1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile/Sprint] [ROM] [Stock-4.1.2] Solar ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sharkhunter45, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    Solar ROM
    [​IMG]
    (^ Copyright of Washington Post)

    What Is It?:
    Solar ROM is a stock-based ROM that seeks to give a Semi-stock Android feel. It is pre-rooted, busyboxed, and Loki'd. AdAway is also included, but can be uninstalled if desired.

    What's Different?: Many of the Virgin Mobile/LG apps have been removed, and replaced with apps that are closer in style to vanilla Android. These apps can be found in the Play Store, and Aim to give a more holistic feel to an already well made device. Since Solar ROM is stock based, there is no need to format /data. If there are any issues or bugs you encounter, please let me know and I'll try to fix them!

    What's Planned for It?: I have a few different things planned on being included in this ROM:
    Custom Theme [ ]
    Custom Boot Animation [X]
    Custom Font [X]
    Overclock Kernel [ ]
    Self-Odexing and deodexed [ ]
    App2sd version [ ]
    Custom Tabs in the Settings Menu
    and more, when the ideas arise

    What's Changed?:
    *Custom font, go to display, fonts and click roboto
    *Nova Launcher
    *Google Nexus Camera
    *Google Play Music
    *Removed Virgin Mobile ID and My Account
    *Xposed And Gravitybox included, can be uninstalled
    *Odexed
    *Superuser
    *Gallery ICS
    *Added 8sms (Have to keep the stock messenger, otherwise mms can't be retrieved :thinking: note: Disable notifications for the stock messenger under the app settings)
    *Silent Boot!
    More to change!

    Note: This is based off of ZV5

    SOLAR ROM DOWNLOAD

    *Screenshots*
     

    Advertisement

  2. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Screenshots? Is it themed?

    Also a good way to show performance would be to include Screenshots of some benchmarks compared to the stock rom, if you plan on adding tweaks. :p
     
  3. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    I'm working on the screenshots, I haven't been able to figure out if Something I did made it not boot :thinking: As soon as I get it working, I'll post the screenies. And it hasn't been themed, not yet at least
     
  4. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    How would you install the rom?
     
  5. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    First off, Welcome to AF :) To install the rom, you first need to be rooted. You can root the phone using this. After you've rooted the phone, you'll need to install CWM, using this here thread. Follow both of these threads word for word, it's important that you do. Then, download it onto your phone. After that, you press and hold the power button, shut the phone off, then press and hold the power + Volume Down buttons. that reboots you into recovery. using the volume buttons and the power button, select Install Zip from SD Card. Then choose either the internal, or external SD Card, depending on where you saved it. then click yes, install, and the rom does the rest from there! One important thing, you need to be on the ZV5 update in order to install cwm, and this rom. if you're not, use the unbrick guide that's stickied at the top of this forum.

    Happy modding, and thanks for asking!
     
    xclusive36 likes this.
  6. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Thank you for your quick reply. I have installed roms on my G-tablet for years. I asked because I didn't know if there were any special instructions.

    Thanks a bunch

    Oh, I wanted to mention that I noticed that if the phone is plugged in by usb, and you try to boot into recovery mode by pressing vol down + power, it doesn't boot. You will have to unplug the usb cord.
     
    Sharkhunter45 likes this.
  7. chucksaysblah

    chucksaysblah Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    324
    66
    53
    Male
    So is this booting and operational?
     
  8. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    As of now, yes it is. It's not completely done, and there's not a ton of differences yet. once the weekend is here, I'll add more changes to make it better
     
  9. chucksaysblah

    chucksaysblah Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    324
    66
    53
    Male
    What about the memory space issue. Do you have plans to address and implement app to SD card in your ROM by default?
     
  10. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    Currently I have over 600MB of internal storage with all my apps installed with data (right around 96 apps) with link2SD alone. I know some people really want the app2sd, and others don't. I will make one version of the ROM that has it built in, and one that doesnt.
     
  11. chucksaysblah

    chucksaysblah Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    324
    66
    53
    Male
    Sweet. Use link2sd plus the app to SD card script right now . I don't want to do that all over again after flashing a new ROM is the only reason I ask.
     
  12. chucksaysblah

    chucksaysblah Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    324
    66
    53
    Male
    I play dungeon hunter 4 and it is over 1gig .
     
  13. redheadturkey

    redheadturkey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    43
    5
    16
    Female
    I have discovered if you clean flash that play store force closes. Just a heads up. Will check to see if it does on a dirty flash and get back to you, I reflashed the stock and am working on rerooting and reinstalling CWM now.
     
    Sharkhunter45 likes this.
  14. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    Thanks, I found what was wrong. It's an issue with the play store apk I included. I don't have access to a computer so I cant fix it today, but I appreciate the help :)

    Also I'm changing the superuser back to superSU, superuser was giving me issues
     
  15. redheadturkey

    redheadturkey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    43
    5
    16
    Female
    It works fine when dirty flashed, but it doesn't give the advantage of getting rid of all the bloatware, I'll just reflash once you have the play store fixed. Also, I can't get rid of the settings thing for nova launcher. Is there a way to do that? It takes up half my dash and it's a bit annoying.
     
  16. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    You mean the widgets and things on the screen when you first install nova? Try pressing and holding the widgets, and dragging them to the X at the top of the screen
     
  17. redheadturkey

    redheadturkey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    43
    5
    16
    Female
    The import and backup widgets. Tried the press/hold, nothing happens. I was looking for something in the settings to at least shrink them. Ah well, may install go launcher. Edit: Also play store 3.7.11 works wonderfully with your rom.
     
  18. fluffyelid

    fluffyelid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    37
    1
    16
    Wisconsin, USA
    I never installed a custom ROM ever before, nor did i ever do CWM. I did both fairly easily, and i'm on the ROM now. Btw, the built-in play store works fine, following what you said in a reply somewhere on this thread. Can't wait for more updates! :D
     
  19. manymarius73

    manymarius73 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013

    Dec 21, 2013
    60
    4
    16
    play store FCs on me, too. Doing a clean install, btw. Looked good, though. Like having the Nova launcher, as long as it's not layered over Android and LG Optimus ui.
     
  20. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    I'm sorry guys, I couldnt update the Rom this weekend. I swapped some things around, and I lost all cellular connection :what:

    If I get some free time today, I'll upload one where the play store is fixed. Things came up this weekend, and my hands were tied :/
     
    madgene2659 likes this.
  21. schpelTiger

    schpelTiger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    36
    5
    16
    Take your time, man. I installed CWM recovery in anticipation of the update, but I can wait a while longer, no rush.
     
  22. redheadturkey

    redheadturkey Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    43
    5
    16
    Female
    Same here. I'll grab it when it's done.
     
  23. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    Updated, fixed the issues I was having
     
  24. Setow

    Setow Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012

    Oct 12, 2012
    54
    6
    16
    Does this latest version have the app2sd pre-installed?
     
  25. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    No. That requires init.d scripts from the kernel, and I haven't even touched the kernel yet
     

Share This Page

Loading...