1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root VV5 root progress [SOLVED] WE HAVE ROOT!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Spec2nirvash, Jul 14, 2013.

  1. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    UPDATE:

    We are now rooted!!

    Many thanks again to Dan Rosenberg (djrbliss) for his help with rooting this VV5 firmware and thanks to Zandersig for helping bliss make this happen.

    Jcase and Shabbypenguin had also offered to help/or helped us with this somehow, and I also would like to thank the two of you regardless. I don't have many details on who did what so far, but I will be sure to mention them when I find out more.

    This root quest is over, PLEASE be sure to convey your gratitude to all that have helped us!

    -Spec


     

    Advertisement

    SegamanXero, 13onk and djramod like this.
  2. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    to my knowledge no one is even trying to find a new root for vv5, and prolly wont be since you can downgrade and root. ;)
     
  3. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    You're probably right. There just seems to be something happening to VV3 firmware and some peeps getting a com.android.phone error.... I guess Metro's solution is using VV5, but nobody wants it without root :(

    I was hoping to find a root method using something from newer LG phones and..... permission denied..... on everything I try LOL. No biggie to me, as my Connect isn't even in svc. Just trying to help, but finding a totally new exploit is something way beyond my scope of knowledge :D:D

    EDIT - It's Gingerbread, so IMO a total waste of time. But WTH, doesn't hurt to try a few LOL
     
  4. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    yea all newer devices are on ics/jb, at least any newer devices worth having. lol
     
  5. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    It's my understanding that Metro has to pay for phone updates...? And now I'm hearing that they are having serious connection issues with the MS840, and are supposedly trading out Motions for troublesome Connects LOL. Lame. I just wanna know what would cost more per customer: A 4.X update or a refurbed Motion? I'm kinda glad that I decommissioned my Connect when I did, last thing I need is more headaches ;)
     
  6. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    MasterKey flopped guys. I was hoping for something there, but I'm running out of ideas really quick....
     
    SegamanXero likes this.
  7. SegamanXero

    SegamanXero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011

    Thanks for the attempt, I appreciate what you have tried, even though it was fruitless...
     
  8. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Here is how to get in touch with the root God if someone wants to tell him what's going on and that we can donate money if he Wil help us get vv5 root

    Security Research by Dan Rosenberg
     
  9. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    I just sent Dan an email asking for help...
     
  10. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    you didnt try the master key exploit, you tried some crappy "masterkey" epic 4g cwm installer (which uses rage against the cage/gingerbreak.


    edit: ok so sammyz just explained to me the full situation, you guys are flahsing a random firmware on your device and now want root on it. anyways try this exploit here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2130276
     
  11. jlede

    jlede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012

    Jul 11, 2012
    905
    84
    78
    Male
    N/A
    Bardwell,Texas
    Some one download vv4 and try it I'm trying vv5

    Edit:back and it doesn't work I've repoted back to shabby already
     
  12. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    I'll add it to the list after hearing back on VV4. I can guarantee it won't work on either, VV4 and VV5 all same except baseband and PRL....
     
  13. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    how exactly are you guys updating?using the kdz? ota?
     
  14. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Guys, I had a guy tell me to try this...

    Follow Unbrick/Unroot/Update LG Connect - Android Forums to revert to vv3, root the device. then install http://tinyurl.com/cso5tal launch that program and tell it to backup superuser. apply all the ota's to your hearts content and then have it restore superuser once you are back on vv5. youll lose your data and be wiped but youll have root and be on vv5.

    So what do you think?
     
  15. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    "a guy"

    Thats all i am to you :(

    edit: spec you may wish to edit your title/post, its misleading to say that the masterkey exploit doesnt work on this device when we know it does.
     
    MrGlowy likes this.
  16. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Man, I had no idea that was you. ;)

    I don't think it work cause when I go to put vv5 on I have to put my phone in emergency mode and push vv5 over the usb cable. I have never gotten an ota update on this phone. I can try it though...

    Thanks man
     
  17. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    yea i was under the impression vv5 was just an ota, i havent kept up with the connect since i finished cwm for yall ages ago and playfulgod got sent one to work on cm for yall. i do mostly samsungs so the update scheme for lg is a bit alien to me.

    i talked with sammyz and what i took from it was that these arent supposed to be updates to this device and you guys are flashing some kdz's he found off lg's site. so it seems we need to find a exploit for yall since ota root keeper isnt going to work when you reflash teh whole phone over.

    also whats your paypal? i owe you 5 bucks :p
     
    Spec2nirvash likes this.
  18. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    I'll have to do that when I get home. Are you sure that I was using the tool for the Epic? The download I got was exactly the Bonsai v1.1 I was looking for. Said nothing about Epic in title or in the tool anywhere.

    However, the Epic 4G kit you're talking about was originally linked in XDA, banned, and all links from other sites to that tool were from 4shared. I downloaded about 10 browser hijacks trying to get that one as well
     
  19. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    I'll try digging up that Epic kit again to see if its the same thing as the BV1.1 If it's different I'll run it to see if that breaks it.
     
  20. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    no one has an exploit based on masterkley out yet. it needs to be made for each phone, and teh only thing i could find regarding your bonsai masterkey was off that crappy epic 4g team.

    the first link for it was on android central under the epic 4g section :p

    edit: also someone http://webchat.freenode.net/?channels=sgs4 and ping jcase. he has a few tests for one of yall :)
     
  21. jcase

    jcase Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    361
    261
    88
    I'm willing to root this device. It is more or less guaranteed to be vulnerabile to one of my recently released LG vulns, or the one I plan at releasing at XDADevcon.

    you can find me on irc.andirc.net or irc.freenode.com as 'jcase' or give gtalk/email at jcase@cunninglogic.com

    will need someone with the update installed, and having adb working on the device.


     
  22. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Ah man, don't worry about that 5 dollars, just help us root vv5 and that will be enough... :)
     
  23. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    well i posted on the facebook wall, i need a tester :p
     
  24. zandersig

    zandersig Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    515
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012

    Apr 6, 2012
    515
    27
    88
    Male
    Prepress, graphic arts, macintosh
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    I will do it, I can put vv5 on my phone tonight but what is adb and where do I get it from? Do I install it on my pc (windows 7)?
     
  25. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #80
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,783
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,783
    744
    233
    MA
    Android Debug Bridge. You have to download and install Android SDK, or you might be able to find ADB by itself on Google site.

    I have ADB set up on my PC, but I won't be home until later on tonight :(

    It's not often that we have help like this come along, so if anybody else has ADB set up, jump in on this!

    Thanks for the help jcase! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...