1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General VZW just said 4g and LTE is not ready?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tech Addiction, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    @VerizonWireless #Moto Xoom tablet hits Verizon stores Thursday! Buy 3G now, and get *free* upgrade to #4G #LTE when it's ready. Win-Win

    Is this what's holding up the Thunderbolt launch?
     

    Advertisement

  2. motionxxusxx

    motionxxusxx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    155
    5
    36
    No, this is for the Xoom upgrade to 4g. You need to send you xoom back to motorola to upgrade the modem to receive LTE.
     
  3. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    It sounded like they were gonna upgrade the Xoom once 4g and LTE was ready but you're saying it's the upgrade that's not ready?
     
  4. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    Mods can delete thread so it doesn't mislead or confuse people.
     
  5. jayishere

    jayishere Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,331
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,331
    372
    163
    IT Sales, Best Buy Closing Manager
    Washington, DC
    you dont need to send it back, lol. It's going to be an OTA update
     
  6. jwort93

    jwort93 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    14
    3
    16
  7. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    Wait, I see where the OP is reading this in a certain way. And I could see why this could be related to the Thunderbolt, and VZ being gun shy on setting a release date.

    If 4G LTE is ready for us now... why not release the Xoom with the service/hardware pre-installed or at least as an option? Why make your customers bring the gadget in to get a hardware upgrade later on...
     
    Tech Addiction likes this.
  8. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    That has nothing to do with VZW and is all on Moto... who knows why Moto does half of the things they do. But the plan since the Xoom was announced was always that it wouldn't ship with 4G, in fact there were supposed to be two different versions. The 3g was suppose to be out first then the 4G was going to ship later.

    My guess is that Moto didn't have the radios ready for the first launch batch.
     
  9. mdeblaz

    mdeblaz Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    408
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    408
    37
    43
    Got it... I haven't really been paying attention to the Xoom release so I was going out on a limb
     
  10. ska.t73

    ska.t73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,659
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    1,659
    305
    163
    Phoenix, AZ
    lol, no problem. I'm going to be getting a Xoom, but probably not for a few months, however I've been paying close attention to it... :)
     
  11. bamaredwingsfan

    bamaredwingsfan Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    525
    27
    88
    Mail Carrier
    Cullman, AL
    Moto is probally doing this to see if your device is rooted an hacked. I would like to see if you send in a device that is running some custom rom, if they reset it an remove root or what they do.
     
  12. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    Yea it looked like they were saying 4g/lte wasn't ready yet. I didn't realize the radio's weren't ready by Moto. That's why I asked the Mods to delete the thread, but it looks like it's explaining things so I guess it's turning into a semi usefull thread.
     

Share This Page

Loading...