124
    78
    Male
    ChompSMS company website has all compatible MMS APNs
     
  5. jerrspud

    jerrspud Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    150
    20
    38
    Do you use the PRO version of Link2SD? Once I got that it would move the interval data and it really freed up some space on the internal memory. Looking at the phone settings you should see more free space on the "internal memory". The phones storage settings won't report the app usage on the SD card. You'll have to look at the Link2SD settings to view how much is being used on the EXT partition. One thing I've noticed is the apps that have the internal data moved open a little slower. I had to unlink my browsers from the SD card because it was going pretty slow.
     
  6. nannycrick

    nannycrick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    222
    77
    83
    Female
    Mobile secretary for a trucker.
    Winchester,VA
    AS8v22 Initial Review...
    Let me start off by saying..Sandix, YOU DA MAN! Great work, again!
    Now, these are my listed tweaks:
    I clean flashed this version. I'm a "clean" girl. It's my way!
    Busybox updated & installed FIRST thing after PRL Update and Google account connect & sync. Updated SuperSU via previously downloaded zip. Flashed from root of SD card, just like my old HTC.
    Flashed: the new Google boot animation.zip posted on XDA dev. Very cool animation for this phone!
    Flashed: Xperia Walkman 7.9.A.0.1 for 4.1.2 from XDA Dev. Reboot then flash the fix downloaded from same page. Walkman gives great sound, and has beautiful graphics ui. Very good player!
    Google Keyboard, installed & converted to system by Links2SD. Works smoothly, has helpful suggestions, language packs, & themes. Nice.
    ChompSMS, which came with the ROM, is a KEEPER from now on. Thanks for posting the settings. No problems here.
    Apex updated after sync connect to Google Play. Installed & converted update into system as I did with ChompSMS, them rebooted. No problems. I have Up Icon Pack Free installed. Very nice looking!
    Titanium Backup + root updated BEFORE reinstalling my favs..lg alarm clock.apk and stock video.apk from deodex v8. Works with no glitches.
    So far, I'm still loving this ROM! Great stuff...right down to the over clocked kernel! It's still the best ROM for this phone! Thanks again Sandix, and everyone who contributed!

    A note to remember for the "less experienced"...when using Links2SD to install/convert an app, or it's recent update, into your system, ALWAYS reboot afterwards. If not, your system may not have it " fully installed", and any updates may not " stick", and the app may FC on you!
    I had this happen on my husband's phone.(a Kyocera Event) It was an update of Superuser. The update failed to "stick" and he lost root. Half his apps "failed" to open as a result! I had to reroot from scratch! Just food for thought!
     
    #6 nannycrick, Dec 31, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2014
    ivanmius and sandix like this.
  7. nannycrick

    nannycrick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    222
    77
    83
    Female
    Mobile secretary for a trucker.
    Winchester,VA
    A note to pass on....
    Emailed robaho, who worked on our over clocked kernel, about WiFi tethering. His WiFi tether app on Google Play says it works on v5,v6 & v7. I asked about it working on AS8v22. He responded saying it should as it's "close" to stock. If you need WiFi tether, his app is on sale $2.49. I'm buying with my Christmas money!! Get yourselves hooked up!
     
  8. sandix

    sandix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014

    Sep 9, 2014
    393
    124
    78
    Male

    Thank you for the review!
    Just a thing to note: AS8V22 does not have the overclocked kernel (as robaho hasnt made one for V8 update yet.
    But AS7V20 has the overclock.
     
  9. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    it will work with v8 just the same as with any other ota version
     
    nannycrick likes this.
  10. nannycrick

    nannycrick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    222
    77
    83
    Female
    Mobile secretary for a trucker.
    Winchester,VA
    Got the overclock kernel working with AS8v22. Nice performance, but I don't "push it" too far! Reporting in via my HP Windows PC hooked up with robaho's Wifi Tether app from Google Play. It works without errors! Worth the money! Now, all I need is another VM LG F3 for my old man so I can throw out his Kyocera Event!! He's a tow truck driver. He deserves a little "electronic" love! I think this phone & rom are now as perfectly matched as two engineered works can be!
    Great way to start the New Year!

    A Storage Note... my phone is reporting 14.83GB of Internal Storage (I use SD Swap on an unpartitioned 16GB Sandisk class 10 sd card) and SD Card 1.24Gb with 708mb of available space remaining. This report is shown in Settings>Storage. I have my Camera sending to Internal Storage (sd card swapped). You can choose to send your pics there in the camera settings>storage. I also use SD Maid Pro from Google Play to "deep clean" the system. It's the best for rooted phones, and worth the price. I've been using it for two years now. No problems!
     
    #10 nannycrick, Jan 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2015
  11. SSHunter

    SSHunter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014

    Nov 16, 2014
    94
    4
    16
    Male
    can someone upload some screenshots
     
  12. nannycrick

    nannycrick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    222
    77
    83
    Female
    Mobile secretary for a trucker.
    Winchester,VA
    Screenshot_2015-01-02-07-43-05.png Screenshot_2015-01-02-07-43-27.png Here's a couple of screen shots of my storage situation as reported in Settings>Storage. I "clean flashed" this rom from an unpartitioned sd card after wiping all partitions,(system,data,cache) in CWMT. I reinstalled some of my fav apps using TB. Maybe a thorough wipe & clean flash made the difference. I don't know.
     
    #12 nannycrick, Jan 2, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2015
  13. tyronius

    tyronius Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013

    Aug 24, 2013
    20
    6
    16
    Very Nice Rom
    I do not want to seem Stupid, but how do I install from the Supplemental Pack, if I try to install from the .apk's it will not install. if I try to install the zip it did not work, I thought I could just install the whole pack and use Root uninstaller to dump that I do not want, but no luck
     
  14. nannycrick

    nannycrick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    222
    77
    83
    Female
    Mobile secretary for a trucker.
    Winchester,VA
    I was never able to get the LG Supplemental Pack/Fdroid install thing to work. I had better luck just manually picking apart a copy of the deodexed v8 unzipped system folder stored in my PC, copy & paste them to the sd card, then push them to the system apps folder once my phone is disconnected. They'll manually install, but you gotta reboot afterward to "fully" get them accepted by the system.(don't forget to set permissions before rebooting rw-r-r ) I've got apks from two different Roms, LG F3 stock deodex v8, Slimbean 3.1 (HTC one v port) and xperia Walkman port for androidroid 4.1.2. (from XDA developers site).
    Nothing FCing here! Android life is great when you have great developers helping you out!
     
    #14 nannycrick, Jan 3, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2015
  15. sandix

    sandix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014

    Sep 9, 2014
    393
    124
    78
    Male
    The supplemental pack requires cwm touch recovery to work properly. You just flash it like any other ROM, then select the apps you want, then select install. Easy stuff really.
     
  16. nannycrick

    nannycrick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    222
    77
    83
    Female
    Mobile secretary for a trucker.
    Winchester,VA
    Oh...I'm such a noob! I thought Fdroid was supposed to flash it not CWMT. Duh Huh! :D
    Just when I thought I had androids figured out.....
     
    sandix likes this.
  17. Gord0

    Gord0 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015

    Jan 2, 2015
    13
    2
    26
    Soon after flashing, I realized I lost root access. Any way I can get it back?
     
  18. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    If you flashed in cwm, go back into cwm and then exit out of it. When it asks you to reset root permissions, select yes.
     
    Gord0 and nannycrick like this.
  19. NetSpeedZ

    NetSpeedZ Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    440
    31
    43
    Male
    IT Engineer
    Southwest
    I have no real plans on flashing this V8 update (V7 works flawlessly for me), however, I was curious to know if this fix for root is good only for CWM or does it apply to TWRP as well?

    ------------
     
  20. Gord0

    Gord0 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015

    Jan 2, 2015
    13
    2
    26
    Worked like a charm, thanks! Also, can I still overclock this rom?
     
  21. sandix

    sandix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014

    Sep 9, 2014
    393
    124
    78
    Male
    Yes, you will need to get the Kernel for V7 ROM from Robaho, it should work with this update.
     
  22. Gord0

    Gord0 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015

    Jan 2, 2015
    13
    2
    26
    Okay great! Thank you!
     
    nannycrick likes this.
  23. Nitemarefeast

    Nitemarefeast Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014

    Dec 14, 2014
    7
    1
    16
    Male
    Louisiana
    SD Swapper does not seem to be working properly for me?? I have an 8gb card, wiped it entirely before install, and everything is still going to the device storage, even though the storage page shows they're swapped.
     
    ivanmius likes this.
  24. sandix

    sandix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014

    Sep 9, 2014
    393
    124
    78
    Male
    Please read the warnings in the sd swapper thread.
     
  25. nannycrick

    nannycrick Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012

    May 7, 2012
    222
    77
    83
    Female
    Mobile secretary for a trucker.
    Winchester,VA
    Sandix...I "see" what you were saying about the LG Supp Pack. It's flashed via Aroma Installer thru CWMT Recovery. Very Nice! I hadn't tried it since version 1 back when I first got my F3, rooted & flashed deodex version 6. I'm keeping this zip handy! Thanks!

    Just a thought for the rest of my "noob" friends...a note in the OP that the LG Supp Pack is Aroma installed via CWMT. Also installed GravityBox for transparent status bar tweaks! I'm a happy Android now!
     
  26. sandix

    sandix Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    393
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014

    Sep 9, 2014
    393
    124
    78
    Male
    Just swap the cards and reboot.
    Also make sure to transfer any android data from the original card to the new one. SDSwapper should handle the rest.
     
    LogosA likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...