1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Vodafone Locked?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ferox, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. Ferox

    Ferox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Hi All Can the forum members who have a handset from vodafone let me know if they are locked? Seems to be a mix of locked and unlocked handsets! I am on O2 looking to buy a Legend!

    Many thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ferox

    Ferox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sorry meant to ask if anyone has successfully had a Legend unlocked?
     
  3. Dog_chops

    Dog_chops Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    88
    13
    18
    Got mine from Vodafone on-line (UK website) it arrived with German language as default, but was unlocked.
     
  4. Bootsock

    Bootsock Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Mine works fine on o2 and Orange, can't say I've tried any other SIM cards though but I'm guessing they'll work too.

    Sent from my HTC Legend using Tapatalk
     
  5. MattHirst

    MattHirst Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Got mine from Phones4U on Vodafone and came preset with German. When setting it up i found if you had the battery cover on,it was english but without it, it was in german. Look at the battery cover, there seems to be some sort of electrical contacts so that could be something to do with it, strange either way.

    Anyway, mine works fine with my O2 sim which is a good job as Voda still haven't connected my sim after 5 days!
     
  6. GeoffBot

    GeoffBot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    100
    37
    63
    Male
    ISP Sales Account Manager
    Brighton, UK
    Got mine from Voda shop; I put an o2 sim card in it and it wouldn't make calls but didn't say 'locked' or anything but I guess it is?
     
  7. krifor03

    krifor03 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    Cambridge, UK
    ok so I believe theres two versions of Legends floating around. One vodafone branded and one not. I've had both. Vodafone branded version makes you do the set up in german, shows the vodafone logo after the HTC logo at boot up, and had duplicate vodaphone branded icons.

    the non branded phone (the one i have now and LOVE!!!) does the set up in english, only shows the htc logo followed by "quietly brilliant" scrolling beneath. there are only android icons, and as far as i know these are the only Legends that can get the OTA SW update (my vodafone branded phone always said my SW was up to date)

    I like the non-branded version WAY better
     
  8. joshorilla

    joshorilla Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    5
    1
    26
    Sorry, decided to go offline :)
    N/A
    Sorry, decided to go offline :)
     
  9. c_man

    c_man Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    174
    40
    43
    London, UK
    I read somewhere that early batches were unlocked/unbranded.

    The latter batches will be branded [splash screen when turning on and also a Vodafone branded scene... most likely locked too].

    I've bought a Legend sim free/unlocked so I expect it will be completely free of any branding. Hopefully this means I can get OTA updates without any issues too.
     
  10. SS26

    SS26 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have a HTC Legend which starts up with the Vodafone branding, i inserted my O2 sim and it works to a point.
    I am able to send and recieve calls and text messages but am not able to connect to the internet (WAP) on the phone. However the internet on the phone does work via wifi.
    I have tried to get the WAP settings from o2 but when the text comes back with a message saying there is problems dealing with the request.

    Does anyone know how to fix this problem?
     
  11. Ferox

    Ferox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Yes you have to insert the o2 settings manually! Alternatively debrand the handset then your handset will be able to pick up the settings automatically!


    Sent from my HTC Legend using Tapatalk
     
  12. Ferox

    Ferox Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Goto
    Settings>wireless&Networks>Mobile networks>ACCESS POINT NAMES

    Insert settings here!

    Sent from my HTC Legend using Tapatalk
     
  13. Mr.Derringer

    Mr.Derringer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    62
    15
    18
    Liverpool
    When i got my legend from vodafone, the set up was in english and the phone was fully branded to vodafone. it was locked to vodafone to, no other sims would work in it.

    I have since debranded my legend and although it's a bit of a faff to do it, my legend is now awesome running Android 2.1 version 2.03.405.3

    I'm so glad i did it too, more apps on the app store, no stupid vodafone branding, faster internet, better WiFi, stronger phone signal, better battery, better start up, unlocked...the works.

    the only thing i haven't done yet is root my legend.
     
  14. macnpaul

    macnpaul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    38
    3
    16
    Been trying to do the same with no success, can you please post which guide you followed.
     
  15. Mr.Derringer

    Mr.Derringer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    62
    15
    18
    Liverpool
    I used the guide on the Unlockr site to create a gold card.

    like i said it was abit nerve wracking but i done it without problem to my phone...the only issue i had was installing the required drivers for the legend, it destroyed my anti virus on my PC and took me a few hours to get my comp going properly again.

    well, i say it was the drivers, i cant be sure but, it only happened whilst i was doing the gold card stuff. so beware

    after the gold card i just installed the custom rom which took about 5 minutes.

    i cant recommend it to people because it may or may not work or break your phone.

    maybe i was lucky. if you do decide to do it just follow every step carefully and re-read everything.

    (after using my phone for a day with the debrand, i must be honest and admit that the internet is probably just as fast as it was before, which is probably my vodafone contract's fault)
     
  16. macnpaul

    macnpaul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    38
    3
    16
    Did you follow the custom rom guide on Unlockr?

    And did you install a 2.03 rom?
     
  17. Mr.Derringer

    Mr.Derringer Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    62
    15
    18
    Liverpool
    ooops, sorry, i didn't mean to say custom, i meant i downloaded the unbranded, factory shipped rom. i aint got the link but i found it onthe XDA developers forum.

    you could check if the HTC website offers roms to download, not sure

    but yeah, basically, i done the whole process using the unlockr site guide and i got the rom from a link on the xda site.
     
    macnpaul likes this.
  18. macnpaul

    macnpaul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    38
    3
    16
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...