1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Voice to Text

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by redmelons, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. redmelons

    redmelons Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    35
    4
    36
    Should the Orange 2.1 update for the Hero include 'Voice To Text?

    If I start a new text message there is no 'microphone' icon on the keypad - should there be or has this feature been removed from the Orange 2.1?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ziggy

    ziggy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009

    Aug 4, 2009
    63
    2
    16
    i was also interested in this.

    Anybody know??
     
  3. redmelons

    redmelons Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    35
    4
    36
  4. Jaseamondo

    Jaseamondo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    41
    3
    36
    Carpenter/Joiner
    Scotland
    Download Google search by voice from the market place then download Handcent sms, there is a feature in Handcent that lets you do voice to text and it uses the google search to voice engine. hey presto you have the feature even though it was left out of the hero ;)

    ps. If you say Call "persons name" in the google search by voice feature it will automatically call that person from your contacts. (contacts might all need to be saved as google contacts for this to work)

    regards Jason.
     
  5. jimjim

    jimjim Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    20
    2
    16
    I downloaded Google search by voice and use Handcent but can't find the feature to speak on it?
     
  6. Jaseamondo

    Jaseamondo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    41
    3
    36
    Carpenter/Joiner
    Scotland

    when you have selected the contact that you want to text just press the menu button on your phone and the option to speak is there for you to select.

    regards jason.
     
  7. Jaseamondo

    Jaseamondo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    41
    3
    36
    Carpenter/Joiner
    Scotland
    I personally find the voice to text feature useless anyway ,Admittedly that may well be because of my Scottish accent, if I put on a fake English accent it works fine lol. No way I'm talking to my phone like that here in Scotland though. Swype for me :)
     
    rachelisadog and SithSurfer like this.
  8. SithSurfer

    SithSurfer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    167
    21
    58
    Scotland
    That's what I was about to say :) Being born in Poland, using American accent for quite a while and then adapting to Scottish one in last 5 years (the most epic accent in the world!) makes search by voice and voice to text quite useless for me ;)

    A'propos: YouTube - Burnistoun S1E1 - Voice Recognition Elevator - ELEVEN!
     
  9. Jaseamondo

    Jaseamondo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    41
    3
    36
    Carpenter/Joiner
    Scotland
    lol, brilliant. and yes this is why it's useless for me :D
     
  10. dogrobber

    dogrobber Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    13
    6
    16
    Doesn't work for me!
    "call home" or "call bob smith"
    just googles exactly what I say!?

    do I need to adjust a setting somewhere to enable this?

    SORRY>>> was trying Google Voice Search... NOT google voice.
    google voice is not available outside the US either apparently!
     
  11. Jaseamondo

    Jaseamondo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    41
    3
    36
    Carpenter/Joiner
    Scotland

    I'm in the Uk and just using google voice search as well but it still calls the person when I say call and then the persons name, There are no other settings that I have changed but all of my contacts are saved as google contacts, Maybe that has something to do with it. Let me know how you get on.

    regards Jason


    Edited previous post above to add that you may need all your contacts saved in your phone as google contacts for this to work.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...