1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile/Sprint] WiFi Hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nfgp2014, Aug 2, 2013.

  1. nfgp2014

    nfgp2014 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Dec 31, 2012
    11
    0
    15
    Has anyone tried to use this phone as a wifi hotspot?
     

    Advertisement

  2. skarface1988

    skarface1988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    173
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012

    Dec 13, 2012
    173
    13
    38
    I tryed but dont work =[
     
  3. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    Your best bet would be to root it, and use WiFi tether for root users :thumbup:
     
  4. bob-st

    bob-st Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    372
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    372
    95
    53
    Has anyone been able to wifi hotspot this phone?

    Gonna switch to a new phone but wifi hotspot is a MUST have.
     
  5. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    hey my friend hav u tried tethering???!!!! i tried using the last 4 apps versions https://code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/ no luck still trying by playing around even tweaking Build.prop. lets see what happens.. i wll get back to YA' it soonest i get sum wrking
     
  6. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    All right ppl... I found this..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uMu1JGa18Gg&feature=youtube_gdata_player

    It works here is how.

    You must be rooted"""

    **1st. You should not put any info in the hotspot settings. You should leave it as is. If u did you are gonna hav to do a fact.Reset. (is the only way to get back ur original info.)
    **2..Download Jb tether from playstore https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.jaconet.fixtether
    **3...Download wifi.tether for root user And install https://code.google.com/p/android-w...etail?name=wireless_tether_2_0_7.apk&can=2&q=
    This version is the only one it works for now.
    Do not input any info. Leave it as is

    Too bad it needs to stay as open network until further fix.

    **A..(i recommend to reboot phone after installation).

    **4..turn on JB Tether allow Root permission.
    **5.. Turn on wifi-tether allow Root permission.
    **@.. Final... It should work. Edits: u might need UA extension for Google,Firefox,Opra. Browser..
    Sorry i dont know about E..xplorer.i do not use it.

    I hav testing it in wife.s & daughters.s phone for the past week and 1/2 no issues yet.
    Hope it works for you guys.
    If someone find a better way please post. N keep us on track.
     
    fatbro49 likes this.
  7. Entropic

    Entropic Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012

    Oct 21, 2012
    24
    14
    28
    I seem to have it working with a much simpler method:

    --Older version of WiFi tether from an old phone(Triumph) *Attached*

    ==Settings
    +Device Profile - Generic ICS\JB (wlan0)
    +Setup Method - Auto
    +Enable WiFi Encryption(should show as WPA\WPA2-PSK)
    --optional?
    +SSID - Mine is OptimusF3 ;P
    +WiFi Driver reload 2 - ON

    Hit back and start tethering with real WPA2 security in AP mode!

    Enjoy Responsibly like I do with my beer :beerglass:
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
  9. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
  10. androidforumscom

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013

    Oct 14, 2013
    3
    1
    6
    Male
    Will this work for the Sprint? What carrier are you using?

    Thanks in advance
     
  11. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    it should.
     
  12. androidforumscom

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013

    Oct 14, 2013
    3
    1
    6
    Male
    Great, thank you.
     
    Krlypumaa likes this.
  13. ZeRoSL

    ZeRoSL Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    tried the wifi tether, but it didn't work.

    it seems to be working, but then I cant seem to see the network on my other devices and sometimes the phone will connect to my wireless network while its supposedly using the wifi for broadcasting...

    its not working for me
     
  14. Krlypumaa

    Krlypumaa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012

    Jan 8, 2012
    1,770
    758
    253
    Male
    Media Editor,
    Tampa, FL.
    which phone u have and what process are u doing?
    i would like to help you.
     
  15. ZipLipZ

    ZipLipZ Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    58
    14
    18
    I'm seeing the same when I try to tether with the app earlier in the thread. You ever get it figured out?
     
  16. Raptor_Jesus

    Raptor_Jesus On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013

    Apr 6, 2013
    135
    22
    38
    Male
    Above methods didnt work for me.

    Sprint Hotspot native hotspot bypass (no root needed)

    1.Open your Dialer App
    3845#*720#

    2.Scroll down to IOT(CSG2)

    3.Enter CDMA Setting

    4.Data Setting

    5.DUN NAI

    6.Extend Modem YES/NO


    I modified my modem extension and toggled it to NO and it bypasses the Hotspot Prompt. Turning on Native hotspot then activates with no issues.

    Note**
    Issue with connecting to 4G/LTE unless you change the modem extension back. Otherwise its very handy to finally have non-rooted native hotspot.

    Working on:
    Sprint Network
    Jelly bean 4.1.2
    Build JZO54K

    Finally Enjoy a effortless Tether!
    Happy Holidays

    (In addition I have not browsed the web if this was discovered by anyone else. But if you can proof a earlier post or a improved 3G/4G tether please keep the thread updated.)
     
    TrustME90 likes this.
  17. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    Can you maybe upload the sprint hotspot apk? I wanna try and make it work on Vm. It worked on my old Evo V.
     
  18. wwtk

    wwtk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I attempted the method stated with wifi-tether by entropic with no success. I am on a rooted virgin mobile f3 on sprint network. It starts up fine, but basically does the same thing every other app I have tried does. I get the network started, it shows up in the ssid list of devices I want to connect to it but nothing can get connected. It appears no ip address is being issued to the devices from what I can tell.

    pdanet usb tethered then use wifi hotspot in pdanet on pc makes it work, but I really would like to elimitate the need for the pc so everything just connects directly to the phone. Any advice would be appreciated.

    WWTK
     
  19. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #124
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    508
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    508
    233
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
  20. wwtk

    wwtk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Zero disrespect intended, technically it is hotspot not a tether. Just to clarify for readers.

    Tethering worked for me fine from the start, but what I wanted (and the post you pointed out provides) makes the phone a hotspot.

    Tethering means the phone is attached to a pc, a hotspot is independent of a pc.
     
  21. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #124
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    508
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    508
    233
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    Thanks for clarifying for all as I do know the terms are used interchangeably by many (self included). Sorry for any confusion I may have caused.
     
  22. loonycgb2

    loonycgb2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #127
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013

    Dec 4, 2013
    407
    302
    108
    Male
    CNC Machinist
    Houston, TX
    If anyone needs to "usb tether" use clockwork tether.
     
  23. wwtk

    wwtk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Pdanet also worked well for usb tethering and the latest version allows you to turn your pc into a hotspot as well allowing others to use your tethered connection. Both worked fine on a stock F3 and after I rooted it. The only issue I had with it is that xbox live wouldn't work on the 360, it worked fine on my HTC DNA but not with the F3. The xbox one and the ps4 worked fine only the 360 had an issue.

    Before yall think I'm crazy I live in an area without high speed internet. My HTC DNA through verizon is what i use for all my internet at home, which is fairly rare because I travel for my job. Since I'm only home 1 or 2 weekends a month normally this is fine, except its still pricey to do through verizon to stream video. I bought the f3 so it can just sit at home when i'm there or not providing 4g internet, and I can reduce my verizon usage. Not an ideal solution, but it works for me ;)
     
  24. WATYF

    WATYF Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    31
    0
    15
    This worked for me on a Virgin Mobile Optimus F3. Thanks a million. :D

    WATYF
     
  25. WATYF

    WATYF Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    May 12, 2011
    31
    0
    15
    Oh, and btw... that tethering app (posted by Entropic) does NOT broadcast its SSID (as far as I could figure).

    This means you need to create the wireless network connection manually. Here's how:

    In Windows Vista/7/8... go to Control Panel > Network and Sharing Center > Manage Wireless Networks (on the left).

    Click the "Add" button then select "Manually Create a Network Profile".

    In the Network Name field, enter the SSID that you configured in the app on your Optimus (it must be spelled identically).

    Select "WPA2-Personal" for the Security Type

    In the Security Key field, enter the passkey that you configured in the app on your Optimus.

    IMPORTANT: YOU MUST check the "Connect even if the network is not broadcasting" box.

    Then hit OK.

    Now enable the WiFi Hotspot on your Optimus and you should see the network show up in your Windows wireless network list (it may take a few seconds for the hotspot to initialize).

    Once you've done this, the network will always automatically show up in your list whenever you enable the Hotspot, and if you checked the "Start this connection automatically" when creating the network in Windows, then it will automatically connect as well.

    WATYF
     

Share This Page

Loading...