1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Virgin Mobile] Working 4G on Sprint ROMs

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by notebooko, Aug 1, 2013.

  1. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    So has nobody found a way to get 4G working on Sprint ROMs? I'm currently running the M.O.A.R and 4G isn't working. :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ping0

    Ping0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013

    Jun 27, 2013
    105
    11
    38
    Male
    Texas
    We're having issues on aosp and aopk Roms. Be patient. Synergy Rom runs 4g though. About the only working one I've ran. Careful with flashing right now.
     
  3. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    So 4G is working on Touchwiz ROMs?
     
  4. Ping0

    Ping0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013

    Jun 27, 2013
    105
    11
    38
    Male
    Texas
    Yeah, you may have problems with mms though. So still. Be careful
     
  5. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    Hmm.. The ROM I'm currently running is TouchWiz based and 4G doesn't seem to be working. Is there a fix that has to be applied or some network settings changed?
     
  6. craig71200

    craig71200 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012

    May 9, 2012
    149
    22
    38
    4G is working with Sprint kernels?
     
  7. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    I don't think so.. :\
     
  8. supermario7347

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    10
    7
    16
    North Carolina
    I have working 4G on my Galaxy S3 but lose the ability for MMS. After some looking around other forums and xda I have found the APN that enables MMS but only on 3G but there is no connection to LTE.

    Name- Global Roaming - SPRINT
    APN - cinet.spcs
    Username - Sprint
    Password and sever are both marked as an * not sure what "*" stands for.
    MMSC= http://mmsc.vmobl.com:8080/mms?
    MMS Proxy- 205.239.233.136
    MMS Port- 81
    MCC- 310
    MNC- 120
    APN Protocol- IPv4
    APN Roaming protocol- IPv4
    Bearer- Unspecified
     
  9. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    How did you get 4g working?
     
  10. Ping0

    Ping0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013

    Jun 27, 2013
    105
    11
    38
    Male
    Texas
    You can get 4g working, but you'll lose mms. Or you can have mms, but lose 4g. Be patient. Roms are coming.
     
  11. xthedakmanx

    xthedakmanx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    767
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011

    Sep 10, 2011
    767
    652
    163
    Male
    Prepare yourself, roms are coming


    [​IMG]
     
    Ping0 likes this.
  12. kellysa111

    kellysa111 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    May 2, 2010
    119
    7
    56
    Can't wait till everything is figured out. I want a pretty pink themed Rom like the wicked sensations one.e
     
  13. jercb123

    jercb123 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    After much testing I have found it is possible to have 4g LTE and MMS. The only thing is you need the correct apn settings and mms will not work with 4g on or connected. If you go to the testing menu you can see your current connection. If it is LTE or erhpd it will not send or receive but over evdo it will. So you need to toggle 4g on and of for it to work. I could upload the apn if anyone needs it.
    EDIT: I am running moar rom
     
  14. The informant

    The informant Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012

    Jun 27, 2012
    111
    4
    36
    Does that work for AOSP roms?
     
  15. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    have you tried using the stock messaging app?
     
  16. jercb123

    jercb123 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    14
    1
    16
    Yeah it is.
    I'm not sure about aosp ask the rooms I tried didn't have a working camera so I never tried.
     
  17. fcrjr

    fcrjr Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    May 27, 2013

    May 27, 2013
    53
    9
    16
    Male
    Michigan
    Could you please upload the apn? I installed M.O.A.R. rom but i have no 4g.
    This rom is soooooooo awesome. If I can get 4g working I think I'll stick with this rom for a while.
    Thanks!
     
  18. Ab5traktion

    Ab5traktion Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    382
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012

    Feb 10, 2012
    382
    148
    68
  19. spacepanda

    spacepanda Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013

    Jun 11, 2013
    96
    14
    18
    California
    So you don't necessarily have 4g then... I'll test the apns

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 4
     
  20. StaticMaal

    StaticMaal Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    315
    155
    68
    Hacking Android Phone
    Raleigh,NC
    Did changing the apns for mms work on sprint roms for Virgin S3?
     
  21. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    Anyone running a sprint TW ROM that doesnt mind testing out what I think will fix LTE please post your Sprint TW ROM. (link to the xda page on it even better)

    I will have you flash a update that will replace your kernel, possible apns-conf.xml file, and build.prop to enable LTE again. Based on Building my ROM with a Sprint kernel I have a theory.

    You would have to make a nandroid backup, flash my update and test. If no work - restore your nandroid.
     
  22. macknificent1

    macknificent1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013

    Jul 26, 2013
    42
    3
    16
    I have the moar rom running on 4g and 3g but I cannot get the mms to work because I think I need the msl for my phone (Which I feel is impossible for me to get at this point.).
     
  23. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    Can you tell us how you got 4g working?
     
  24. craig71200

    craig71200 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012

    May 9, 2012
    149
    22
    38
    [QdefinitelyedRyder;6140065]Anyone running a sprint TW ROM that doesnt mind testing out what I think will fix LTE please post your Sprint TW ROM. (link to the xda page on it even better)

    I will have you flash a update that will replace your kernel, possible apns-conf.xml file, and build.prop to enable LTE again. Based on Building my ROM with a Sprint kernel I have a theory.

    You would have to make a nandroid backup, flash my update and test. If no work - restore your nandroid.[/QUOTE]

    I need this if it works still dont have 4g...
     
  25. MopedRyder

    MopedRyder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    435
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013

    Aug 22, 2013
    435
    381
    88
    Aviation
    OHIO
    I need this if it works still dont have 4g...[/QUOTE]

    What ROM are you on?
     

Share This Page

Loading...