1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Voice Mate?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Murf1, Jun 20, 2014.

  1. Murf1

    Murf1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    594
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    594
    89
    88
    Male
    IT
    Indiana
    Thinking about getting this phone in the next couple months. The Virgin Mobile site says it has "Voice Mate". Do they mean Google Now or do they have some knock-off bloatware on the phone that tries to emulate it?
    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Ganesh420

    Ganesh420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    7
    2
    6
    Male
    retail drone and money taking robot
    Worcester, MA, USA
    I honestly haven't played with it much, but it will take simple voice commands like dictating a text message or dialing up a contact. I don't use it, however, because you can install Google's Now launcher. It's not available for our phone officially through the Play store, but a Google search will turn up a few articles about getting it on any phone. Google Now works very well on the Volt.

    Find the link and instructions here, among others.....
    Here’s how to get the Google Now Launcher on any Android phone or tablet | TalkAndroid.com
     
    Murf1 likes this.
  3. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    Its like Google now but not as good.

    BTW if you root you can switch to the Google now launcher but there's more than just having the apps. The lib files must be extracted and used as well.

    I'm using Google now launcher (newest version) as my only launcher (set as system app); fully functioning hotword (OK Google)

    The funny part is the play store says its not compatible with the volt.
     
  4. Ganesh420

    Ganesh420 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    7
    2
    6
    Male
    retail drone and money taking robot
    Worcester, MA, USA
    Just wanted to note that you don't need root to install Google Now. It'll install as another home launcher.
     
  5. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    I started by installing it but the OK Google hotword didn't work till I used root explorer to extract the lib files from Google search and put them in the system/libs folder and set the permissions.
     
  6. kikiembryonic

    kikiembryonic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014

    Jun 26, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    False. Google (and apps /maps, gmail, drive) came installed on my lg lte. No rooting required.
     
  7. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    Those other apps come installed but not Google Now Launcher.
    I had to download the launcher from xda then install it from the SD card as the play store says its not compatible; but the hotword feature didn't work. To make hotword work I had to be rooted and extract the lib files from the Google search apk and place them into the system/lib folder and set the permissions.

    Here's what happens if you can get the play store to pull up the Google Now Launcher on your LG Volt.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,121
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Are you using a modified Play Store app? It doesn't even come up on my phone.
     
  9. kikiembryonic

    kikiembryonic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014

    Jun 26, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Sounds like you're trying to root a hot phone.Either you plain stupid or flat dumb. Or just reset it. RESET IT.
     
  10. Tigatron

    Tigatron Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,294
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    1,294
    443
    163
    Male
    NE
    I did a Google search for "Google now launcher" then click the play store link and select open with play store.

    In general if the play store won't display an app its considered " not compatible"

    On a fun note I'm now using a newer version of the launcher than is on the play store. Its from the Android L 5.0 dev leek.
     
  11. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,121
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    Hope you're talking to yourself. That doesn't even make any sense. o_O
     
  12. bg4m3r

    bg4m3r Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    493
    Posts:
    2,850
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013

    Nov 1, 2013
    2,850
    1,121
    493
    Male
    IT Contractor
    I know, that's why I was curious that you got it to show up on your phone.
     
  13. Gendo420

    Gendo420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013

    Jan 24, 2013
    460
    144
    68
    Male
    New Orleans
    Using Nova Launcher Prime will allow you to use "OK Google" as well
     
  14. np6s4x

    np6s4x Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    206
    49
    53
    edit: oops...
     
  15. dkarter

    dkarter Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014

    Aug 6, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    can I change the voice mate gender?...sure would love to hear an australian male voice
     
  16. dkarter

    dkarter Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014

    Aug 6, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    im wondering if u can change the voice mate gender to male...preferably australian :D
     
  17. Murf1

    Murf1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    594
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    594
    89
    88
    Male
    IT
    Indiana
    Ok, I have the phone. So it has Voice Mate, Voice Command, and the possibility of adding Google Now (when I start Google icon it has a link that says "Get Google Now").

    So what is the difference from the 3 and what is the best one?

    thanks
     
  18. Sharkhunter45

    Sharkhunter45 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012

    Oct 4, 2012
    184
    45
    43
    Male
    Chicago, Illinois
    Unleash your inner Nexus Warrior and just go with Google Now. (Sorry, that's a reddit thing). Google now works really well for me
     
    Murf1 likes this.
  19. chucksaysblah

    chucksaysblah Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    324
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    324
    66
    53
    Male
    I used google now for a bit . I found a link for the lg g3 launcher and I installed it as an update to the stock home launcher. I like it better as it has a 5x5 grid and no labels on the icons. As I havent rolled back and done the rooted v4 rom yet because I am too lazy.

    [​IMG]
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...