1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile/Sprint] Rooting the F3 with Motochopper

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mavsman13, Jul 26, 2013.

  1. mavsman13

    mavsman13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013

    Jul 24, 2013
    8
    10
    18
    delete
     

    Advertisement

    #1 mavsman13, Jul 26, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2018
  2. sinkist77

    sinkist77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    77
    16
    38
    Male
    Arkham Asylum
    I can officially confirm this. I just tried it and it successfully rooted my F3.
    Thank you for bringing this to the forums.
     

    Attached Files:

    shavatek and skarface1988 like this.
  3. skarface1988

    skarface1988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    173
    13
    38
    Thanks! It work. I actually download mine for a s3. The first 3 try it didnt work. Fourth time it work!....thanks
     
  4. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    Just placed this phone on order.

    I see some are using Motochopper to root this phone.
    Does it place replace the stock recovery with CWM?

    I always like to root my phone to have total control over it, but want to make sure that CWM is also installed on it in case of any oops.
     
  5. skarface1988

    skarface1988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    173
    13
    38
    There is no official custom recovery for this device yet. Ive seen other post if you go straight to recovery after rooting. It may get black screen. And can factory reset on its own. So dont attempt until we all see the official recovery..
     
    elgecko likes this.
  6. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    Has anyone rooted the phone before activation?
    Did it work?
    IIRC some phone would not activate after being rooted.
     
  7. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    My phone is here and I'm trying to root it so I can transfer all my data from TiB and I'm not getting access for some reason.

    I finally found on LG site drivers for Virgin Mobile. Installed them, even rebooted the computer.
    Have the phone set to USB debugging.
    Turned off firewalls and anti virus programs.
    This is what I get when trying to run motochopper.

    [​IMG]

    Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
     
  8. skarface1988

    skarface1988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    173
    13
    38
    Make sure you download the right driver model for you exact phone. And make sure your computer can detect/roconize your device. Amd than run motochop over n over til it works. It happen to me and i have to do it like 3 or 4 time..
     
  9. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,801
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,801
    24,467
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Just wondering if this indeed confirmed working etc.
    The reason I ask, is that in the root sticky, there is no link for a root guide. :)
    Let me know and I can add this thread to the sticky's guide :p
     
  10. sinkist77

    sinkist77 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    77
    16
    38
    Male
    Arkham Asylum
    As far as I know, this method has been working. I myself rooted this way.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  11. elgecko

    elgecko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012

    Jan 10, 2012
    339
    98
    53
    PA, USA
    Had the wrong driver at first. Mine rooted on the first try. I rooted it after activating the phone. Yes it works.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  12. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    29,801
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    29,801
    24,467
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Thanks guys! Added to the root sticky:)
    If you see anything else that can be added, let me know by p.m. or another guide (member in green) or mod. ;)
     
  13. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    I'm having some trouble rooting using this method. It keeps saying "adb is not recognized as an internal or external command, executable program," and something else i dont remember. Any ideas on how to make it work?
     
  14. mavsman13

    mavsman13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013

    Jul 24, 2013
    8
    10
    18
    delete
     
    #14 mavsman13, Aug 14, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2018
    j1232 likes this.
  15. swa goo

    swa goo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013

    Apr 20, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    What do i download to root optimus f3 with virgin mobile? Ive tried motochopper but it keeps saying that is doesnt find su. Please help asap!!!!!:thinking:
     
  16. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    Yeah, downloaded the drivers, downloaded two different motochoppers, and spammed the you-know-what out of the run.bat lol. It recognizes the device, adb just doesnt want to be recognized. Do i have to pull the motochopper folder out of the zip or no? Thanks for the help :)

    EDIT: It worked, i just had to pull the folder out of the zip lol
     
  17. Fox Mulder

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    393
    Posts:
    1,758
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    1,758
    1,313
    393
    NYC
    Um yeah you definitely have to extract the files first. ;)
    Motochopper worked for me instantly on the first try.
     
  18. j1232

    j1232 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    66
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    121
    6
    66
    Male
    Deli Cook
    Astoria, NY
  19. jamstewonline

    jamstewonline Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #209
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013

    Jul 28, 2013
    178
    42
    63
    Male
    Texas
    Wow rooting this phone was easy. less then a minute. thanks
     
  20. aloerose

    aloerose Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013

    Sep 13, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Motochopper worked wonderfully. I just got the f3 today (virgin mobile), and started my customization process (beginning with rooting) right after activating.
     
  21. schpelTiger

    schpelTiger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

    Feb 2, 2013
    36
    5
    16
    Just got this phone today (cracked my Optimus Elite's screen, oops), rooted successfully. Cannot wait until ROM development begins, if it does.
     
  22. Murf1

    Murf1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    607
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    607
    95
    88
    Male
    IT
    Indiana
    Installed LG drivers, ran motochopper, ran superuser, ran root checker - verified, ran update for superuser, ran root checker - verified. I'm Rooted!
     
  23. Murf1

    Murf1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    607
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    607
    95
    88
    Male
    IT
    Indiana
    Now that I have rooted and have Link2SD working can I turn off USB debugging?
     
  24. waterlubber

    waterlubber Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013

    Sep 21, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    If you ran the run.bat file, you MUST unzip the files first...then it should work. Hope that helped.
     
  25. Scholzpdx

    Scholzpdx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013

    Oct 5, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Root worked first try. My very first! Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...