1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support volume question...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tboltfan25, Jun 19, 2011.

  1. Tboltfan25

    Tboltfan25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    275
    8
    36
    NJ
    When you change the volume and that little "ping" noise goes off...how can you make that go away? Is it possibly to change that via root or maybe a market app or something?
     

    Advertisement

  2. kramerica

    kramerica Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    357
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    357
    60
    73
    West Michigan
    +1
     
  3. snuggles

    snuggles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    580
    57
    78
    Chicago/NW Indiana
  4. Appliancemedic

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 15, 2011

    May 15, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Ok here a twist to the volume control . Is there a way to lock or disable the volume control so that if I just happen to hit it it will not change my ring volume
     
  5. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    This is what I use.

    [table][tr][td][​IMG][/td][td]Volume Locker
    by Shopriant
    10,000 downloads, 891 ratings (4.5 avg)
    [/td][td]Free
    [​IMG][/td][/tr][/table]

    GMB
     
  6. Tboltfan25

    Tboltfan25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    275
    8
    36
    NJ
    Anyone know if rooting or any custom roms allow this feature to be disabled so there is no noise when the volume is pressed???
     
  7. snuggles

    snuggles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    580
    57
    78
    Chicago/NW Indiana
    I don't want to lock the volume button, just get rid of the PING noise.
     
  8. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,208
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    2,208
    599
    233
    Male
    Yewwtah!
    I am running Gingeritis now and the sound is still there but changed. So if we knew where the sound file was located in the system we know it can be changed to silent or possibly even removed. The question is where is the stinkin file located/named so we can change it?

    GMB
     
  9. ahoogst

    ahoogst Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    205
    37
    43
    I use an app called Ring Guard which prompts you to confirm the volume change and gives you a set number of seconds to do so. If you don't confirm then it just reverts back to the previous volume setting.
     
  10. Tboltfan25

    Tboltfan25 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    275
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    275
    8
    36
    NJ
    Anyone have any other input on how to disable the volume ping when adjusting the volume?
     
  11. Scythe

    Scythe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    106
    27
    43
    I'm the developer of Volume Locker. Just wanted to chime in and say it's not possible at the moment. You can do it if the app itself is the thing changing the volume, but since it's the system changing it there's no way to modify the arguments.

    You'd have to hack the source code for Android to get it to do what you'd want ;)
     
  12. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Hey Scythe, any idea where the "ping" sound is stored on the bolt? I have been looking it looks like it was in /system/media/sound/ui at one point but it appears the files have been moved and I can't locate them, in fact it looks like on most of the newer phones people are having issues finding the mp3 or ogg file. Thanks!
     
  13. Scythe

    Scythe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    106
    27
    43

    I don't off the top of my head, however I'm sure if it's not someplace easily visible that it's probably bundled as a raw element in an APK somewhere. I know AudioManager is the one which controls playing that sound and it's an optional flag to the call, so that is the place I'd look at first in the Android source code.
     
    Yeahha likes this.
  14. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
  15. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Ok this appears to be rom specific. The easiest way that appears to be for sense roms is use root explorer and navigate to /system/media/audio/ui once there if you see 7 mp3 files rename them with ".old" after the mp3, then reboot, this should prevent the sound again this would only be on sense roms from what I can tell. I am still searching for a solution for AOSP roms. These will require root in the future you may wish to post these questions in the all things root section

    If that causes problems replace the mp3 files with these and that should resolve it.
     
    Scythe and Tboltfan25 like this.
  16. Scythe

    Scythe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    106
    27
    43
    If you find them in the AOSP roms, I can wrap it into a quick little android app. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...