1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Voice, text and data roaming charges?

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by Caloy, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. Caloy

    Caloy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,871
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    1,871
    200
    163
    Male
    Mad Scientist! MUAHAHAHA!
    Richmond, TX
    Does anyone know if Sprint has roaming charges for unlimited 450 accounts? Ever since I got my upgrade I'm usually roaming at home. Just don't want to track up roaming charges when my old phone can pick up Sprint signals and my news phone doesn't.

    Sent using the SGN2
     

    Advertisement

  2. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    I think it depends on the usage. I've never seen anyone billed for it, but instead had their contracts cancelled. I would definitely call into Sprint CS for a definitive answer though. Perhaps they can help you out with getting an airave to at least alleviate issues while you are at home.
     
    Caloy and BenChase7 like this.
  3. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    I had the Everything Data 450 plan for years and, although I rarely roamed, I never got charged any roaming fees.
     
    Caloy likes this.
  4. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Likewise. After adding my wife to my plan to get her off of AT&T, I switched our plan to the Everything Data Family 1500. However, I don't think I have ever been on roaming, so I don't know for certain. I only speak from what I have seen people discuss here or on XDA.
     
  5. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,584
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,584
    220
    143
    If you were getting signal but now are roaming, start an issue log with Sprint right now. They try to offer solutions, but some times it's just not enough and you don't want to be left holding the bag.

    If I have this same issue once my new phone arrives, I'm either rolling back to my old phone or going to ask Sprint for some other resolution (like a minute/plan upgrade at their expense). Can't see where you should risk getting left with the bag.
     
  6. RocketFoot

    RocketFoot Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011

    I am having this same issue...Sprint CS told me last night that I have unlimited call roaming but not data and I keep getting the data roaming warning even when on wifi at home! I am a little concerned! I am also in good to excellent Sprint coverage both at home and work so this shouldn't even be happening! I have one of the family 1500 plans but maybe I need to upgrade plans? Any suggestions?
     
  7. jerry42570

    jerry42570 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    201
    20
    58
    Pennsylvania
    If you are on wifi and get the roaming indicator on your phone, you are likely not using the network for data, and shouldn't be charged for roaming.

    Also, I believe the roaming data threshold is something difficult to reach - somewhere around 700 - 800 mb per month.

    I personally check my usage frequently on line. My data roaming usage is only usually somewhere around 4mb or so.
     
  8. catpowrd

    catpowrd Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    144
    27
    43
    On a phone plan all roaming is unlimited including data at least my bill says so. But on a data card plan the roaming limit is 300mb. I had to move my data card over to big red because of the ridiculous 300mb limit. I only use 1gb a month of data but the 300mb roam was a problem some months. So far keeping phones on Sprint and data card on big red, no roaming at all on big red and 4g about 60% of my travels compared to 2% 4g on Sprint. One of my phones was used in a roam area for over a month and used 300 to 400mb roam data per month and almost no Sprint data and I did not hear any complaints from Sprint so just data card plans have a roam problem.
     
  9. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    The terms and conditions were changed some time ago to include all devices. I want to say it was approximately a year or so after the original Evo released.

    They are still pretty vague, but basically..if you are roaming mor than you are not, you might get a warning.

    "Off-network Roaming: The primary use of your Device must be for domestic purposes within the Sprint-owned network. Domestic means use in the 50 United States and U.S. Territories (except Guam). Sprint reserves the right, without notice, to deny, terminate, modify, disconnect or suspend service if off-network usage in a month exceeds: (1) voice: 800 min. or a majority of minutes; or (2) data: 300 megabytes or a majority of kilobytes. The display on your device may not always be on and will not indicate whether you will incur roaming charges. You can monitor usage online through My Account. Roaming is not available with single-band phones, or to customers who reside or whose primary use is outside an area covered by the Nationwide Sprint Network. Sprint may limit or terminate service if you move outside of the Sprint owned-network. "
    Terms and Conditions
     

Share This Page

Loading...