1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

"Voice Search" stops responding

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by marauder, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. marauder

    marauder Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I have a Motorola Droid; today the Voice Search stopped working. I've not installed or even updated anything, have not changed any setting in any app anywhere- but it sticks on "Speak Now." Hitting Cancel makes it stop, but killing all apps and restarting didn't help, and problem continues. Any ideas of where to even start?

    PS- the problem occurs when I have the browser open.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rickfriedman

    rickfriedman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    New York City
    It's nice to know I'm not going crazy. I have a Nexus One and I'm having the same problem today. Voice Search was working fine yesterday but, as of this morning it just sits there when I speak a search term. And, it doesn't matter if I have the browser open or not. Voice to text works fine everywhere else.

    So, it seems there is probably something going on at Google's end.
     
  3. sdcoiner76

    sdcoiner76 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    17
    7
    16
    This started happening to me this morning also. Was working fine and then when I try to do a voice search the box comes up but does nothing else. I can't get it to search for anything and does not even seem like it is hearing what I am saying. I can hit cancel to make the box go away.


    As an update: My Voice dialer seems to work. Any application that uses the Voice Search though seems not to work.
     
  4. marauder

    marauder Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    2
    0
    5
  5. jimstoic

    jimstoic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I awoke to voice search not working as well. :mad: Thanks, Punxsutawney Phil! :thinking: Presumably Google 'll get 'er going soon.
     
  6. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,973
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,973
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
  7. jimstoic

    jimstoic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    It's Groundhog Day--Punxsatawney Phil? Anyway, I'm on the phone with Verizon now. The tech support guy says voice search works on the Droid he's using there.
     
  8. rickfriedman

    rickfriedman Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    New York City
    Well, as I said, it's also happening to me on my Nexus One on T-Mobile so it's not carrier or phone specific. There's something else going on... the common denominator?? Google right?

    Rick
     
  9. asvravi

    asvravi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
  10. jimstoic

    jimstoic Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Verizon had me do a Factory Data Reset (after removing the SD card to protect my data), and now Voice Search works. I have to download all my apps again, but this gives me a chance to dump the ones I wasn't using anyway. (The app store gives me a list of my apps for redownload.)
     
  11. tdk2008

    tdk2008 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Hey Guys,

    mine wasent working this morning as well and it seems to be back online its connected to a server as mentioned earlier in the thread.

    regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...