1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Virus/Adware

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by JR1704, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    Hello,
    I have an LG G5, using Chrome browser. Every time I try to access a new site, I'm redirected to a page telling me I have a virus and that I need to download an antivirus program.
    I've uninstalled/reinstalled Chrome, cleared cache/data, run several malware scanners and all returned clean, (though the page I was redirected to changed after each attempt at a solution).
    Any help is greatly appreciated!
    Thanks in advance
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. lvt

    lvt Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    1,542
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013

    Jan 30, 2013
    1,542
    555
    283
    Male
    Paris <--> Taipei
    Did you try to install another browser, eg. Firefox, Opera... ?
     
  3. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    No, I haven't. Ideally I'd like to get to the bottom of the issue with Chrome, if possible
     
  4. lvt

    lvt Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    1,542
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013

    Jan 30, 2013
    1,542
    555
    283
    Male
    Paris <--> Taipei
    Just to see whether it's a Chrome issue or system issue. If it happens with any browser, it's not Chrome, you might want to reset your phone to factory setting if you can't find the culprit app.
     
  5. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    Doesn't seem to be replicating the issue in Firefox, or the GoogleNow browser. Looks like it's just Chrome.
     
  6. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,845
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,845
    1,917
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    Hi

    Does the pop up occur in an incognito tab?

    Did you run Malwarebytes and Addon Detector. Those two find most things.

    Re uninstalling, did you do it this way:

    Turn off wifi and data
    Close chrome and delete from recent apps
    Go to settings>app manager
    Find chrome
    Delete cache and data
    Uninstall from settings.
     
  7. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    21,716
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    21,716
    14,912
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Agreed. It's clearly some bit of adware that's got into Chrome, so the first thing to do is clear Chrome's cache, if that doesn't fix it I'd try clearing Chrome's data. I don't think there's a need to factory reset the whole device.
     
    tube517, Jfalls63, lvt and 1 other person like this.
  8. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    Yes, it's much more regular in Incognito tabs.
    Yes, I've run those plus Avast and something else, forgotten what.
    And yes, cleared cache and data, uninstalled updates, disabled the app, restarted device and reinstalled it. Same issue.
    Pain in the aaaaaaarse.
     
  9. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    Saying that, Addon Detector picked up several addons for Chrome, but none of which seemed particularly worrying. Is there anything I should look out for in particular?
     
  10. KpopB2AST

    KpopB2AST Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016

    Aug 16, 2016
    4
    0
    15
    Male
    is just an add so you can download an uneeded app
    doesnt realy take away the virus, there wasnt realy a virus to begin with
     
  11. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    Update; Firefox is now having the same issue.
     
  12. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    Update#2
    Restored to factory settings and still coming up with the same issue. Any idea what it could be?
     
  13. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,845
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,845
    1,917
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
    When you restored, did it reinstall all your apps?

    Try booting into safe mode and see if it still happens. If it is OK, add your installed apps back one at a time until you find which one is doing it.
     
    JR1704 and psionandy like this.
  14. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,465
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    That 1st screenshot looks like a whole new browser window was opened to being you that warning. When I run into that I just tap on the number in the saquare (in your case 2) and swipe it away. Not sure what the deal is with screenshot 2. I believe the number 1 screenshot only happens at certain sites so it's something embedded in their pages possibly.
     
  15. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    They both redirected, in #1 I just had a second tab open already.
    It's happening every time I go to a site for the first time. Incognito was just so I didn't get random sites in my suggested list.
     
  16. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    I'll have a crack at that. Good plan, Batman.
     
  17. JR1704

    JR1704 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016

    Aug 20, 2016
    10
    0
    25
    Male
    Rebooted in safe mode.
    Same result.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. girolez

    girolez Often Off Piste
    Rank:
     #48
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    3,845
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    3,845
    1,917
    543
    Male
    Retired
    Les Gets, France
  19. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,465
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Definitely not a Virus.
     

Share This Page

Loading...