1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Virtual Machines in Android?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by birel44, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. birel44

    birel44 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Hey all!

    After searching the forum, I couldn't find anything like this so I figured I'd post about it. Essentially what I am looking for is a virtualbox style application for my phone where I could essentially put an ISO on my SD card and then install and use an OS such as Ubuntu or XP. I know it'd be awfully resource intensive and that it may have hurdles because phone processors aren't standard x86 (I read this on other forums, but I'm unsure if that is correct?), but I'm just wondering, does anybody know of anything like this out there?

    Thanks,
    Andy
     

    Advertisement

  2. Marc Wonderland

    Marc Wonderland Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    160
    15
    38
    916
    You want to put a PC operating system on your phone? How much space do you have on the phone?? I am not saying it is impossible however I have never heard it done before.
     
  3. UrbanMuppet

    UrbanMuppet Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    No longer a contributing member. Account pending for deletion.
     
  4. birel44

    birel44 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    I have quite a few SD cards on the space part. And if need be, I'd order one of Samsung 's 32 gig cards. But i was thinking the same about the other phones being able to run it.

    Hmmm.. all things to ponder.
     
  5. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I think RAM would be a big issue. Running two OS's on one device (especially one of them being a full-blown desktop OS) is not going to run well at all.
     
  6. birel44

    birel44 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    That's what I was thinking too. But couldn't I use some of my card for swap? Also, I was thinking of upgrading to a Droid 2 when its released or the x. Either way, that's half a gig, right? Which half of that to each could do it. I know my Eris doesn't have 256mb and I'm running Ubuntu in a vm with that just fine now. Maybe a python script on application startup to kill any thing that'd be chewing up ram. Again, all just ideas.
     

Share This Page

Loading...