1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Voice search + Live Messenger, UK

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ihitthebar, May 7, 2009.

  1. ihitthebar

    ihitthebar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 7, 2009

    May 7, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Got the cupcake update yesterday, and after searching for a few features I noticed a few things I havent got (not necessarily related to 1.5)

    Firstly, I noticed an option to 'Chat using Live Messenger' on contacts, but with the lack of Live Messenger application, this shortcut doesn't work. Anyone know how/if its possible to get Live Messenger in the UK? I already have Hi MSN, just in case anyone was going to recommend.

    Also, is voice search ever coming to the UK or is it a US only feature because of accents etc.

    Thanks in advance, Jack
     

    Advertisement

  2. slave1

    slave1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #392
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008

    Nov 20, 2008
    124
    2
    56
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    I've been running 1.5 for about a week now and the Voice Searching works fine (even with my Geordie accent).

    Can't answer the MSN question.
     
  3. ihitthebar

    ihitthebar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 7, 2009

    May 7, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Do you have to do something in the settings to activate voice search then or something? Because I just don't seem to have the option =/
     
  4. sunhorse

    sunhorse Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009

    Mar 2, 2009
    18
    1
    16
    retired
    ashby
    same here,OTA update 0900 this morning,all ok,works fine apart from voice search,anybody have any clues?
     
  5. slave1

    slave1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #392
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008

    Nov 20, 2008
    124
    2
    56
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    I'm using a Jesus Freke ROM. It was there out of the box.
     
  6. ihitthebar

    ihitthebar Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 7, 2009

    May 7, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    What on earth is Jesus Freke ROM?

    tried googling it, with fairy unsuccessful feedback =/
     
  7. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    JF is one of the main wizards that cracked the root vunerability on the the phone ... the rom is the version of the OS that allows users to keep this portal into the guts of the operating system ... and do marvelous tweeks to the way the system work ...wat ahead of when those features might be added by Google.
     
  8. carlosflores

    carlosflores Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009

    Jun 17, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Here in Italy have the same lack of Voice Search... I bought my G2 directly with cupcake and no voice search at all. The search bar have no microphone on it!

    Any ideas?
     
  9. grimmy

    grimmy Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    May 20, 2009

    May 20, 2009
    25
    0
    35
    For the UK (not sure about Italy - sorry) you have to install voice search from the Market. It's called "Google Search by voice".

    Works pretty well.

    I don't think we get MSN or Yahoo in the built in Gtalk client because the US version uses Tmobiles SMS service to send messages for those services.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...