1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile/Sprint] VM LS720V7 - Updating, Rooting, and Unbricking

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bkttk2, Jul 15, 2014.

  1. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    If your phone says it's on v6, your phone may not updated. But then again, If you lost root, it worked. Try wiping your cache.
     

    Advertisement

  2. GeeWiggles

    GeeWiggles Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014

    Jul 16, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Wiped the cache and it's till showing V6, but the OTA isn't popping up anymore. Anything else I could be doing wrong?
     
  3. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    No. I don't understand why it says your still on v6.
     
  4. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Please make this forum thread Stickied. Everyone is having issues with the new update because they are not reading this thread. It is important that they see it. Otherwise they will brick their phone when they update.
     
  5. OlyDroid

    OlyDroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    21
    4
    16
    Male
    Olympia, WA
    Lilrich, maybe because you hit "fix root"?Worked perfect on my wife's and mine. Gonna do one more for my mother in law later today. Thanks for putting this together so quick guys!
     
  6. GeeWiggles

    GeeWiggles Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014

    Jul 16, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Should I select not to fix root when I go to reboot from CWM? Since I'm re-rooting with towelroot it shouldn't matter, should it?
     
  7. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    I always select no. I don't think it will make a difference but it may be what is giving you issues.
     
  8. slkpmp

    slkpmp Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011

    Jan 13, 2011
    22
    7
    16
    Update zip caused a "phone. android " error which wouldn't let it finish boot.
    Used factory recovery to flash a v6 stock ROM I had on my SD card.
    Which let me boot into v7 with root.
    I had to reflash cwm.
    then flashed memory swap and over clock kernel.
    Restored apps with titanium.

    I did hit "fix root"
    still have some traces of purple metallic theme
     
  9. GeeWiggles

    GeeWiggles Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014

    Jul 16, 2014
    4
    0
    5
    Well still getting V6 in the info, guess I'll just give up for now and see if the OTA pops back up. If I go to Update LG Software it gives me the options of using google services or google play to update, it doesn't check at all for an update. Dunno what that has to do with anything.
     
  10. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    You were supposed to remove the purple metallic theme back to stock. That was supposed to be in the op at the top. Some of the important files that needed to be updated did not update because the checksum didn't match.
     
  11. bjoyner12690

    bjoyner12690 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    41
    7
    16
    Male
    Retail Manager
    Georgia
    I hit fix root and have had no trouble. And the black systemui theme stayed.
     
  12. ThePDW

    ThePDW Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    57
    3
    16
    Thanks so much for putting this together! Does anyone know what this update actually does?
     
  13. lilrich1789

    lilrich1789 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    153
    34
    43
    Maybe I should clarify some things... For starters I was on v6 rooted with cwm and purple theme. So I was under the impression since I was pre rooted with cwm to follow the second post which I did to the T and that's when I got the errors. I didn't realize to remove the theme so that might of caused my errors. But yes after I went through that process I posted before, the phone was running. It had root I never used towel root.but lost the cwm. So after I got it all set up I reinstalled the cwm 6.048 overclocked and now back to normal. Sorry for any confusion.
     
  14. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #120
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    508
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    508
    233
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    Thanks. I will add comment regarding the theme issue you experienced. Sorry about that.
     
  15. robaho

    robaho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    231
    81
    53
    BTW, if you installed my battery usage fix, you need to revert it or the update won't apply properly.
     
  16. robaho

    robaho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    231
    81
    53
    Also, I think you can change the version in the build.prop and then the update will not nag you...
     
  17. masterdbugger

    masterdbugger Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011

    Oct 28, 2011
    37
    22
    18
    I tried that once before and it bricked my phone, although it could have been user error
     
  18. robaho

    robaho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    231
    81
    53
    Maybe. There are several props you need to change.
     
  19. robaho

    robaho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    231
    81
    53
    There is a problem with the v7 update zip. Just remove the lines that patch the kernel. Then the safe root exploit will work - and you can apply the updates on devices running my oc kernel.

    I checked the v7 kernel source and there is nothing needed.
     
  20. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
  21. neoison

    neoison Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014

    Jun 13, 2014
    46
    0
    15
    Nice find and fixed update v7 needed. Thanks
     
  22. robaho

    robaho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    231
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012

    Oct 9, 2012
    231
    81
    53
    Seriously? How old are you?
     
  23. neoison

    neoison Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014

    Jun 13, 2014
    46
    0
    15
    Well big thanks the find will help everyone.
     
  24. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #120
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    508
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    508
    233
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    robaho

    Can you PM xclusive36 since he is the one that has put the time in with the update zip?

    If you two could work together on edits we can then post the updated file to assist the community.
     
  25. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #120
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    508
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    508
    233
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    Thanks. I added a comment to the guidance info.
     

Share This Page

Loading...