1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Voice control

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by BillAZ, Dec 31, 2011.

1. BillAZ

BillAZ Lurker
    None

Dec 24, 2011
    EE
    I recently got a LG Nitro HD after having had a WM6 phone for more than two years. I guess I am spoiled by being able to control that phone by voice.

I would appreciate any guidance you knowledgeable Android users and developers can offer. I am an Android newbie, but very tech savvy (programmer, design engineer- embedded). I have used MS Voice Command for about 5 or 6 years and think it's the coolest app I've ever seen. I have decided to move to Android- so it's gone. It used to be a separate program but has been standard on Windows phones since WM6. In fact, I am spoiled by it, since I can use it anywhere (operates on local CPU with no wireless 3G, 4G or WiFi connection whatsoever), and works with bluetooth. This was especially handy for operating my device (limited) or placing calls while driving without having to ever look at the display, or even touch anything but my bluetooth headset.

It can be used to make calls from a bluetooth headset (or any other command) without ever touching the phone. It confirms the person and the type of number I want to dial (Cell, Work, Home, etc.) via synthesized voice. So there's no need to set a default number and you can call someone on any of the numbers that are attached by category.

Here are some of the things you can say (speaker independent) and that I hope are available on Android:

What's my next appointment?
    What is my battery level?
    What time is it?
    Start <Application Name>
    Show Contacts - shows the entire list of contacts in the phone
    Show <Contact Name> - show all the information for the named contact
    Flight Mode <on/off>
    Set Ringer <High/Low/Vibrate> etc.
    Dial <phone number>
    Call <Contact Name> on <Home/Work/Cell, etc.>