1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General VOLite

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by budde2, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
    Hey I was wondering if the lg esteem is Volute supported
    Will we be able to talk and browse the net at the same time not that it matters just wondering thanks for input
     

    Advertisement

  2. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    this phone probaly has what it takes to handle such function but i know was of now metro does not provide us with such service ,i might be wrong dont quote me but i dont know for now if cdma phones can do talk and data at same time i mean the reason i say that is beacause at&t have always rubbed that against verizon's face even though verizon is has the fastest network and the most coverage but they have yet to have establish that service so im assuming those cell phone companies that deal with gsm phones or aka sim card phone have the ability to do such things. but i also just read in the forum about 5g and how researchers have been able to broad cast high speed broadband with phone signal on normal spectrum so who knows metro might take a poke at it as well.
     
  3. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
    The reason I ask is because they are updating there network to volute by the end of the first quarter but you can never get an answer from there customer service they are retreated when it comes to there company they work for
     
  4. king9starz

    king9starz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    81
    0
    15
    Do you mean like be on the phone with someone and at the same time browse the internet? if so then yes because i've done it. In fact i was just on the phone with my cousin the other day when he asked me something i didn't know much to and so i put him on speaker and googled.
     
  5. ChazzMatt

    ChazzMatt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #151
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    623
    125
    93
    metro Atlanta area
    YES, the LG Esteem is VoLTE ready. When MetroPCS implements it, it will do it.

    Other older LTE phones by Metro (Samsung Indulge, Samsung Craft) are not VoLTE ready.

    Metro is supposed to be moving to VoLTE first part of 2012, which of course means mid-year. :)
     
  6. wilsonbx198st

    wilsonbx198st Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    148
    10
    38
    police officer
    bronx,ny
    ,
     
  7. king9starz

    king9starz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    81
    0
    15
    I guess i clearly don't know what I'm talking about or whats going on here...>.> *walks away with head down*
     
  8. wilsonbx198st

    wilsonbx198st Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    148
    10
    38
    police officer
    bronx,ny
    lmao tru on that one
     
  9. ChazzMatt

    ChazzMatt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #151
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    623
    125
    93
    metro Atlanta area
    Right now with LTE, it's only data. There is no voice on LTE, on the carrier's spectrum. Yes, you can use Google Voice on LTE, accessing the internet, but that's a workaround.

    With LTE phones -- ALL LTE phones, even Verizon -- for voice you use the carrier's other technology. In the case of Verizon and MetroPCS, that would be CDMA. So, you are talking on CDMA and browsing/downloading email/facebooking on LTE. Thus, you are using two radios at the same time, and battery usage sucks.

    Or when you were on the phone with your cousin, might have even been on wi-fi rather than LTE.

    It's just with CDMA-only phones like the Optimus, you can't talk and browse the same time while using CDMA. If you are on a wi-fi network, with a phone like the Optimus you can talk on CDMA and be on the internet at the same time.

    But with VoLTE, you will be able to talk and browse on LTE at the same time -- thus using only one radio and your battery life will be so much better.
     
  10. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    and how is it that GSM phones do it???
     
  11. king9starz

    king9starz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    81
    0
    15

    I stand corrected then because you're right, i was connected via wi-fi.
     
  12. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
    Thank you for all the input I thought it was but I could never get a straight answer from MetroPCS thank again
     
  13. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US
    yeah. i cant just wait!!!! I going to fully be able to use my dear 4g without having to disable data off to save battery...
     
  14. ChazzMatt

    ChazzMatt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #151
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    623
    125
    93
    metro Atlanta area

    If you are asking how do GSM (3G) phones do it and CDMA (3G) does not, it's because GSM is a different technology than CDMA. CDMA gives you better voice quality (that's why Verizon sounds so much better than AT&T in head-to-head tests),

     
    horsecharles and compubahn like this.
  15. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    I just wanted to see the book you'd post. ;)

    thanks tho ;)
     
    ManlyParasite likes this.
  16. ChazzMatt

    ChazzMatt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #151
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010

    Nov 29, 2010
    623
    125
    93
    metro Atlanta area
    OK, we'll pretend you already knew the answer. ;)
     
    n4zty likes this.
  17. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    The basics of it I did lol
     
    n4zty likes this.
  18. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
    rhe samsung attian you can talk and brows at the same time its nice to do
     
  19. Pappy62

    Pappy62 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    763
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011

    Sep 21, 2011
    763
    202
    103
    Male
    I need a beer...
     
  20. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US
    You sure about that ? Are you sure it wasn't connected to wifi.?
     
  21. budde2

    budde2 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    380
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011

    Dec 14, 2011
    380
    48
    43
    brandon fl
    I am positive i double check and than check again
     
  22. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    Its true on the howardforum there was a topic about it i was a lil skeptic but the thread starter took a pic of him on a call with the 4g icon still showing up top on his status bar.

    credits to williedyno from the howardforums and for this pic he posted of him using his attain in a call and having 4g still.


    [​IMG]

    source from:
    Code (Text):
    1. [URL="http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php/1754646-Galaxy-Attain-4G-Only-phone-at-MPCS-to-allow-voice-and-data-calls-at-the-same-time!/page2"][COLOR=#0066cc]http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php/1754646-Galaxy-Attain-4G-Only-phone-at-MPCS-to-allow-voice-and-data-calls-at-the-same-time!/page2[/COLOR][/URL]
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...