1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] *UPDATED OP* VM SGS3 Stock Radio - FIXED!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by punkmaxx, Jun 21, 2013.

  1. Bulldogz1097

    Bulldogz1097 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    37
    2
    16
    it worked for me but my texting still doesnt work
     

    Advertisement

  2. redrunner1985

    redrunner1985 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    56
    9
    16
    I haven't flashed anything other than rooting. It started doing this out of the box.
     
  3. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Has this modem file worked for anyone yet? ?Still trying to get back to stock!!
     
  4. lordmage

    lordmage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    270
    96
    53
    in the process of uploading a virgin mobile stock rooted non activated GSIII CWM backup at the moment. as of this post still has over an one and half left. as per an odin flash able or otherwise dont ask me.
     
  5. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Thanks but I still need a stock modem to get back to full stock !
     
  6. punkmaxx

    punkmaxx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    475
    291
    88
    Male
    Music Producer, Arborist, General Contractor
    West Virginia
    This thread contains a stock modem...
     
  7. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Has not work for me yet flashed in Odin failed!
     
  8. lordmage

    lordmage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    270
    96
    53
    from what g6odman said the modem files are stored in a separate partition so unless what you flashed re-wrote them then all you should have to do is fix your APN's to address a mms issue. he said he would need a logcat of mms error issues to see what's going on
     
  9. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Flashed sprint stock rooted rom/modem/kernel from sxtp Site!
    Threw Odin on my pc!!
     
  10. punkmaxx

    punkmaxx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    475
    291
    88
    Male
    Music Producer, Arborist, General Contractor
    West Virginia
    Okay I'll try to make another....
     
  11. punkmaxx

    punkmaxx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    475
    291
    88
    Male
    Music Producer, Arborist, General Contractor
    West Virginia
    Mount Points....


    mmcblk0p1: /Firmware (MODEM.bin) vfat

    mmcblk0p7: /Boot

    mmcblk0p11: /Efs EXT4

    mmcblk0p14: /System EXT4

    mmcblk0p15: /Data EXT4

    mmcblk0p16: /Persist/Tombstones EXT4

    mmcblk0p17: /Cache EXT4

    mmcblk0p18: /Recovery

    FULL LIST:
    Number Start End Size File system Name Flags
    1 4194kB 67.1MB 62.9MB modem
    2 67.1MB 67.2MB 131kB sbl1
    3 67.2MB 67.5MB 262kB sbl2
    4 67.5MB 68.0MB 524kB sbl3
    5 68.0MB 70.1MB 2097kB aboot
    6 70.1MB 70.6MB 524kB rpm
    7 70.6MB 81.1MB 10.5MB boot
    8 81.1MB 81.7MB 524kB tz
    9 81.7MB 82.2MB 524kB pad
    10 82.2MB 92.7MB 10.5MB param
    11 92.7MB 107MB 14.3MB ext4 efs
    12 107MB 110MB 3146kB modemst1
    13 110MB 113MB 3146kB modemst2
    14 113MB 1686MB 1573MB ext4 system
    15 1686MB 14.8GB 13.1GB ext4 userdata
    16 14.8GB 14.8GB 8389kB ext4 persist
    17 14.8GB 15.7GB 881MB ext4 cache
    18 15.7GB 15.7GB 10.5MB recovery
    19 15.7GB 15.7GB 10.5MB fota
    20 15.7GB 15.7GB 21.0MB ext4 carrier
    21 15.7GB 15.7GB 6291kB backup
    22 15.7GB 15.7GB 3146kB fsg
    23 15.7GB 15.7GB 8192B ssd
    24 15.7GB 15.8GB 5243kB grow
     
  12. punkmaxx

    punkmaxx Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    475
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011

    Aug 23, 2011
    475
    291
    88
    Male
    Music Producer, Arborist, General Contractor
    West Virginia
    updated OP
     
  13. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    Just want to say thank you so much your new modem file worked gueat put you bin file in a md4 flashable modem zip work first time flashed your backup am I'm finally back to full stock rom thank so much dud!!!!!
     
  14. XAL2

    XAL2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    454
    29
    43
    Male
    Stagehand
    Niles, Illinois
    How did you get it to work? everytime I flash through odin it fails. You said that you replaced the modem file with a flashable clockworkmod md4 file then flashed?
     
  15. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    Download a flashable modem for Sprint. Open it up with 7zip and replace the modem.bin and save it. Flash it and enjoy.. hopefully ;)
     
  16. XAL2

    XAL2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    454
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    454
    29
    43
    Male
    Stagehand
    Niles, Illinois
    WHen I open up the modem.tar.md5 file it says NON-HLOS.bin thats what you mean correct? Drop that into a cwm flashable zip then flash in cwm?

    Edit: Doing that worked however I still don't have any data. Any suggestions?
     
  17. peter counias

    peter counias Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    442
    29
    43
    I've put this inplace of bin in sprint flashable zip an it works!!!
     
  18. rohlfyboy

    rohlfyboy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013

    Jul 15, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Male
    Hello. I ran into a problem when I rooted my phone. My phone works fine, except it doesn't get any cell signal (I'm getting a circle with a slash through it in the status bar). I did nothing other than root my phone, so I don't know what's wrong with my phone. I posted about it in the root thread (http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=729490). I believe that the problem could be solved by flashing the stock rom and flashing this stock modem, but I don't know how to flash a modem along with a rom. Could someone please tell me how to flash the modern along with the stock ROM? Help would be much appreciated! Thanks!
     
  19. TheBritton

    TheBritton Resident Galaxy Cat
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,257
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    2,257
    1,225
    323
    Male
    Radio DJ & Production Director, NWS Certified Skyw
    Amarillo, TX
    You are correct. You will need to first flash the stock rom and then the stock modem.

    If you haven't done so already, go ahead and flash the stock rom flashable zip with your custom recovery which can be found here: http://androidforums.com/virgin-mob...ck-unrooted-rom-flashable-zip-cwm-backup.html It will be the second download file. It will be listed as "flashable zip". Download it to your sd card and flash it with your custom recovery.

    After you have flashed the stock rom, you will then want to flash the stock modem which is in the first post of this thread.

    Here is how to flash the modem listed here in the guide:

    First, make sure you have installed the Samsung USB drivers onto your computer that are found here: Samsung_E4GT_USB_Driver_v1_3_2360_0.exe
    Odin3_v3.04 can be found here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2133496
    1. Download the VMSGS3 modem in .tar format.
    2. Turn off your smartphone
    3. On your PC, launch the ODIN.exe file you unzipped from the prerequisites.
    4. On ODIN, click the Phone section and select the .tar kernel you downloaded from step 1. Don't click anything else.
    5. Place phone in download mode by pressing Volume Down + Power. Hold until confirmation screen appears. Confirm by pressing Volume +.
    6. Connect your phone to the PC via USB cable
    7. Check ODIN. A small box on the upper left should turn blue and the dialog box must display "Added!!"
    8. Select "Start" and wait for it to finish. After it is complete, your SGS3 will reboot on its own. You now have a custom modem flashed on your phone!

      How To Check For A Successful Custom Modem Installation


      Go to Settings > About Phone > Baseband Version. It should coincide with the modem you just flashed. Enjoy!
     
    rohlfyboy likes this.
  20. rohlfyboy

    rohlfyboy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013

    Jul 15, 2013
    19
    0
    15
    Male
    I did this and everything worked fine up until I flashed the modem. It failed after it said "transmitting... wait 2 minutes." The phone also reads "SECURE CHECK FAIL: modem" on it after starting the process. Any suggestions as to what to do now?
     
  21. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Okay I flashed this after a flash killed my service and it restored cell but not data. Is there a way to restore stock APNs and data or?
     
  22. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    Try doing a profile update from phone settings. Should work.
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  23. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Thanks will do. I flashed TheBritton's MD7 stock file and I'm gonna see if it helps but my APNs are so messed up right now.
    Edit:I'm clicking on update PRL and Profile but it's not working and now I have "Preparing Network" Message in the notification tab
     
  24. lordmage

    lordmage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011

    Nov 4, 2011
    270
    96
    53
    i had that issue to i went back to stock via stock md7 punkman rom then kies with the rtn and have since avoid the update all is well for now.
     
  25. JupiterOne

    JupiterOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013

    I never could get punkmaxx modem file or any other to work through odin. They either failed or didn't fix anything. out of curiosity i made a zip package with the stock modem/firmware from the stock firmware package. I flashed it from twrp and it installed just fine. Now when i re flash the rom i do not lose lte. This may work to return your service. Try that package and see what happens. It's the same modem as punkmaxx but in a flashable zip package and the rest of the firmware files.
    vmu_gs3_stock_md7_modem-firmware.zip

    P.S. i was able to flash the two mg2 update files successfully but only the build changed to mg2. Baseband is still md7 BUT since i flashed the modem zip, i no longer lose data connection!!!!!!!

    P.S.S. if someone with a pure mg2 build/baseband could extract the modem and send it to me i can try and fix the baseband problem to get us to mg2. If you have pure mg2 run this command in a terminal or from adb shell if you know how...
     
    terrance Jones and mat12390 like this.

Share This Page

Loading...