1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Voice Commands leave behind an open window?

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by SampsonNation, Apr 23, 2016.

1. SampsonNation

SampsonNation Well-Known Member
    None

Aug 4, 2012
    Hey all, I'm new to owning an Android. I recently bought an S5 G900F that has CM12 on it.

I'm noticing that every single time I give my phone a voice command, it leaves behind an open window. This is very annoying. If I ask my phone to turn off bluetooth or adjust the brightness, it'll do it via command, but then it for some reason leaves behind the window that actually controls it. This also happens for each individual search I do via voice command. Each search I make is it's own Google window. This is even especially annoying when you want to send quick messages via SMS to friends. It opens an individual Google window for each text I've sent.

Is this normal?

I attached a screen shot to show it. The 3 windows you see are me telling Google to text a friend some text, asking for the weather, and turning off Bluetooth.

I'm not used to this coming from an IOS platform. You'd basically cue the mic and ask your question and when your request is finished, there were no breadcrumbs of what you requested, UNLESS it was an intended search result from your web browser, but that search would be directly in the browser you use. My Android is creating a lot of unnecessary clutter.

Attached Files:

Advertisement

2. electricpete

electricpete Android Expert

Jan 7, 2012
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
    These windows are cached processes that you see when you press recents button. They don't hurt anything...they are only kept (cached) in low priority memory to speed up loading if you need them again. If another higher priority process needs that memory, the low priority ones will be killed. In general (*), There is no need for you to close them or worry about them.