1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Visual Voicemail Notification

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by deadsoccer, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. deadsoccer

    deadsoccer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    After 1 day, my visual voicemail has stopped working. I have to call in to get my messages and they do not appear on my phone. My phone does not give me an indicator that I have a message either, only a missed call.

    Any ideas? I have the most recent "upgrade"
     

    Advertisement

  2. NYVetteGuy

    NYVetteGuy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009

    Oct 2, 2009
    76
    1
    16
    Commercial Real Estate
    Westchester Cty, NY
    Hmmm same thing is happening to me, worked the first day or two...but the only difference is..and perhaps you arent just waiting as long as I am...some eventually show up HOURS later but not all..this is the most buggy thing so far and very annoying...
     
  3. brdsng

    brdsng Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    Oct 13, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    Are you sure your data connection is working? The only problem I've had with VV was when my data connection was down. Other than that instance, it's been awesome!



     
  4. gclaus

    gclaus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009

    Oct 5, 2009
    22
    1
    36
    I'm starting to think mine won't download or notify when I'm connected to Wifi.
     
  5. mr.menendez

    mr.menendez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    31
    9
    16
    Venice, CA
    Same here, I tried calling myself and left a few messages, not one indication that I had a vmail until I restarted my phone. Plus the playback sound is just downright horrible
     
  6. NYVetteGuy

    NYVetteGuy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009

    Oct 2, 2009
    76
    1
    16
    Commercial Real Estate
    Westchester Cty, NY
    The sound quality is not horrible but I guess it could be better...the fact remains it doesnt work more often than not....:mad:
     
  7. sr1982

    sr1982 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    153
    1
    36
    Is there a way I can set up my voicemail so all the caller hears is my name? I hate setting up an actual message.
     
  8. mr.menendez

    mr.menendez Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    31
    9
    16
    Venice, CA
    For some reason my voicemails sound like they are being transmitted from space very thin and AM radio like.
     
  9. Namek

    Namek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    LA
    I had the same problem. I was killing the "app.vnotes" with Advanced Task Manager. Turns out that the app.vnotes is the visual voicemail app.

    I've also learned not to kill the "clock app", your alarm won't go off if its killed.
     
  10. BloodEagle

    BloodEagle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    6
    0
    5
    Try this. Go into the visual voicemail, hit menu, then click settings, next screen at the bottom hit Check for upgrade. If it says there is one, nad you let it install it, when it is done, just to make sure repeat the process.

    After day 1 mine quit working, and I thought I had done something wrong, and after that, it is working fine.
     
  11. Sabre66

    Sabre66 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    95
    2
    16
    MD/DC Metro
    I can't seem to find the App for Visual Voicemail...is there an icon for it?

    I have one for Voice Search, Voicemail, Voice Dialer, and Voice Recorder, but nothing for Visual Voicemail. Am i missing something?

    I tried using Menu when in Voicemail, but that doesn't show anything for Visual either. I'm confused.
     
  12. Namek

    Namek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009

    Sep 9, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    LA
    The Voicemail app is the visual Voicemail.
     
  13. Sabre66

    Sabre66 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    95
    2
    16
    MD/DC Metro
    Alright, thanx. I thought there was specific App called Visual Voicemail. My bad. I haven't tried clicking that one yet when i have a voicemail, i just called voicemail and listened that way.

    Tell you what i'd love to see as an App...a method of transfering all your voicemails msgs to text...so you don't have to keep replaying when you get distracted. Any developers listening...lol.
     
  14. dbg2410

    dbg2410 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    7
    0
    5
    Call CS and get them to reset your vm. Then set up your vm by pressing and holding 1(you know the old way to check your vm). DO NOT SET YOUR VM UP VIA THE VOICEMAIL APP!!!! Same issue and after doing this has worked perfectly
     
  15. vmjack

    vmjack Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Make sure you can get a data session. See if you can browse somewhere. If not, you may have a data provisioning issue. Try power cycling the device or popping the battery and see if this resolves it.

    If you can get data, try to take the Voicemail upgrade if you haven't already. To complete the upgrade, you will have to check the "unknown sources" box, and then go back into the voicemail client to continue. If you weren't sure the upgrade went through successfully, try to do the upgrade again, and if it says there is no upgrade available, you should be good. If it still doesn't work, try power cycling the device or popping the battery and see if this resolves it. If that doesn't work, *2 Talk.
     
  16. deadsoccer

    deadsoccer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    a few hours after i created the thread i realized i was not getting a bunch of texts too. I thought maybe tasKiller which I had installed was killing a bunch of background apps the phone needed.

    I did a factory reset on my phone and did not reinstall taskiller or any other task manager apps I had downloaded. Voicemail works fine now and I am also getting all my texts.
     
  17. philologic

    philologic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I seem to have a different problem...Visual VM has been working right but I get a notification that I have an email from my own number...When I check there is no email...the time stamp changes to the last time I tried to clear the notification...It will NOT clear...just keeps reappearing...Any Idea how to get rid of this phantom notification??
     
  18. Archon810

    Archon810 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    153
    81
    53
    Agreed, the voicemail quality is absolutely horrible. I think it uses the lowest quality sound encoding possible, for whatever idiotic reason. Let us control it, HTC.
     
  19. NYVetteGuy

    NYVetteGuy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009

    Oct 2, 2009
    76
    1
    16
    Commercial Real Estate
    Westchester Cty, NY
    Nice tip...did just what you suggest and it needed an update...which I imagine a lot of us need...

    Seems to work like a charm now...:D
     
  20. Mrniceguy

    Mrniceguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    I personally think the sound isnt too bad. my irritation is since im using handcent i get a txt alert in addition to my VisVoicemail im gonna see if the dev can provide a fix. and shame on htc for using such a cheap hack to get VV
     
  21. Archon810

    Archon810 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    153
    81
    53
    Yeah, I posted about that before too. ChompSMS also has this problem - I'm hoping one of them can fix it soon, or 1.6 comes out.
     
  22. drewdinardo

    drewdinardo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009

    Oct 20, 2009
    4
    0
    5
    My problem seems to be a little different. I am unable to access visual voice mail. I get: Sorry the application com.coremobility.app.vnotes (process com.coremobility.app.vnotes) has stopped unexpectedly. Please Try Again... Trying again gets same results. I deleted the Advanced App Killer thinking this may have caused it but no luck... THUS, I'm not able to check for upgrade because I can't access it... Any suggestions. I was going to delete it but was afraid to, since I don't know how I would reload it...
     
  23. deadsoccer

    deadsoccer Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    21
    0
    15
    drewdinardo..
    factory reset worked for me. It was irritating to lose some of the apps installed and home screens I set up but the visual voicemail was too important for me to not have it work correctly.
     
  24. Mrniceguy

    Mrniceguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009

    I am gonna have to go with the above poster... Try a master factory reset.
    It might help.
     
  25. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009

    Oct 3, 2009
    365
    37
    43
    Civil Engineer
    Aurora, IL
    when you get the notification from Handcent, reply to the message (with anything....just send a reply). You will most likely end up getting something back saying "blah blah blah, number won't accept replys". disregard this. Go to the message that you replied to, the one that notified you of the voicemail, hold your finger on it to bring up the on screen menu and choose blacklist. You will now blacklist this "sender" i.e. the voicemail text notification and will not receive it anymore, but your regular voicemail notification will still work as designed.
     
    mich0020 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...