1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support VZ Access Manager for tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by hytekjosh, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. hytekjosh

    hytekjosh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    Anyone know how to get VZ Access Manager to work with the Incredible 2 when tethering? With my Inc1, I only had to plug-in, launch, and connect. The Inc2 seems to install some sort of HTC NDIS driver and VZAM won't recognize it like the Inc1. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. anguish

    anguish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    134
    6
    36
    IT bitch
    Hell's Outhouse
    I didn't know you could use VZAM. AFAIK, VZAM is device specific because of drivers. I don't see a version available for download, so maybe it isn't possible? I'm not positive, but I would imagine the 3G Hotspot is their version of tethering for this phone.
     
  3. hytekjosh

    hytekjosh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    HTC Tech support says it is possible but they will not provide instruction as its VZW's software.
     
  4. anguish

    anguish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    134
    6
    36
    IT bitch
    Hell's Outhouse
    Probably need to call VZW then. I don't doubt for a second that it's possible, but it seems to me that VZAM is released per device, so there are different versions of it. Granted, it could just be bundled with different drivers too, and the software is fundamentally the same (this is very likely).

    I might have to play around with this later on.
     
  5. hytekjosh

    hytekjosh Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    32
    1
    16
    The hurdle I'm facing is when I plug-in the usb and select the tether option, the HTC NDIS connection starts immediately. I need to find a way to stop that, let the usual modem driver initialize, and then VZAM might be able to find the device.
     
  6. anguish

    anguish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    134
    6
    36
    IT bitch
    Hell's Outhouse
    Okay, you've got me intrigued. Going to see if I can figure something out. Gotta go nab VZAM first though.
     
  7. anguish

    anguish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010

    Dec 21, 2010
    134
    6
    36
    IT bitch
    Hell's Outhouse
    Blah, no luck so far. Looks like it's just VZAM being a bitch, but I'm not positive. I may have to try a different version or something. I think I like the simplicity of the wifi hotspot even more now. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...