1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] [VMOBI][ROM][KERNEL] Victorious ROM + VaeVictus OC kernel (Updated 7-30-13)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JerryScript, Jun 26, 2013.

  1. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    The developer of this ROM dropped out.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lycanson

    Lycanson Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    Male
    Assistant Administrator
    Mesa, Arizona
    Madbat likes this.
  3. Lycanson

    Lycanson Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    Male
    Assistant Administrator
    Mesa, Arizona
    Did you follow the update directions to the letter? I ask because both my stock and 4.3 camera working 100%. Actually, the Rom itself is functioning superbly on my device.
     
  4. Hunk_4TH

    Hunk_4TH Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014

    Feb 7, 2014
    10
    3
    16
    Male
    How does one go about putting the CPU/GPU back to default speeds?
     
  5. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    Use an app like trickster mod or similar that allows you to adjust CPU.
     
  6. Hunk_4TH

    Hunk_4TH Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014

    Feb 7, 2014
    10
    3
    16
    Male
  7. madosaurus

    madosaurus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013

    Nov 3, 2013
    50
    2
    16
    Well I'm a novice at this, but if you followed the directions I think you would have no-frills CPU control app like I have. so open it Then you can change the max freq. I found changing the governor made a lot of diff too (to batttery charge life) - I'm using "on demand" at present and limiting freq to max 1.35GHz. the top right menu tag opens stats which show I've been on top speed 11% and bottom speed 74% - I htink the 11% time at top speed must use up a lot power if it's up a lot higher in frequency.
     
  8. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    No frills is ok.. There are better ones out there. I only said trickster because it allows individual control of CPU cores.
    But no frills is perfect for starting out. Good recommendation.
     
  9. madosaurus

    madosaurus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013

    Nov 3, 2013
    50
    2
    16
    You're way ahead of me. I was only reporting on the one I roboticly installed according to instructions, that's the only one I've seen - in case that was any use to other newbies.

    My root is still working well, although it crashes occasionally.
     
  10. TeachMe

    TeachMe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    466
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010

    Mar 22, 2010
    466
    129
    88
    Just flash a non modded kernel...
     
  11. Hunk_4TH

    Hunk_4TH Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2014

    Feb 7, 2014
    10
    3
    16
    Male
    Do you have a recommended non modded kernel I could flash? and will it erase Victorious and or brick my phone? Sorry for the dumb questions I'm new to this.
     
  12. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    You have a backup you made before flashing victorious? It has the stock (non modded) kernal in it. In twrp, restore only "boot" from that backup and you will have non modded kernal. You will still have victorious ROM you just won't have vaevictus kernal.
     
  13. ionymous

    ionymous Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014

    Feb 1, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    The Download Victorious-0.3.1.zip link is borked.

    Anyone have this somewhere?
    Or know if the github version is good?

    Sorry as a newb I can't post links.
     
  14. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    I have it but its huge and I don't have a file host to upload it to. You can download it by components here http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=6073135 he broke it down for ppl to troubleshoot. Its the most recent and its the whole thing, just broken down to components to see why a few ppl were getting bootloops. Turns out it was only that some phones can't handle the overclock kernel. :cool: you don't have to reboot after each flash unless you're having trouble with the ROM. Just flash each one then wipe cache and dalvik.
     
  15. crshortt

    crshortt Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013

    Jul 8, 2013
    59
    7
    16
    Male

    I am wanting to remove the external to internal swap so that I can more readily access the card without shutting the phone off. Plus, I have a suspicion it may be causing me some minor lag issues - though that is secondary to easier access to the card. Is deleting the file mentioned above the only thing I need to do? And maybe reboot?

    Should I do a TWRP backup first?

    I do wish to continue using Link2SD though. However, do I need to unlink everything first, then relink after removing the external2internal swap?

    I also have a symbolic link that I experimented around with for a while with Google Play Music a year or so ago. I don't remember exactly what my issue was, but I think I was trying to get "pinned" music out of system memory maybe. Anyway, I couldn't put the folder containing the music on the "new" internal card (which was actually the external card) because it had the same name as the folder that Music Hub was using. So I put it on the phone's internal card which was now being considered external. I assume I need to remove this link too? Maybe even delete the folder and let Play Music create another one? It looks like Play Music actually allows you to choose internal or external now, something I don't think it had as an option when I originally did this. Turns out I haven't been using it anyway, but think I might start. The files that get "pinned" seem to be smaller than the original mp3s, and I even used Play Music as a way to stop needing itunes to manage music on my iPod Touch. I simply deleted all the songs on the iPod, then made a playlist in Google Play Music to pin on the Ipod. Works pretty good, and I don't need any Apple software whatsoever on my computer to manage music on my iPod now.
     
  16. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    Short answer, yes that's the file to remove. Then reboot. Always make a backup before making any system changes.
    Edit: also link2sd will have to recreate mount scripts if you delete that file.
     
    crshortt likes this.
  17. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Is there a way to silence the start up and shut down so people don't think my mom is some ten year old every time she powers up or powers down?
     
  18. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    The sound is built into the kernel, (initlogo.rle) so just flash stock kernel. Of course you will lose over clock capability. Or flash teachme's performance kernel. Unless you know how to compile ramdisk to remove the bootsound.
     
    dbpaddler likes this.
  19. winthedoit

    winthedoit Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014

    Mar 24, 2014
    1
    0
    5
    I recently rooted my virgin mobile epic 4g touch samsung galaxy s2 with a sprint root, when it finished it turned my service to sprint and even when it turn the phone sprints logo comes up is there anyway I can get the service back to virgin mobile myself?
     
  20. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    Wrong thread. This is for the galaxy victory. But I would look for a stock .tar for Odin for your phone. And never use anything that isn't for your phone and carrier unless you know what you're doing!:D
     
  21. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009

    Don't think my mom cares about overclocking. If she's still complaining next weekend, I'll flash stock. Thanks.
     
  22. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    If you made a backup before flashing victorious, restore the boot only and that will give you back stock kernel. :cool: (boot.img is kernel)
     
  23. pcmxa

    pcmxa Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Dec 31, 2012
    67
    13
    18
    Aren't the sounds located in system/media/audio/ui in the virgin mobile directory? I thought I remembered deleting the boot and shutdown noise there but I don't have the Rom anymore so can't be sure.

    Also muting the phone before shutdown is a workaround.
     
  24. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,568
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,568
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    Oh yeah I was thinking of the victorious rom logo.
     
  25. mscheaf

    mscheaf Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012

    Jul 17, 2012
    97
    6
    16
    Alton, IL
    Does this rom by any chance allow me to use UMS mode for USB?
     

Share This Page

Loading...