1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Voice Dialer?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by androidisawesome, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. androidisawesome

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I'm looking for an app similar to the standard voice dialer, but that talks back like requested here. Does anyone know of anything?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    993
    Posts:
    4,987
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Voice Dialer HF. It's a great app, well worth the few dollars! I absolutely love this app, voice dialing like every other cell phone on earth comes with!!
     
    ladyred1101 likes this.
  3. ladyred1101

    ladyred1101 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Paralegal
    Texas
    I'm confused. Why is there a voice dialer app on the Droid if it doesnt work? When I bought the phone the tech at Verizon said it would be up and running in a month and i'd get an update that would fix it. What happened?
     
  4. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    993
    Posts:
    4,987
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    The native voice dial on the Droid works in some situations (for me) but not often enough to rely on and certainly not well enough while driving. At best it brings up a list and I can't be trying to read the list and select the right number/person.

    The app I mentioned is a simple process that just plain works every time. I press the icon and tell it who to call, it confirms the name and waits for me to say yes or no then dials or announces the next choice on the list. It sends the call to BT if I'm in the car. No fumbling. No reading. No multiple presses. Simple. Works. Should be stock on the phone but it's not.

    I don't know what the Verizon rep was telling you, maybe they meant BT voice dial but that, as far as I know, is not anywhere near being fixed/added.
     
  5. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,309
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    2,309
    195
    143
    won the lottery
    WestSiiiide
    I have found the stock voice dialer to be junk. of maybe 20 times, it has been right 1 time. I never use it because of this. that list, is what I get 99% of the time is (1) a waste of the voice dialing effort and (2) not contain the name I spoke!

    When I use my Ford Sync in my car, it gets voice dial 100% correct. The Droid voice dial just blows.
     
  6. ladyred1101

    ladyred1101 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Paralegal
    Texas
    Well, that would have to be the biggest false advertising I've ever seen. My BB voice dialer always worked, even with BT. I make a lot of my return calls when I'm en route. They're forcing me to look at the phone in a school zone! Will that work when I get that ticket? "your honor its Motorola's fault." When I was in V buying the phone and tried the dialer and it didnt work the tech tried using hers and it didnt work either. Apparently she hadnt tried it before. When she explained to another tech he said they were working out the bugs and we'd get an update. Still waiting. . . guess I'll go get that app.
     
  7. ladyred1101

    ladyred1101 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Paralegal
    Texas
    That was too easy! I dont think I should have had to pay for something that came with my phone but since they havent got it working . . . But big thanks guys it works great. :p I'm a happy girl.
     
  8. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Android Expert
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    993
    Posts:
    4,987
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Excellent! Yeah, that is by far my favorite app and I didn't mind paying for it...except that it just should have already been there!
     
  9. ladyred1101

    ladyred1101 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Paralegal
    Texas
    Does this work for eris as well?
     
  10. radikal

    radikal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    928
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    928
    10
    63
    i press and hold my looking glass search thing and i tell it to call my wife and it does, call my dad, it does... it works for me
     
  11. ladyred1101

    ladyred1101 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Paralegal
    Texas
    My son has the Eris and when the voice dialer is touched it prompts you (no talking of course) to speak. We havent gotten it to get one right yet. When we use the hour glass it searches google same as voice search. tried searching the marketplace same as I did for my Droid but it didnt find the voice dialer hf.
     
  12. pbrstanwood

    pbrstanwood Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    90
    1
    16
    Female
    contractor new homes
    Seattle,
    This app work on my rooted phone someone said it doesn't work on rooted phones but is does I'm running pete's beast volume 8 and I love this app

    thank so much for the info:p
     
  13. pcartier

    pcartier Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    YOu people are lucky you have a dialler to talk about. I live in The Netherlands and bought a UK Milestone via Expansys. I have "Voice search" installed but NOT "Voice Dialer". According to the MOto site you can voice dial with both. Because I had no Voice Dialler I tried the Voice Search ... you are supposed to be able to say "call" + mycontact name to route it to contacts search and dial .. but this does not work .. goes to browser every time. So .... anyone know how I can get hold of "Voice Dialler" ?
     
  14. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    See if this link works for you: Voice Dialer HF for Android - Tools
     
  15. pcartier

    pcartier Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    OK .. thanks ... I did see this earlier today .. and will probably end up buying it. Point is I simply do not have a native Voice Dialler app. which ought to be there because it is .. .well native :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...