1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Voice dialing??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrbill, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. mrbill

    mrbill Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Oct 15, 2008
    5
    0
    25
    Newbie here so go easy.....Does the new phone have Voice dialing capabilities?

    The reason Im asking it just got a new car and these new cars have Bluetooth to pair up with your cell phone. BUT, they must have voice capability to be used.

    Any one heard or read farther into the system to find out.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. pestilence

    pestilence Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Oct 15, 2008
    174
    4
    36
    Not sure why you'd want that - every time someone has ever tried to show me their nifty voice dialing phone, it always ends up with them looking stupid trying to make their phone understand they want to 'call mom.... call... mom... call mom... CALL MOM... it worked the other day...'
     
  3. gtd3

    gtd3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008

    Oct 6, 2008
    70
    0
    15
    Miami, FL
    LMFAO....So true.

    "CALL DAN" ...........<<call dad?>> NO! "CALL DAN"............<<call sam?>>
     
  4. OrganizedFellow

    OrganizedFellow Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008

    Aug 18, 2008
    130
    0
    35
    Me: "Dial 911! I've had an accident!"
    Phone: "I'm sorry. The number you are trying to dial is missing four more digits. Please try again!"
     
  5. Haze23

    Haze23 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008

    Oct 14, 2008
    21
    1
    16
    Yes it does come with "voice dialer" it is the second to last application out of the box.
     
  6. mrbill

    mrbill Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Oct 15, 2008
    5
    0
    25
    Why, because every new car system that is building new apps and have Bluetooth pairing with your phone REQUIRES it for use, thats why. The new Ford system SYNC and the new GM system uses the ON STAR mic to interface. They use their own internal mics to interface with the phones bluetooth etc.
     
  7. pestilence

    pestilence Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008

    Oct 15, 2008
    174
    4
    36
    LOL - don't spend $2000 on the fancy phone integration car package and instead spend a hundred on a good bluetooth headset.

    I guess I could be wrong and voice dialing could be working all of a sudden, but I doubt it.

    They've been saying voice recognition was finally working since the mid 80s.
     
  8. jgorm

    jgorm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008

    Sep 23, 2008
    46
    0
    15
    I use voice dialing on WM5 and the only time it gives me trouble is if its really loud where i am. Works great 95%+ of the time.
     
  9. Starbucks

    Starbucks Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009

    Apr 22, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Well, i have a CARDO Q2 set up for my motorcycle helmet.. which has a bluetooth feature where you can answer, and call people while riding your bike.. and there is no way to call anyone w/o the voice dialing because you can't whip out your phone while riding..

    And unfortunately you can't activate the voice dial w/ the bluetooth device.. which essentially makes the voice dial completely useless
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...