1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Voice Mail app shortcut

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by felix822, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. felix822

    felix822 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    80
    7
    16
    Web Developer
    Cincinnati, OH
    When I click on my Voice Mail app, it just takes me to All Messages (SMS/MMS). Is it suppose to do that?
     

    Advertisement

  2. batwings1

    batwings1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    193
    26
    63
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I have to admit, I've never looked at this app until now but mine has options at the bottom to select All Messages, SMS/MMS or Voicemail.
     
  3. felix822

    felix822 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010

    Aug 19, 2010
    80
    7
    16
    Web Developer
    Cincinnati, OH
    Hmm interesting, mine just has the first 2 options - All Messages and SMS/MMS. Wonder if it has anything to do with being rooted?
     
  4. batwings1

    batwings1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    193
    26
    63
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    Possible. I am not rooted.
     
  5. Rob.G

    Rob.G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    341
    84
    53
    Male
    United Stated
    I don't think it has anything to do with being rooted or not. I have only ever had the first two options as well, even before I rooted. My thinking was that if you subscribed to Visual Voice Mail through Verizon, then you would see the third - voice mail - option there.
     
  6. batwings1

    batwings1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    193
    26
    63
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    That makes sense however, I never subscribed to visual vm but have the 3rd option. Weird.
     
  7. rcubed

    rcubed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011

    Jan 20, 2011
    135
    39
    43
    I have the third option for voicemail. It does have the option to set up visual voicemail and either says 'No voice mail' or lists when you have a voicemail. I have not set up VVM since I refuse to pay for yet another service.

    The problem I have is that I get no indication on my homescreen when I have a voicemail, I have to specifically go to that screen and check. Is this a setting I have turned off maybe?

    Not rooted, but using Launcher Pro
     
  8. batwings1

    batwings1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    193
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    193
    26
    63
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I use launcher pro also but I do get a notification in the notification bar when I have a message.
     
  9. dcpmark

    dcpmark Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    42
    5
    16
    I use Speed Dial Lite to create an icon to retrieve my cell voicemail. One push, and it dials the number, puts in the password, and gets my new messages. Of course, you have to create a new voicemail contact with the number and strings in it.

    It seems to have been removed from the Market now, but I'm sure there are alternatives:

    Speed Dial Lite ~ Android Application v2.4 By CRinUS | Social
     
  10. airjordan223

    airjordan223 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    297
    34
    43
    launcher pro and google voice
     
  11. chilei

    chilei Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011

    Mar 25, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Mine just started doing the same thing. I am rooted but it was working until this morning.
     
  12. AFGixxeR

    AFGixxeR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    58
    5
    16
    Adrenaline JunkiE
    I use youmail for my voice mail.
     

Share This Page

Loading...