1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile/Sprint] [Rom][Stock/CM]Psycho Billy Cyanogen Flavored Rom 4.1.2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by xclusive36, Mar 27, 2014.

  1. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    [size=+4]This Rom is depreciatied[/size]
    Although this rom still works, its based off of the older LS720ZV5 update. You will receive update notifications to upgrade your software. Current software version for this phone is LS720ZV7. I have no plans to update this rom to the newer software version of this phone. I am attempting to port a real version of CM to this phone (without success thus far)


    [​IMG]

    I like to present the first public alpha for this Android 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean) CyanogenMod 10 flavored Stock Rom.

    Disclamer:
    This is not Cyanogenmod. This is a stock rom that 'feels' like Cyanogenmod. It is an incomplete Port.
    Note the name: Psycho Billy referencing Johnny Cash's song: One Peace at a time.

    Some elements are Stock,
    Some elements are Cyanogenmod.

    There are a few apps I couldn't get to work as Cyanogenmod under the current boot image. I left them as the Stock app.

    Most notably is the SystemUI and System Settings. They are Stock. Not Cyanogenmod. This is important. Some system settings options do not work. This is because they have been removed.

    You may occasionally notice an error that pops up.
    It will usually pop up when you download an app from the Google Play. This is because Cyanogenmod is not fully integrated. Just click OK, and all is well.

    Errors:
    If you run into allot of errors after flashing the Rom, most likely somewhere the flash didn't perform correctly. To fix, re-wipe and flash again.

    Changelog:
    5/5/14 - Minor update - Modified the splash screen during first boot
    5/2/14 - Minor update - Fixed dsp error. that poped up when you played a Mp3 with Google Music or some other player.
    I'm sorry, I should of fixed this sooner
    4/18/14 - Changed boot.img to boot.lok to fix issue with the recovery forcing factory reset
    4/17/14 - Mod - Removed QSlide Apps from the notification drop down.
    4/8/14 - Added App2SD Support. (well kind of, see second post for details)
    4/2/14 -
    Removed a huge amount of stock bloat.
    Removed files that you can get on the Google Play Store. (including Maps and Youtube)
    Ported the Camera and Gallery app from Cyanogenmod to replace the stock Camera and Gallery apps that was removed. (still have more to go)
    3/6/14 -
    Ported allot of apps and files from Cyanogenmod. (still have more to go)
    Deodexed
    root permissions
    BusyBox
    Zipaligned
    Nano
    Bash
    /etc/init.d scripts support (busybox run-parts)



    Download -
    -}Download here{-

    Important!
    If you are on Software version LS720ZV6, make sure you update your CWM to the ClockworkMod Touch Recovery 6.0.4.8. Note that after you install this rom your software version will revert back to LS720ZV5.
    To find your Software version go to: Settings / About phone / Software information



    Flash in ClockworkMod Recovery. v. 6.0.4.4
    or Flash in ClockworkMod Touch Recovery v. 6.0.4.8

    I would recommend clean flashing this Rom
    Dirty flashing: Flashing overtop of your current installation is not recommended and will result in errors.
    If you get a bunch of com.gapp errors, follow the unbrick method and start over. Most likely your boot image is corrupt.

    Clean flashing: In CWM;
    • wipe data/factory reset
    • select advanced
    • wipe dalvik cache

    Warning: Clean flashing will wipe data and installed apps.

    Flash Rom:
    From the main page in CWM select install zip.

    If you copied the rom to your internal sd card, choose:
    choose zip from /sdcard

    If you copied the rom to your external sd card, choose:
    choose zip from /external_sd

    navigate to the rom and flash.

    Your first boot will take a little bit longer because it's Deodexed. This is normal.

    To restore 3G/4G Data
    Go to Settings >
    > System Updates
    >> Update PRL
    >> Update Profile
    If there is an issue wile performing an update just reboot and try again where you left off.



    Thanks to all the usual suspects:
    The old timers like:
    PlayfulGod
    sammyz
    loonycgb2
    HaTrEd360​

    Testers:
    fluffyelid
    chucksaysblah
    ravollmer​

    I'm sure i'm missing some people.
    Thanks guys

    Update: 3/29/14
    If you're having issues with 4G Connectivity, Try this:

    After install open dialer and dial 3845#*720# to enter hidden menu. Select IOT(CDG2), System Selection, Network Mode, CDMA w/o EvDo. Exit menu via home key. Wait for data signal, go into settings, system updates, Update PRL. Once the update is done go back to home screen and open dialer and dial 3845#*720# to enter hidden menu. Select IOT(CDG2), System Selection, Network Mode, CDMA + LTE/EvDo auto. Exit menu and you should be good to go

    Enjoy
     

    Advertisement

    slkpmp, skaminy, daffyducknj and 13 others like this.
  2. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    how do I get App2SD?

    Follow these simple instructions.
    1. Make sure you have flashed the rom that's 4/8/14 Or newer.
    2. Go to settings and select storage
    3. Erase your SD card (This wipes all data, resets to one partition and formats to Fat32)
    4. 11extsd2internalsd is already installed and permissions have been set. I did this step for you. :)
    5. Download Script Manager - SManager from the Google Play Store
    5.1. Open App (SManager)
    5.2. Select 'Browse with Root'
    5.3. Inside the app SManager, Navigate to the folder /system/etc/init.d/ (To go up a folder, click the 'up arrow')
    5.4. Click on 11extsd2internalsd and Open as... Script/Executable
    5.5. Click on Su and Boot and then click Save.
    6. Exit and then Reboot.
    7. Check your Storage in Settings to verify.

    This swaps the Internal and External SD Cards after boot.
    I'm not completely sure but I think your standard internal SD card is used for the Android System but the external SD card is now used for storage.
    If you had anything installed to the internal storage, it will be listed under the external storage. Your external storage will be listed as your internal storage.

    Source:
    http://androidforums.com/lg-optimus-f3/801368-mod-app2external_sd-fixed-duplicate-files.html




    how do I remove the system update notification?

    Download 'Android Tuner Free' from Google Play and run.
    Swipe until you get to the second screen. There should be dots at the bottom to indicate which screen you are on.
    Click on 'Application manager' button
    Swipe until you get to the 'Startups/Events' screen
    Click on 'User'. This will change displayed apps to system apps
    Scroll down and click on 'Google Service Framework'
    Make sure these options are the only options that are 'unchecked'
    'Download_Complete'
    'Download_Notification_Clicked'
    'Update_Lock_Changed'
    'System_Update_Settings'
    'Pre_Boot_Completed'

    Double check that these are unchecked, sometimes they will recheck them selves.
    Exit out of the app by pressing the back button twice.

    Reboot the phone.

    If Google Services Framework app is updated from Google Play, it will reset. You will have to reapply these to disable system update notifications.

    Unfortunately this is the new issue.
     
    gherkaul, j1232 and Exbruce like this.
  3. Exbruce

    Exbruce Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012

    Dec 22, 2012
    78
    2
    16
    Wow I've waited so long for this, thanks so much for all your work to this very underdeveloped phone. I'm gonna try and test this out tomorrow after school
     
  4. KJRob

    KJRob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    54
    11
    18
    Downloading now. Ill post results tomorrow!
     
  5. KJRob

    KJRob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    54
    11
    18
    Your warranty is now void. It's cool, it sucked anyway. LMAO!
     
  6. lilrich1789

    lilrich1789 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    153
    34
    43
    Any recommendations on installation? Do we dirty Flash or do a clean flash?
     
  7. KJRob

    KJRob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    54
    11
    18
    Not being the creator or an early tester I would say it is best to clean flash. You are either going from stock or modded stock to a (for lack of a better term) dirty ROM. Its not that the ROM is bad but its a hybrid of 2 or more Roms. I clean flashed and was able to restore my Titanium Backup with no issues.
     
    xclusive36 likes this.
  8. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Yes, clean flash. I thought I added that to the OP. I must of added it to the other. I'll change that later when I get off of work.
     
  9. cpr518

    cpr518 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013

    Mar 28, 2013
    51
    8
    16
    Does this work on both V5 and V6?
     
  10. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    V5. I'll add that to the op later as well. I forgot to include that also.
     
  11. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Ok, added to the OP that you need to be on LS720ZV5, not LS720ZV6. Also added that although you can do a 'Dirty Install', you should do a 'Clean Install'.
     
    KJRob likes this.
  12. fluffyelid

    fluffyelid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    37
    1
    16
    Wisconsin, USA
  13. leeb0z

    leeb0z Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014

    Mar 28, 2014
    19
    3
    16
    I have missed my cyanogen boot animation so much...ya'll are awesome guys!
     
  14. cpr518

    cpr518 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013

    Mar 28, 2013
    51
    8
    16
    Ok great. I flashed it and it looks really good. Thanks for the rom.
     
  15. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Your welcome, I just wished I could of finished it. I'm going to take a few days. I'm working on a aosp boot image. If I can get it to boot I'll be happy. The cm boot image didn't work out too well. I'm learning quickly, i'll figure it out. One of these days i'll get it right.
     
    ronii likes this.
  16. fluffyelid

    fluffyelid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012

    Nov 10, 2012
    37
    1
    16
    Wisconsin, USA
    I'll be ready to test... wish i knew how to do all that stuff :mad:
     
  17. KJRob

    KJRob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    54
    11
    18
    IDK if it is an issue with the ROM or VM but I can't get 4G anymore. I can go into the hidden menu and force 3G but get nothing from the LTE radio.
     
  18. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I noticed that too at first. But it switches to 4g now with no problem.
     
  19. KJRob

    KJRob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    54
    11
    18
    I went 18 hours waiting for the switch to happen with no luck. Switched ROMs for now. Gotta have my data.
     
  20. KJRob

    KJRob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    54
    11
    18
    Fixed the data issue. After install open dialer and dial 3845#*720# to enter hidden menu. Select IOT(CDG2), System Selection, Network Mode, CDMA w/o EvDo. Exit menu via home key. Wait for data signal, go into settings, system updates, Update PRL. Once the update is done go back to home screen and open dialer and dial 3845#*720# to enter hidden menu. Select IOT(CDG2), System Selection, Network Mode, CDMA + LTE/EvDo auto. Exit menu and you should be good to go,
     
    xclusive36 likes this.
  21. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I added that to the OP
     
    KJRob likes this.
  22. KJRob

    KJRob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    54
    11
    18
    Titanium Back up is showing 221 elements on my phone. With Link2SD I have 670mb free on my internal. This is the best space saver ROM for this phone. If your reluctant to try it I say jump. Its worth it. Fast, smooth and tiny.
     
  23. thespian2

    thespian2 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014

    Mar 30, 2014
    1
    2
    6
    I wanted to say thank you for the great rom!

    A note for those with version 6 updated on there phone:

    Do not try to install this rom with version 6 without reading this first! I did, and I nearly lost the phone.

    Here is what I did to get my phone working and eventually on this rom:

    1 - Use the Unbrick VM/Sprint F3 Guide

    Note: the guide above uses the v5 rom which will work to rollback the update, but will also reset all apps on your phone.

    2 - Use motochopper with usb debugging enabled to root the phone.

    3 - Now use the lte/l1m recovery apk to use 2nd init which will load up clockworkmod after reboot.

    Then when in clockwork mod recovery, choose load zip from external zip and simply use the zipped rom here, and you're in :)

    I hope this helps someone!
     
    j1232 and xclusive36 like this.
  24. KJRob

    KJRob Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012

    Dec 18, 2012
    54
    11
    18
    New issue. When I go to set the lock screen the settings force close. I am at a loss for a fix on this one.
     
  25. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #88
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Some of the setting options don't work because those apps have been removed. The LG lock screen was one of those apps.
     
    KJRob likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...