1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Volume is acting weird.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ninotoof, Oct 12, 2017.

  1. ninotoof

    ninotoof Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017

    Oct 12, 2017
    3
    0
    5
    Hello, whenever I play an audio file, the speaker or headphones won't make a sound unless I press the volume buttons (up or down). The media volume is right in the middle, media is shown playing but nothing happens unless I press the buttons. It was working without a problem last week and I haven't installed anything in a long time... What could be causing this problem?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xavier Black

    Xavier Black Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #330
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    243
    73
    73
    Male
    That's not a problem..it's the default level..it's a protocol way of protection aimed to prevent ear damage from the last update..since the last devices are coming up with very high volume..and let's say the last time you were using your speaker at a very high pitch in a noisy environment..and now you maybe sitting in a very quiet one..so it may come back to strong to your ears..therefore to avoid that it goes all the way down..

    I hope it makes sense.
     
    AMOCO likes this.
  3. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    508
    Posts:
    2,394
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    2,394
    1,772
    508
    Illinois
    Which app are you using to listen to these audio files?
     
  4. ninotoof

    ninotoof Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017

    Oct 12, 2017
    3
    0
    5
    Telegram, samsung music and facebook have this "problem"
     
  5. ninotoof

    ninotoof Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017

    Oct 12, 2017
    3
    0
    5
    Yeah, it makes sense but it''s weird that it didn't act like that last week
     
  6. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    508
    Posts:
    2,394
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    2,394
    1,772
    508
    Illinois
    OK so it isn't just one app but an overall, system weirdness. Of course the most basic step to take is just restart your phone and see if that clears up whatever glitch started to cause this volume problem. If that doesn't make any difference, try starting up your J7 into its Safe Mode:
    http://www.hardreset.info/devices/samsung/samsung-galaxy-j7-prime/faq/safe-mode/
    If the volume is back to normal while running in Safe Mode that's an indicator there's some app you've installed that's responsible.
     
  7. Xavier Black

    Xavier Black Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #330
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015

    Sep 21, 2015
    243
    73
    73
    Male
    I'm having the same(not inconvenience but symptom) every since I did a hack into the shity volume my S5 came with)..and it's a positive thing..
     
  8. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,859
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,859
    1,375
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    This is correct on all Google devices,System will turn down the media volume to not damage your hearing.

    What I said in the above.
     
  9. svim

    svim Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    508
    Posts:
    2,394
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013

    Dec 19, 2013
    2,394
    1,772
    508
    Illinois
    OK but the OP's initial posting didn't refer to the volume level being too low, it was a matter of no audio at all as the progress bar would move and only by using the Volume Up or Down buttons would there be sound.
     
  10. AMOCO

    AMOCO The Computer Guy
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    543
    Posts:
    2,859
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,859
    1,375
    543
    Male
    Computer Tech.
    Colorado Springs,CO.
    If that continues you may have to try a factory reset,To see if that fixes the issues and if that doesn't fix your issues,You can try reflashing the stock firmware.In case it is a software issue.Be sure to backup your contacts,data,,,, Before doing either.
    How to Reset: http://www.hardreset.info/devices/samsung/samsung-galaxy-j7-prime/
    Firmware: https://www.sammobile.com/firmwares/galaxy-j7-prime/SM-G610F/
     

Share This Page

Loading...